Is This A Job Guarantee Pilot Program In The Blogosphere?

in #mmt7 years ago (edited)

I first heard of what Colin Sydes was doing here on the Steemit blogging platform a few days ago. In a nutshell, anyone who upvotes, comments or resteems the posts he makes on @sydesjokes receives a dividend in SBD at the end of the week. Sweeeeet!

Some people may think that this resembles a universal basic income (UBI) or a citizens dividend (CD) program, but I think it actually looks more like a job guarantee (JG) program.

What are the differences?

UBI is where everyone receives a payment from the government, regardless of what they do. Even if they do nothing! It gets funded through deficit spending. Small UBI's can be funded without any additional taxation, but larger ones would require higher taxes.

CD also provides a payment, regardless of whether any work has been done. However, money is only dished out to citizens when the government has a surplus and gives everyone a share. No additional taxes are needed, so long as the wages paid don't exceed a certain threshold.

JG is where the government creates jobs for anyone who wants one. No additional taxes are needed to fund the program.

Why Is @sydesjokes Like A JG?

What Colin Sydes has done is provide the opportunity for people to earn cryptocurrency by doing work - upvoting, commenting and resteeming isn't the same as doing nothing, after all!

If you're looking for extra work so that you can earn money, @sydesjokes can provide you with that opportunity. You won't be able to make a living out of it, which is why I'm calling it a micro-JG pilot program.

Learn More

The Job Guarantee program is a cornerstone policy of Modern Monetary Theory (MMT). If the political will existed, involuntary unemployment could be eliminated within a matter of days, simply by understanding and implementing the insights of MMT economists. A JG could be piloted anywhere in the real world and would most easily be accomplished by a government that has control over its own floating currency.

I'm going to blog about this a lot more, so please keep an eye on the #mmt tag.

Sort:  

That's a vision that people can willingly rally around. Good people.

I saw that. Thanks a million - that's a lot of cash for a minnow like me! And thanks for the resteem, too!

Thank you for the mention. I payout every Sunday for interactions on my Steemit posts. I also do a daily faucet post where all people need to do is leave a comment and at the end of the daily they share in SBD I payout together with an SBD that are donated by sponsors.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@sydesjokes/daily-steemit-faucet-post-for-29th-december-2017

No, thank you for going out of your way to do something great for the community. I imagine that the administration must already take a lot of work.

Pretty easy as automated with Excel Macros. Payouts are done in bulk as well.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @penston to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I think that what @sydesjokes is doing is a very clever idea - and generous too!

How did you first find out about what he's doing?

I think I just found one of his posts at random.

I appreciate what @sydesjokes does. It encourages communication between Steemians and makes Steemit more fun. Also, by distributing sbd, it makes people feel more invested in steem. He makes things more sociable- especially in the beginning when your only friends who comment are Cheetah bot and Steemitboard awards.

Have you gained followers as a result of your interactions or followed others?

Yes, both..... and met some fellow Steemians over in the Facebook group as well.

I’ve almost completely stopped using Facebook since finding Steemit. I might have to check out the group, though.

My facebook feed, and the groups and pages that I help admin, now mainly consist of my Steemit posts. I want "the people" to get used to seeing the steemit.com website. Also- I've recruited a few friends from Facebook over here too. Here is a link to the steemit group.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/157339221704155/

I've started using Twitter more to share my Steemit posts. I'm getting more followers there as a result.

I tweet my Steemit posts and other peoples posts to my 194,000 Twitter followers :)

https://twitter.com/SydesJokes

That number almost gave me a nosebleed.
(faints)

Wonderful post! It is always nice to have another source of income no matter how small, after all they can add up over time. Thank you and happy holiday.

Also when the price of Steem Dollars rise these small amounts can be worth a lot in the future.

Thanks, @riovanes. I've resteemed your post about helping brand new minnows. I'd never heard of @steembasicincome or @steemengine before, so I'm going totake a look.

An exceptional article with new insight into monetary systems and how they work @penston

Communication is one human desire we all have, by upvoting, commenting and resteeming promotes not only oneself. An online etiquette assisting one another, an in so doing rewarding each other.

Might I add if you wish to work with similar set up, all you need to do is ask, pay a small amount of SBD or Steem and @sydesjokes will help you in obtaining information pertinent to you for sharing.

Yes your observation is right, a micro-JG system growing slowing, by interacting you get seen more often and others will possibly visit you.

Other places you will find this type of environment is Empire.Kred and Kryptonia both mentioned by Colin in his blogs.

You're going to make me blush, @joanstewart.

My mission on Steemit is to be able to give a good upvote people who engage on topics that I think matter to the community or society. There are some very smart people out there who have identified the root causes of major problems and have already come up with very simple solutions, so I'd really like to shine a spotlight on them and see their ideas spread.

I'm going to have to read up on Empire.Kred and Kryptonia. Do you have any insights that you could share with me?

On Kryptonia you can do peoples Tasks and earn Superiorcoins. You can create your own Tasks as well to your Steemit posts.

You can also mine Superiorcoins with your web browser https://steemit.com/superiorcoin/@sydesjokes/mine-superiorcoin-in-a-web-browser

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Penston from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44