MONDAY MIXTAPE - Favourite Songs For The Week! (New Tag)

in #mondaymixtape7 years ago

#mondaymixtape.png

Starting new tag:
#mondaymixtape


A huge part of being a musician is LISTENING to music!
Not just passive listening, but critical, active listening.

Why you ask?

Well, that is how you Learn!
Songwriting, poetry, phrasing, melody lines, music production, grooves, basslines, new sounds, new techniques - you absorb everything while listening to the songs.

And this learning only enhances when you discuss your findings with other people and get into a discussion!

So here I present to you the first #mondaymixtape - 5 of my favourite songs for this week.

Before that, quick rules for anyone who wants to participate in the #MondayMixtape tag:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

I shall do my best to Upvote all #mondaymixtape posts 😇

I think this can be a great way for everyone to discover new music!
And who knows, this might turn into a contest if there is enough interest (and some sponsorship!) 😁


So without further ado:

1. Justin Timberlake - Say Something ft. Chris Stapleton

I heard this one the day it came out. And I was blown away - first by the video and then at the simplicity of the song. Justin Timberlake is known for some heavy production in his songs (if you have heard The 20/20 Experience, you know!). But this one has simple band setup - acoustic guitars, bass, drums, piano (and of course the sprinkle of signature JT). Plus there are only 4 chords in the song - Am, C, G, D (and the F towards the end) - but the melody and phrasing of the song is very clever. It keeps the song interesting.
And that video! My God! - whoever operated the steady camera - hatsoff! One single shot in that amazing location with all the lighting - and how the song opens up towards the end with all the choir coming in - just too much! It was an instant hit with me!


2. The Local Train - Aaftaab

This is an Indie band from India - friends from Chandigarh. They recently released their second album - and this song is my favourite from the album. The highlight of the song for me is the acoustic guitar played by Paras. It is just too amazing and clever. The lines, phrases and motifs fit perfectly with the melody line. And the guitar motif itself has such a bounce to it, you do not need the support of any other instruments. That is good songwriting! The lyrics are really positive and Raman has done great work on the vocals. But the guitar takes the cake for me in this song!


3. Kodaline - Brother

This is just great songwriting. I am sure it will make a lot of people cry. The theme is so emotional, and the songwriting just hits the heart at the right spot. And that chorus! - such amazing use of vocoder. I am sure it is a vocoder layered with other vocals - someone correct me if I am wrong. But it's really innovative. ✨


4. Lady Gaga - Million Reasons

I recently watched Gaga's Five Foot Two and it was just really inspiring to watch that documentary. No matter what you think about her, when you strip down all the exaggerated glitter and glamour - she is a really good artist. And this song is what highlights that. Plus I love Mark Ronson's production work. How the vocals are really dry and the simplicity of the production kinda reminded me of Amy Winehouse's Back to Black.


5. Foo Fighters - The Sky Is A Neighborhood

Raw power! I first heard RUN from their new album Concrete and Gold and loved that song as well. But this one was stuck in my head for a long time. It just loved singing along - and the guitars sound so huge! And that power chord chug along with the kick drum trick it something I am surely going to use in one of my songs! Plus the glowing eyes - my god the glowing eyes!


So what is your #mondaymixtape. You can even post in the comments and let me know.
Or make a post and drop the link the comments!

Have a great week!

♨️ STEEM ON ♨️


If you like my work, please UpVote, ReSteem and Follow me @hardikv



Sort:  

Here's my little selection of what I felt like listening to tonight
https://steemit.com/mondaymixtape/@redskylullaby/redsky-monday-mixtape

Monday mixtape. what a great idea. I love music, so I will do one today.

Great selection for the week... enjoy!

Cool idea, dude! I love it! I did a post on some uplifting and positive songs for the week! ;) I love to study and understand the music that I listen too. I also think it's an important part of being a musician!

Will check that post out! A lot of music I listen is through recommendations :)

Same here dude! And I love that my 15 year old is branching out on his own style of music, and sharing it with me! Most of it's pretty cool, some other stuff... not so much. Haha! I've found a lot of new favorites by checking other peoples music loves though! ;)

Kygo (ft. Kodaline) - Raging
I love this one
images.jpg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by HardikV from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nice idea for sure

Wow,excellent post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58331.25
ETH 2509.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34