Torico's picks for Peace, Abundance, Liberty and Sustainability

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)

I was approached by Isaria less than a week ago about working with MSP to do some targeted curation on Peace, Abundance and Liberty(PAL), the cornerstones of the PAL network. She assured me that I could also throw Sustainability into the pot, and since that is my key reason for curation, I readily agreed.

The Minnow Support Project (MSP)has multiple curators that will be picking five posts each to curate through MSP3k. This way MSP and PAL can promote new writers, members and content creators on Steemit, and in effect reward them for doing a superior job.

Curating for the topics of peace, abundance and liberty is a bit hit or miss. Many articles I found were either short blurbs with a photo, reposts of radical youtube posts or something to do with yoga, and while that in itself isn't bad, I wanted to choose articles that most people could identify with and sink their teeth into.

The themes of both peace and abundance are most unfortunately poorly represented. I urge anyone who is writing about a similar concept to consider the #peace or #abundance tag.

Here are my first week of recommendations:



The Epicenter of Peace



Peace

My article of choice for Peace is creationofcare's post The Epicenter of Peace.

"The only way "we the people" can crack through the corruption is to see the corruption on our own team."

Thus begins the premise for creationofcare's spiritual and poetic prose about fighting corruption where it grows. Full of metaphors and literary references, the author reminds us to live with mindful awareness, to garden with ruthlessness and take personal responsiblity.



Abundance

My choice for abundance is not clear cut since no one has used the tag (other than referring to PAL) in months. Therefore I chose a post that I felt was most representative of the idea.

My choice is a brand new Steemian by the name of joeom, whose first post (which was unjustly mentioned by cheetah), Calming a Restless Mind, discusses meditation and mindfulness as a path to clearing our brains from negative thought patterns. It is my opinion that negative thought blocks us from seeing abundance in our lives. I hope joeom's Steemit experience will not end after one poorly received post. Well done Joeom!



from Calming a Restless Mind



Liberty

Liberty is the most represented category out of the triad, and also easily the most political and controversial. There were a good many flagrantly radical as well as thoughtfully written articles, however I am going to choose Clayboyn's post Unjust Laws vs Liberty, not because he is one of my favorite Steemians and a MSP-PAL member, but because the post is well written and provocative, and well worth debating on an intellectual level. If you haven't yet read any of Clay's philosophical posts, I urge you to do so.



from Unjust Laws vs Liberty



Sustainability

This topic has a plethora of posts so numerous that i'm hard pressed to mention just one. From eco-designs and farming to pollution and ecology, I could literally choose a post from ten categories and not mention half of the worthwhile articles. Many of the best articles are written by established Steemians, but as my purpose is to recognise some of the newer authors my choice for this week is:
Magic of Trees, by mother2chicks.



from Magic of Trees


In this article @mother2chicks explores the connection between trees, genealogy and the interconnectedness between all living things. While the author tends to write under the heading of homesteading and gardening, I loved this theme based work which illustrates one of the core concepts behind ecology and sustainability.



Best New PAL Member

I created this last category because I feel it's a good idea to recognise the efforts of our own members who write about the four topics I am curating.

I am going to be slightly partial and go for a newly discovered Steemian whom I recruited to PAL for my own devious purposes. Ecoinstant is an expat from the United States living in Columbia where he and his wife run a sustainable managed farm.

Ecoinstant writes fascinating yet down to earth articles on sustainable development and agriculture, with the occasional article on ecology and wildlife. Below are two of the many articles he has put out in the last week:

Squeezing your own Juices - ORANGE IS THE NEW BREAKFAST by Ecoinstant



from Socialization of the Ruta Pajarera del Camino Real



Socialization of the Ruta Pajarera del Camino Real by Ledis Arango V.

This second article was translated by ecoinstant but written by his wife. Ecoinstant will eventually be helping me curate #sustainability. He is quite busy and a bit shy, so if you happen to see him in chat please give him a warm welcome!



Honorable Mentions

Below are a few interesting articles I found that either did not fit in or didnt get first pick, yet I wanted to mention. The first two have very low payout, so please check them out and give them some love.

How to make eco food wraps by livesmallbemore

Responsibility and the State Making Life More Difficult by thevoluntaryist

Problems that we Venezuelans face every day: we are running out of cash by malos10



from Responsibility and the State Making Life More Difficult


I will be looking for new writers to curate and support. I urge you to read some of the articles above and dm me any feedback on them, since it is my first week curating these topics and I've had very little prep time this week. Hopefully you will feel some of the authors are worth an upvote and follow.

I'd like to make one last mention and self promote my post about curating sustainability:

Curating: Being Accountable for Sustainability by Torico

Thanks for reading!!




from Being Accountable for Sustainability


hr2
Proud member and supporter of the Minnow Support Project - Brought to you by:


wit-list


pal-sig-anim
hr2


hr2

<


Sort:  

You curated two who are among my favorite people on this platform @creationofcare and @ecoinstant. So, of course I am already trusting you and your efforts and will read the other authors as well.
Thank you!

mwah hahahahahah foool!! (jk) ;)

These look like some amazing finds I'm going to have to bookmark this post so I can read these with my coffee :)

Thank you for mentioning my post :-)

you are very welcome :)

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has been resteemed by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

So happy to see this new curation effort. Great choices!

I appreciate being included in such fine company, wow! I can't wait to recharge my voting power. Resteemed ^

Your Post is Simply Awesum!! Keep it up!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31