Torico's Sustainability Curation 2018

in #minnowsupport7 years ago


original photo @torico


Hi everyone.

This is my Curation Page for the week of January 15th - January 21st.

A day late, sorry for the delay due to need to shovel snow etc...

I will be featuring some of my best finds for new writers posting on the topic of sustainability. The tags I look for deal with earth friendly living, including intentional communities, recycling, climate, homesteading, eco-building, ecology and whatever else pop up.

The Minnow Support Project has multiple curators that pick five posts from under-valued minnows each week to highlight through MSP3k. This way MSP and PAL can promote new writers and content creators on Steemit, and in effect reward them for doing a superior job.

In my particular curation, I try to concentrate specifically on newer authors that write sound articles on a variety of interwoven topics. Hopefully I can recognise a different set of people than the other curators in order to boost recognition and appreciation of new Steemians.

The following posts are my Sustainability picks for this week:


from Painting Barns, Why are Barns Traditionally Painted Red?


My first entry is from canadianwoodguy with Painting Barns, Why are Barns Traditionally Painted Red? I love this guy! Even though he joined barely three weeks ago, he continues to put out incredible content. His articles are informative, ecclectic and appealing to a wide base. From Treating Wood Used To Build Vegetable Garden Planters to The Value of and the Many Uses of Sawdust on The Homestead, there's sure to be something on his blog that will catch your eye.


from GRASS IS OUR FRIEND!


In GRASS IS OUR FRIEND!, my favorite new PAL chat pal and author phedizzle explains why grass is not only beautiful but nutritious for livestock and beneficial to the ecosphere! I absolutely adore different types of both ornamental and wild grasses, with their various colors and textures. Also look at Little Bluestem—Beneficial & Beautiful, where the author details a particular type of grass, and WALK ALONG WITH ME #1. Let's hope she keeps this theme!


from Our 1/4 section - falling in love with a place.


Brand new Steemians Cass and Gen localprairie are up next with their article Our 1/4 section - falling in love with a place., a charming post that talks about connecting with place when buying land for their offgrid cabin and homestead. This couple wowed me with their introduction post, which was chock full of down to earth warmth, honestly and gorgeous photos! Check out their newest post, The Shed - building a tiny nook and their three part intro, A summer of building a cordwood cabin! Part 1.


from The Permaculture Revolution


I enjoyed this simple article by egodust, called The Permaculture Revolution, which detailed the many ways permaculture incorporates many disciplines to beome a practical and sustainable alternative to modern life. In it the author talks about design principles and how to encorporate them.


from THESE ARE THE MOST ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY COUNTRIES


THESE ARE THE MOST ENVIRONMENTALLY FRIENDLY COUNTRIES, by sustainancy, caught my eye with a list of some of the most eco-friendly countries. When we shop, we tend to think about supporting environmentally friendly companies, so why not when we travel? With Iceland as one of the top three destinations, it's easy to comply! I also really enjoyed her article on Urban mining.


from Winter is a Time to Dream & Rest


Honorable Mentions

Below are a few interesting articles and exceptional posts I found that either do not fit in to a category or did not get first pick, yet I wanted to mention. Please check them out and give them some love where needed.

The Forest - Wilderness, Requiem, Laboratory? How Cellulose Is Reinvented by lesshorrible

CONVERTING OUR BUS INTO OUR HOME- NOMADIC FAMILY by trucklife-family. Also check out THE CALL TO BE A NOMADIC FAMILY

Winter is a Time to Dream & Rest by mountainjewel

Anarchist Goats by wisewoof- this article cracked me up :) but then I love goats!

Day 1 of Volunteer Naturalist Training by jayjayjeffery

Things I Have Learned To Live Without ...and why sometimes it's better by phoenixwren


from Anarchist Goats


I am always looking for new steemit writers to curate and support. I urge you to read and comment on some of the articles above and comment here if you have any feedback. Also, if you would like to be considered for next weeks curation, drop me a link for the current week via dm, in my PAL-sustainability channel, or on this post.

Hopefully you will feel some of the authors or posts mentioned here are worth an upvote and follow. Thanks for reading!!




from @torico -Being Accountable for Sustainability


hr2
Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by:


wit-list


pal-sig-anim
hr2


hr2

<


Sort:  

So many good posts! There are so many I am going to be reading all night. I am finding myself here on steemit and discord virtually constantly haha. resteemed so I can be sure to come back to all of these. Thank you for mentioning my posts. I really appreciate it!

ty phe! it was well worth mentioning :)

Great picks and I look forward to checking out some of the new bloggers I haven't "met" yet!!

yay!! thanks for stopping in to check!

Great just great! Can't beat a bit of ecofriendly, earth lovingness = D Restores faith in humanity

what the world needs now is love sweet love :)

100% if everyone greeted everyone with a hug and some tlc

Wow the posts are amazing love then all good picks! Great thing your doing❤️

hugs ty ceci, happy its appreciated..

thanks so much for including our winter is a time of rest post in your honorable mentions! :) <3

a great collection and some people i'm not familiar with yet !

my pleasure!

Awesome posts here, there is always something to learn from them. I would like to drop my entry

https://steemit.com/steemstem/@rharphelle/recycling-the-best-friend-of-our-world

tx rharphelle i'll check it out!

Thanks a million for the shout out! What a great post!

happy to have another off gridder in the mix!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by torico from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Amazing collection of articles! Thank you for your curation!

Here's a post of mine, a photo-gallery of sorts that I'd like to suggest:
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@bobydimitrov/a-garden-is-a-school-of-life

hey thanks for stopping by! i've seen some of your posts before and i just gave you a follow. grats on your curie!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50