How I Earned Over $1,000 From Side-Hustles In September

in #money7 years ago (edited)

Title Image 1000.jpg

Welcome to one of my favorite posts each month, my side-hustle income report!

I actually had a bit of extra time to work on earning more with my side-hustles as I had some time off work that was going to expire at the end of September. It was two weeks, so the first week I took the family up to a cabin that I rented off of AirBnB. It was quite a nice place, and the price was right – just $45.50 a night plus fees.

Since it was a bit of a drive I used my strategy of making money on a road trip. I checked but found no loads I could haul on uShip. Instead, I did some gig app jobs while on the way up and while we drove around seeing the sites. That was good and all, but I wanted to find another way to make some money while I was out and about. Then it struck me, check out one of my secret shopping sites – Bestmark!

They have a travel locations section where they list jobs that haven't been done in ages for an extra bounty. For example, a job that normally earns just $14 was marked up to $67! I found one I could do not far from the Painted Desert National Park. I will have to add in this trick to my Earn Money On A Roadtrip article.

Anyways, on to the meat and potatoes.

How I Earned Side-Hustle Income in September

Secret Shopping - $73

Bestmark Check.jpg

I performed three jobs for Bestmark, two of which were just sending an online inquiry and copy-pasting the response along with how much time elapsed between submitting and their reply. Those only paid $3.

The real money came from a secret shop at a car dealership. 30 minutes pretending to be interested in purchasing a car, plus 30 minutes answering the survey questions got me a cool $67!

You DEFINITELY should be using bestmark if you own a Buick, GMC, or Chevrolet vehicle. I always see shops where you evaluate the oil and tire change service. You get reimbursed for the service AND get paid $25! Free oil change and money for filling out a survey after – yes, please!

If you are interested in signing up for Bestmark, sign up HERE.


eBay - $377.25

Towards the middle of the month, I really started to amp up the time I devoted towards my eBay side-hustle. It has paid off handsomely!

It broke down as such:

  • $713.60 total sales
  • – Selling cost (fees, shipping) of $215.00
  • – Cost of goods $121.35
  • = $377.25
  • In September I sold 28 items, which puts my average sale at just over $25.

    Notable items include an Original big box copy of the PC game Age of Empires which was shipped off to a buyer in New Zealand. I also sold a handmade Tiger Beer can ball cap, it was a hat made out of the aluminum cans. A bunch of different inks, most of which were expired. I also sold a box of blank video cassettes to a rap video director in Brooklyn.

    It's interesting to think about how items move about the country and world. That box of cassettes was found in a thrift store near the cabin I stayed at. So it went from this small town in the middle of a forest in Arizona, to Brooklyn, NY to be used to film rap videos. The Age of Empires was part of a huge haul I found at the Goodwill pay by the pound outlet. Now it will reside in New Zealand as part of a collection.

    (Protip: Printer ink is a quick seller on eBay, even if it is expired. If you can get it for cheap enough, buy it!)


    Gig Apps - $304.75

    gigapps.png

  • $3.50 (1 gig) on Gigwalk

  • $55.50 (6 jobs) on Field Agent

  • $245.75 (43 shifts) on Easyshift
  • I really got out there and hustled on these gig apps. Again, Gigwalk failed to have much of anything but this time they royally pissed me off.

    I had an assignment to find SaraLee Artesano Golden Wheat bread in a display. The first store didn't have a display, so that was easy. The second store did and here is where I ran into a problem, they rejected my submission!

    At first, I thought maybe I didn't take a pic of the correct flavor of bread, but upon checking the pic I sent I had!

    The instructions said that if the bread was on a display with other products to take one 'clear and well-framed image of the ENTIRE display and surrounding area.'

    Here is the picture, judge for yourself if I followed the instructions.

    GigwalkSucks.jpg

    Well, I emailed them telling them I had taken the correct photo. That maybe they missed the bread as it was just a small part of the display. This was their response:

    “Hello Justin, In all Gig description we ask for a clear and well framed pictures. Typically this is because of our clients demands. Even if the QA Team told you the rejections was because you took a picture of the wrong display it wouldn't matter. The picture you sent me is unacceptable and is well outside the definition of a clear and well framed picture as the instructions requested. Brian”

    Wow, so Brian is a judge of the pictures now. Due to all this hassle, I cannot recommend anyone to use Gigwalk. Field Agent and Easyshift have way more jobs and are much nicer to deal with.

    Screw Gigwalk.


    Robinhood - $15.33

    I had three people sign up using my link. I received two shares of SIRI and one of GRPN.

    If you are interested in signing up to trade stocks for FREE using Robinhood, use my link and we both get a random share. It could even be a share of Apple or Facebook, both worth over $150!

    If you want to read my recent review of Robinhood, click here.


    SeekingAlpha - $135.76


    I wrote two articles for SeekingAlpha in September. I had a goal of writing four but pivoted towards using my time to list items for eBay. This was because I found no stock I was passionate enough to write about after these first two.

    You can check out my two September articles below.

    Now Is The Time To Purchase Dave & Buster's

    Profit From Hurricane Harvey Reconstruction With This Company


    Steemit - $114.05

    I posted six articles on Steemit in September. My highest reward was an article on Meteor Crater which I visited while up at the cabin. Check it out here if you wanna see pics of this incredible place!

    When cryptocurrencies shot up this past summer, I had over $25,000 in my account!


    September Side-Hustle Income.png

    This is a Total Side-Hustle Income of $1,020.14!

    I have topped $1,000 a month in side-hustle income! Like every extra dollar, it all gets invested.

    For those curious, this money invested at an average rate of 8% for 40 years will return $24,758.

    You know what though? This is just one month. Last month I earned an extra $694.28. That becomes almost $17K using the same calculations as above.

    So for two months of part-time hustling, I have potentially increased my future wealth by over $40K.

    But the hustle doesn't stop here. Every month this extra money will pile in, compounding as time goes on.

    You can be in this same path towards wealth, you just have to DO IT!

    I hope this inspires anyone wanting to earn some extra money. Every single side-hustle I do is one YOU can be doing TODAY (ok, maybe not SeekingAlpha)! There is hardly a barrier to entry, besides laziness.

    If you want to make some extra cash, GO AND DO IT! Stop making excuses and hustle. Use your skills to earn money in your own way. The feeling of money earned that is not from your day-to-day job is so much better.

    Start today because;

    It Ain't Gonna Hustle Itself!

    Feeling motivated now? Pledge to take my $10 per day side-hustle challenge and start building wealth faster!


    https://steemit.com/money/@getonthetrain/my-usd10-day-side-hustle-challenge-to-you

    Did you earn anything from side-hustles in September? Let me know in a comment below!

    Sort:  

    I am amazed by the way most people are afraid to explain how they make money, as if fearing there will then be too many competing and they'll lose. You are obviously confident of your ability to keep on finding new ways and you enjoy feeling you have helped others.

    It says you are an interesting and nice person. Glad I dropped by.

    Money shouldn't be taboo. That sort of thinking is keeping people locked in the modern day slavery - debt. My main goal is to be financially free and I love to share my journey on that path.

    Stick around if that seems interesting. :D Thank you for your kind words.

    That's quite interesting. It seems like the services and apps you mentioned are mostly US based.

    I'll have to look at what is here in Japan. I do know that there are many delivery services that seem to act on a contract basis, (your own car, but working for a delivery company), and with many people always on their phones it would seem that the environment is ripe for these kinds of apps to flourish, something is surely available.

    Have you tried any of the flea market apps? A popular one here is "mercari". However a brief check online has some very negative reviews. That said, I've never used it. : /

    Closest uship job on their map was Shanghai...it's a bit of a long commute!

    By flea market app, you mean like where people list stuff to sell? I have tried a few, but people are often flaky and don't show up to buy. eBay is a pain sometimes, but at least I can pack and ship the stuff whenever I want.

    Yeah, a lot of my stuff is going to be location specific (to the USA). But hopefully someone that wants to step up their side-hustle game will find something similar in their neck of the woods.

    hustlin'.jpg

    P.S. - you got me revved up. Definitely checking out a couple of those sites. Until this show makes me any kind of money need to pick me up some extra $$$ to support the life of a single bachelor :-)

    Heck, do it and see what you can bring back. Be the side-hustle hunter-gatherer!

    You should put your food savings in this calculation :) Great job on all this hustling. You are a great example to the rest of us and very inspiring.

    Also - when the cryptos jump sell 10% and when they fall, buy more. If you can... I know it's emotional.

    Thanks for the kind words and the crypto tip!

    It's coming from a broke person, so take it as you will :)

    There is money fucking everywhere. Good job hustling that hard.
    I wonder if you do all this out of boredom because you said you are going to be financially independent with that property you bought anyway (If I remember correctly).

    I grew up near the painted desert in winslow. Sounds like you're Rollin through my old stompin grounds!

    I was! Wanted to check it all out. :D

    Easier said then done. Thanks for the post! I wish I could do steemit full time but its low on the doe. I mean it is ok but not enough.

    Keep going. Every day do something that brings you closer to what you want in life, no matter how small. That simple act puts you ahead of the vast majority that never takes a step.

    Thanks for the encouragement!

    Thanks for all the advice about the best places to earn!

    I'm surprised at the amount that you earned from SeekignAlpha.
    I guess I need to keep a track on your gains from posting there.

    Do you? There is talk of them changing the payment amounts/methods, but it is $35 per article and a penny per view.

    I wasn't sure what they paid, but I had a feeling that they got paid per view based on some of the click bait titles I see for a couple of stocks I watch.

    You can imagine how much some of those guys are making that do 1 or 2 posts there per day. cough Brad Thomas cough

    Thanks for the generous share, I will certainly check these options out..))

    Please do! It will help you, I am sure. :)

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.29
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.033
    BTC 62937.86
    ETH 3092.40
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 3.87