RedSky Monday Mixtape

This new #mondaymixtape tag created by @hardikv gave me a good excuse to listen to some good tunes. I am a musician and often fall in to the trap of always focusing on production but never stopping to listen to and get back to the endless enjoyment of consumption.

CORNELIUS If You're Here


I loved Cornelius since first hearing his track "Count Five or Six", been hooked ever since. Cornelius produces some amazing stuff. A multi instrumentalist and producer from Japan in vein of Beck but not sounding like him as such.
Always fresh sounding and love the video on this one too

STEFAN Boring


This is a woefully undiscovered gem in my opinion. Can't remember how I stumbled on this. This guy created a great and catchy tune with a wicked sense of humour. He made this video as well as the music, pretty amazing.

EMILIANA TORRINI Sunny Road


Something about this song just hits me in the right spot. It is so simple and stripped down but the guitar sequence is just a superb piece of song writing all round.

ASA-CHANG AND JUNRAY Hana


Love the way the percussion on this mirrors the vocals or the vocals mirror the percussion not sure which. This is melancholy and beautiful at the same time. I like the way this builds tension and then release with subtle layering of sound and tempo changes. Excellent tune

DAWN OF MIDI Dysnomia


This blew me away the first time I heard it. 46 minutes without a breath for air. This is jazz for the techno/trance/trap headed generation. Rarely in modern music do you hear something totally new. Dawn of Midi with their impossibly precise syncopations and adapted piano techniques created something truly unique.

Sort:  

You shared an interesting set of music pieces. I certainly like the Dysnomia and the Torrini ones! Not sure how to mix these together (note: I'm not a DJ at all) :)

Yep, not much of a thread linking these tracks other than I think they are great songwriting and musicianship. I may try another next Monday with more of a theme

Great selection! I honestly haven't heard any of them. Thank you for using the tag and intruducing me to new music ✨

You're welcome, nice idea, hope it takes off. I have been doing a similar playlist type thing about once a week of original stuff on dsound that I like

First of all, this tag looks fun. I'm game. Second of all, dude Dawn Of Midi is one of top favorite bands. Dysnomia is a masterpiece.

Yeah, probably my favorite thing I've heard in last 10 years

I also started a series of Music posts featuring curated Steemian music on DSound. I'm on number4 so far
https://steemit.com/musicreview/@redskylullaby/dsound-gems-vol4-steemit-music-review#comments

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42