$2.50

in #money6 years ago

This is two dollars and fifty cents in USD denominated Federal Reserve Notes.

IMG_20181003_2206358.jpg

This is not money. This is debt. Still it is undeniable that it enables Americans, and most of the world, to do some pretty amazing things. Ride the subway, take groceries out of the grocery store, pay for a place to live. Recently I have become introspective about how much I am influenced by this little invention above. When I think about how much of our day-to-day lives ultimately comes down to dollars and cents I am amazed at how big King Dollar's influence truly is.

It's a little strange when you think about it. How much is measured in these. Ounces of gold, acres of land, hours of our lives that we will never get back. But what can we actually do with these dollars? Can I send them around the world to a friend in need? In this physical form, of course not. In electronic form, closer but still practically impossible with national borders and restrictions. The only completely free form of money that I have found is cryptoassets like Bitcoin, Steem, and BitShares.

Even my favorite cryptoasset platform (BitShares) has a marquee asset that tracks the value of one USD. It seems that I cannot escape King Dollar no matter where I turn. I ask you, is there something more stable, sustainable, and morally good than using USD?

Call to action: I want to send the pictured value to my friend @richforever in Ghana. How should I do it? What crypto/stable coin is best in your opinion?

Sort:  

It seems that is where all the volatility is coming into the Emerging Markets and currencies. All these entities are positioning themselves on which will be the money in the future, or a combination of entities, a basket, or being backed by real assets. Let the market decide, not the Central Banks.

Good point. The Dollar is strengthening relative to other currencies and this is a big problem for emerging markets holding dollar denominated debts

You got 94.80% upvote from Yensesa. Thank you for your continues support of Yensesa Exchange and being a member of Yensesa Residual Income

It hasn't be "Activated" yet, but when it is, I believe the U.S. Crypto-Dollars and Decimal Cents will be the most Stable Crypto on Earth... The money pictured above will get you 52 U.S. Crypto-Cents, after the Reset...

dedollarization is a trend that seems to be getting popular!

" I ask you, is there something more stable, sustainable, and morally good than using USD?"
USD is not stable, will disappear in a short time and I can't understand what morality has to do with USD...
Good post.

Thank you. I think the USD and reserve lending and creation of debt instruments at such a rate is very immoral.

I wonder about how 'soon' the USD will disappear. I don't see a ready alternative for the world to use. Maybe soon is 5-10 years, and that actually is soon in the scale of a human life or human history.

Congratulations @john-robert! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17