MONDAY MIXTAPE #6 - Favourite Songs For The Week!

in #mondaymixtape7 years ago (edited)

#mondaymixtape (1).png

I started a new tag:
#mondaymixtape


Previous posts:
MONDAY MIXTAPE #1
MONDAY MIXTAPE #2
MONDAY MIXTAPE #3
MONDAY MIXTAPE #4
MONDAY MIXTAPE #5


Quick rules for anyone who wants to participate in the #MondayMixtape tag:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

I shall do my best to Upvote all #mondaymixtape posts 😇

I think is a great way for everyone to discover new music!


So without further ado, my 5 picks for this week:

1. Attention - Pentatonix

This is a cover of Charlie Puth's Attention, and boy it's awesome! I have been following Pentatonix for a while now and I love how they always bring something new to the table, like the breakdown in this one... loved that part! And the upbeatness of the entire song. This is at par, if not better than the original.
Love the video work as well in this one, planning to make one on similar lines soon :)


2. The Weeknd, Kendrick Lamar - Pray For Me

Anyone who saw Black Panther might have heard this song. I love the vibe The Weekend brings in this song with his signature sound. I like when awesome grooves are created by doing simple stuff like in this song - a kick, some African vibes percussions instead of hi-hats and just two notes a tone apart on those synthy sounding toms. So cool!
Love the EP sound as well. It's always fun to listen to these kinda songs for production ideas.


3. Mikey McCleary - Khoya Khoya Chand

This song is from Mickey McCleary's album The Bartender which has a lot of classic Bollywood songs remixed and re-jazzed! I have always loved Mikey McCleary's work and not many people know this but a lot of Luck Ali's material was produced by him. The sounds and production are fantastic and Suman Sridhar's very different voice adds magic!
Mickey McCleary usually does a lot of jingle work for brands but his work in Bollywood is quite notable as well.


4. Parekh & Singh - I Love You Baby, I Love You Doll

This is an Indian duo from Kolkotta. I loved this when it came out. It was a very fresh sound especially coming from the indie scene from India. The video has such a Wes Anderson Grand Budapest Hotel vibe to it.
The bass entry is fun and no, there is nothing wrong with your headphones. The song starts in the left ear!


5. Portugal. The Man - "Feel It Still"

When I first heard this song on the radio, I felt this was an old classic! Love the melody on this one. Sounds a little like Please Mr Postman, but it's super catchy and super singable. And amazing vibe with the brass here! It's a song that will get stuck in your head.


So what is your #mondaymixtape.
You can even post in the comments and let me know.
Or make a post and drop the link the comments!
Have a great week!


♨️ STEEM ON ♨️


If you like my work, please UpVote, ReSteem and Follow me @hardikv


Apply to Join thealliance Family in the Admissions Office


Join the India United Discord Server!


Join the Blockchain Musician Discord Server for Indian Musicians and Artists

TBM-footer.gif

Sort:  

nice post @hardikv

Nice, like that Parekh and Singh one alot. People don't use the stereo field to it's full advantage much these days

My kids love Charlie Puth. Nice rendition. I will have to play this for them.

Thanks @hardikv

Very nice post

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66