MONDAY MIXTAPE #3 - Favourite Songs For The Week!

in #mondaymixtape7 years ago

#mondaymixtape (1).png

Couple of weeks back I started a new tag:
#mondaymixtape


Previous posts:
MONDAY MIXTAPE #1
MONDAY MIXTAPE #2


People are slowly noticing the tag and I am glad more and more people are participating.
I hope this trend continues! 🤓
Thank you to everyone using the tag and making such great posts which helps everyone discover new music and get rid of the Monday Blues. ✨🎶


Quick rules for anyone who wants to participate in the #MondayMixtape tag:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

I shall do my best to Upvote all #mondaymixtape posts 😇

I think this can be a great way for everyone to discover new music!
And who knows, this might turn into a contest if there is enough interest (and some sponsorship!) 😁


So without further ado, my 5 picks for this week:

1. Saathi Salaam - Clinton Cerejo feat Sawan Khan Manganiyar, Coke Studio @ MTV Season 2

This one has been on my list this week since I met the singer - Sawan Khan - last week and recorded a collaboration with him on one of our songs.
What a raw and powerful voice he has! This is pure Folk singing.
He is from Rajasthan and an impeccable folk and Sufi artist.
And this particular song, the producer Clinton Cerejo has done such a brilliant job of interpreting this traditional Manganiyar song, fusing modern rock songs making it into one powerful song.
And do not miss Sawan Khan's vocal solo towards the end backed by heavy metal riffs. Fucking awesome it is. Fills you with power!

Here is my pic with Sawan Khan from last week:
IMG_6170.jpg


2. Parvaaz - Khufiya Dastaan

This is my drive jam! Parvaaz is an Indian alternative band and writes primarily in Urdu and Kashmiri. They have a very dreamy Pink Floyd inspired sound.
They also happen to be good friends since my band Alif also writes in Urdu and Kashmiri and we have played together in a number of music festivals and venues.
What is interesting about this track for me is the simplicity of the arrangement and how it still keeps you engaged and your head bobbing right from the start. And Khaled has done such a kickass job on the vocals.
And Kashif is one of the guitarists in the Indian Indie scene I admire a lot. He knows exactly what to play when, and what not to play - which is something very few people get right.


3. Camila Cabello - Havana ft. Young Thug

I am sure most of you have heard this on by now. But it is on my list since I am making a cover/parody of this song for my academy @muziclub.
So have been listening to this one quite a bit. Of course, the chord structure is very similar to Santana's Smooth, but it's superbly produced. I love the piano sound. And I love the trumpet towards the end.
Though I hate the rap in the song. Maybe it's just me. 😑


4. When Will The Bass Drop? (ft. Lil Jon)

hahahahhahahhahhahahhahah....
Now since that is out of the way, time to have some fun this Monday. Have you heard of Lonely Island?
If you haven't, go click that link and you will binge watch all their videos. The most hillarious stuff I've seen!
When Will The Bass Drop is probably my favourite .. and also Spell It Out and I Just Had Sex (feat. Akon)... hahahahahhahaha. 😂


5. Ragas in Minor Scale - Ravi Shankar & Philip Glass

My band's producer suggested I listen to this song and in fact the entire album. This is two musical geniuses doing what they do best. You cannot critique this thing. All you can do is just close your eyes and listen, and let the music take over.
So much to learn from this - the fusion, the tension and release, the orchestral arrangement, taking you into another world and then bringing you back the full circle to the main motif.
What brilliance!



So what is your #mondaymixtape.
You can even post in the comments and let me know.
Or make a post and drop the link the comments!

Have a great week!

♨️ STEEM ON ♨️


If you like my work, please UpVote, ReSteem and Follow me @hardikv


Apply to Join thealliance Family in the Admissions Office


Join the India United Discord Server!


Join the Blockchain Musician Discord Server for Indian Musicians and Artists

TBM-footer.gif

Sort:  

Sufi Music to start my day, what a beautiful way.

Always enjoy being able to hear music from and learn more about music you feature here from India and other parts of Asia I don't hear much from in my own circles - so exciting to find.

Also, Philip Glass is an absolute hero of mine, cool to see him get this feature.

Thank you for sharing and staring the initiative, @hardikv!

I like this music.
Thanks for sharing this post..

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by HardikV from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Interesting content. I love you picture, is that kind of cassette tape still in use?

I don't think so. People don't even use CDs and DVDs anymore. But I do have some of my old ones stored somewhere and my dad's old cassette player. I guess I will dig it up this weekend :)

#mondaymixtap.
1: images (1).jpeg black coffee ft shekihina your eyes
Is not just a song for me i love the song because it says the truth the eyes is the gateway to the heart if someone is lieing to you they cant look you in the eye

2:SCHOOLBOY FT KENDRIC LAMAR BLESSED images (6).jpeg
My best line is during Kendrick rap he said "what ever you need you are a God" it inspired me to know i can do alot because i have it in me

3: THE GAME FT KENDRICK LAMAR SEE NO EVIL unnamed.jpg
The game line that said the church think am destined for hell>most people think because you are not in the church all day you are going to hell but is a lie

4:DRAKE GODS PLAN images (4).jpeg i love this line so much download.png it made me realize am not the only one who is not that much about feel Nd saying how you feel without offense

5:Am not racistimages (5).jpeg my best line is there is two side to every story i qwish i knew yours

You can add to your Mixtape the song "Location" of Khalid. I'm sure that will like it 😄

You have a nice week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66