Productivity Perils of Discord Diving

in #minnowsupport7 years ago


I need to tell a story that I think will resonate with a huge portion of new users on #Steemit (and Discord / PALNet -- the associated community for new minnows like myself). Hearing about, and subsequently diving into, Steemit (and Discord a week later) has truly been one of the most exciting developments of my 2017, but I’ve seen a recent trend unfolding (for myself and others) that I think is worth exposing.

First, let me say that these communities have been AMAZING. The content (for the most part) on Steemit is far superior to what we see on any other social platform, and the @minnowsupport project (you can join here: https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw) has offered new opportunities and relationships at record speed.

And while these comments come from a true place of love and honesty, they also help to outline the inherent issue I’ve been experiencing. A lack of balance (among other things like sleep, hygiene, sanity, etc.) has accompanied my Discord Dive. And while I'd certainly felt it developing, it took the infamous @SirCork to help open my eyes to what I had felt bubbling up peripherally for a few days:

And he’s fucking right because I know he's got skills! While the community development IS worth consideration, I’ve lost track of the real work that will put me in a place to ultimately succeed on Steemit. Here’s another telling visual from Corky that shines an even brighter light (at least for me) on the issue:

I would say SirCork’s final lol represents a sort of sad irony that we all know exists, but too often turn a blind eye to. Again, I want to reiterate that there's 100% true value (not the hardware store) to be found through Discord and PALs, but we all need to find the right balance and realize what we're truly looking to accomplish.

It's interesting how we trick ourselves into thinking we're immune to succumbing to these perils. initially, when I was chatting with @SirCork @netuoso @Sammo @GMuxx @Discordiant @drakos @rhondak @doggedfi @mk40 @r0nd0n @TremendousPercy @crimsonclad @necrophagist etc., I was captivated by the romance of what it meant to really build a community. I was absolutely sure that I had actually increased my Steemit productivity as a result of the energy I gained from my time on Discord. Well, here's the reality:

Aside from one day in early July, my activity on Steemit has completely dropped off . This introduces a fun little Catch 22 of sorts that I'm not sure how to manage at the moment. On one hand, I've become deeply connected to a group of likeminded creatives/creators who I really believe have the best of intentions, and on the other hand, the more time I invest in that community, the less time I have to invest in generating seriously valuable content (like this...I hope). Where does that leave me (us)?

At this point, my plan is to use the power of triangulation to set my course. About a year ago, I stumbled across Gary Vaynerchuck (someone I'm sure many of you know) and he exposed me to what was a very novel idea to me at the time. He's someone who has built incredible success on the back of deploying truth and content at all costs. He goes so far as to implore his followers to stop consuming his content and just go DO.

For me, I think this is the right tactic, even though I know it will come at the expense of relationships with the PALNet faithful. I'm basically betting on content over community (at least for now). GaryVee discovered that social capital and community (aka -- the shit that really matters) is the inevitable byproduct of producing great content; I'm just hoping for the same fortune.

I really hope you'll take the time to leave a comment and help this post to find the eyes of others who need it. If nothing else, please take a few minutes to absorb the following message; one I think everyone should hear no matter what strategy you'v chosen to deploy.

Much ❤
@Tayken

♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟

FOLLOW ME ON: Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Snapchat

Random acts of kindness appreciated to help support the SteemDen meetup -- 1EB9MEfCC3fYo6dmW7zuWFJDVC53GVNA8J (BTC)

Finally, please consider supporting @minnowsupport

♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟 ♡🐟

Sort:  

There is indeed a balance to be had. I joked in a recent captiongenerator video that my time at PALnet has impacted my amount of posts. There was an element of truth to it and is something I accept.

I look at it as investing in my future on Steemit, slowly building up my following and readership. I am looking at the long game and while it has impacted the number of posts, the rewards both financially and in terms of network growth have been great.

Yup...all risk tolerance and investments. I certainly have the long-game in mind as well, but I have a hard time not second-guessing the strategy. @soundwavesphoton may have said it best.

Different strategies suit different people. Honestly not claiming to know best, just know what has worked for me and where I want to go moving forward.

Yeah buddy, I have wasted a boatload of time in discord but it has also afforded me the opportunity to meet some great folks. The network building aspect inspired my current project and I have been getting great responses as a result. Great post, thanks for the mention

Amen to that comment my good man...looking forward to the bigger and better @necrophagist

Flattered to appear at the starring slacker in your piece man! Good observations though and all too true. So sadly true! LOL (That is an ironic LOL as you well surmised haha)

Building community is a long tail game. I'm in it to win it, and my posts will continue soon enough. A little of this, a little of that, and it will add up to going a long way!

Mentioned in an article along side the venerable and caustic but effective Gary Vee? My life is complete now! <3

Another well-placed GaryVee virtue...patience! You'll always find me peeking in through the window towards the future with you @sircork

Glad I was able to help with the bucket list, but for the benefit of all future Steemians, I'm going to ask that you consider your life incomplete.

Dang, I never finish anything. :/

OMG that's flipping hilarious.

"Test and learn", I like that.

DO then adjust.

Awesome post man, the chat truly is an addicting time hole haha.

Do then adjust is my jam right now!
Tayken on the Split: coming project to split test our lives. Always have a comparative and always assume there's efficiency to be found. See you in the time hole!

Awesome post, and I have to agree with you point of view there. I'm a bit sad that you only have a handful of views and votes for such a well-put-together post. Upvoted with my 5 cents :)

Thanks @lifewithcrypto
That outlines my struggle perfectly. I just want to feel justified in my investment, and to this point, I haven't found my personal balance that gives me that unquestioned confidence. My greatest fear is that I'm delusional about my own abilities/skills.

Loading...

I can certainly see where you're coming from. There is a great community on Steemit and I love spending time on discord, it's difficult to strike the balance. The need to put out a high standard of content can be all consuming. I'm still trying to find a happy medium and it's not for the want of trying .. but I'll get there in the end. Keep up the good work my friend.

Love that outlook @perceptualflaws

Getting there in the end and enjoying the journey along the way is what it's all about. Do you feel pressure to hit a certain standard of quality or is there value in just letting the YOU flow?

Sorry dude, only just noticed your reply! Yes the journey is the most important part for sure. I don't feel pressure to hit a certain standard as I view every post as a learning curve so I just go with the flow and learn from any mistakes along the way. It's just finding the balance between family, work, more work lol writing on steemit and enjoying the community. But I'm confident I'll get there in the end. I didn't really write for twenty years so I've had lots of ideas circling inside my mind, now I've started I can't stop lol but I'll ease off soon and find the balance. Hope your having a great weekend!

It's hard to say. I produce content (not just on Steemit) that is widely lauded (I recently won a best actor award), but my career stalls if no one sees it. People only seek out content if they know about it. Community-building is part of marketing.

The believe that's what most of us are struggling with. The picture something as perfect but in the end, it just trial and error. Very motivational words..keep up the good work.

Thanks @travelmagician

I do try to keep in mind that the process and journey of errors will always be what really matters! Onward my friend!

yup yup....been realizing the same thing myself. Oh, but balance is so hard to find...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32