This is my bid for a mod role in the PAL discord. If you'll have me, I would like to do better and find more ways to give back.

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)

Hey Again, Steemitizens

When I was 21, I got married to a girl I had gotten pregnant. We worked hard and bought our first home at age 22. I remember my fear and gut wrenching uncertainty about my ability to take on fatherhood, being a husband and a homeowner. I expressed this to my father, who told me that sometimes to achieve things and grow taller, you had to reach way up over your head.

This is my application for a role that is likely to be way over my head.

It has been suggested to me that the next logical step for me in the MSP community, beyond my involvement as the Station Manager for our fledgling but successful and growing full time MSP Waves Radio Broadcast Network, and my role as a Medal of Honor winner related to that effort, as well as being a baby witness, is to become a PAL Discord moderator.

If you read this post:

My turn for a love letter to the MSP/P.A.L. Network Community [Following the lead of @aggroed, and the example of @crimsonclad & others who have done similar posts lately.]

Then you already know how much I love this family and how important everyone in the MSP/PAL community is to me. Literally these people are my brothers and sisters, peers and mentors, students and teachers and my only real family on this big dirty blue and green rock we all roam around on.

I love them and the house that @Aggroed built for us to live in together with his own peers and their blood, sweat and tears over the past few months.

I've been a member since just 19 days after the discord was established. I've lived, laughed, cried, fought and loved here ever since with these people. We have done some crazy things and some amazing things and I can't imagine spending 20+ hours a day anywhere else. But I covered all that in the love letter linked above.

I think it's time to put my actions where my heart lives.

Please consider my application to become a member of the force that helps keep it clean in there, busting their asses to de-escalate people like I once was and to inform, teach, coach, guide and direct new minnows and old fish into the places they need to be both technically, and philosophically.

I will continue to live and breath the process of constant improvement, seek a higher road and share the paths to those destinations I find along the way with those who come after me. I will strive to practice our mantra of de-escalation, and I will continue my already-in-progress campaign of preaching Kindness, Generosity, Gratitude and Patience as the means to the end of Peach, Abundance & Liberty. It's my core mission in life already. Joining the team officially just seems like the next right thing to do.

Always do the next right thing

I can do better. Give me a chance. If you believe I should take this step and join "team blue" in the PAL Discord, please express your encouragement in the comments section. If you think I'm not ready for this step, then please express your criticism and and advice for my areas in need of improvement below as well. I personally believe I am ready to reach for this stretch goal and responsibility. I will always be accountable for my results be they success or failures in the pursuit.

I recently wrote this post about the very topic of Responsibility vs Accountability and the differences and similarities and relationships between them:

Are you accountable? Are you responsible? They are not the same thing you know...

This will perhaps shed some light on how important such things are to me and how seriously I take these aspects of life. Please read that link if you want to know more about how I view them.

I can do better. We all can. The mods we have now are the ones that have helped me learn a lot of the lessons I've taken on lately in my quest for self improvement.

It's probably time for me to start paying that forward

Current mods? I am grateful for you and appreciate your support. I hope you will let me return the favor by joining your ranks on "Team Blue".

I am told I need a project, for which I obviously submit my work on the MSP Waves Radio Network project.

For the rest I am told I need witness and mod approval. I humbly and perhaps somewhat with mixed excitement and reluctance, seek as much now. It's a big goal, but I think I can reach it, if I stretch and you help push me up.

Thank you in advance for your consideration.

Sincerely,
@SirCork
MSP Waves Radio Station Manager
Steemit Witness #102

Sort:  

You have my support :)

Thanks SG123! I thoroughly enjoyed our chat this afternoon! You really put the grill to me about my mod intentions! :D So glad I passed the audition! LOL

Great addition to the #MOD Team.. Got my 100% support!!!

Thanks! Got my 100% gratitude!

We're fascinated with bots because they are reflections of ourselves.

Hello @followbtcnews | Here's a sneak peek of #MOD posts

Top 3 Trending Posts


#1. The Witcher 3 Mod Turns Geralt Into a Pro Skater | by @gaming-stuff
#2. Chilmark Nuclear Bunker 4K | by @cropcircles
#3. 5 Funny Video Game Mods | by @gaming-stuff
I'm a bot, beep boop | Here's my Introduction | Inspired By Reddit SneakPeekBot | Recreated By @miserableoracle

Hello @followbtcnews, I'm so sorry that SneakPeek bot has caused you inconvenience. The bot reads the category tag mentioned in the comment and searches for top 3 trending posts in that category. I guess you weren't expecting this kind of reply.

lol...No problem sir ..Just never seen that before.. All good :) Thanks!

Unfortunately, it received a few down-votes without proper reasons and I believe it isn't helping. Hence I'm taking it down. Anyways, thanks for the reply ^^

Unfortunately the comment wasn't really related to this at all, and thus the downvote.

I didn't want to damage the bots reputation, so I only used a 10% flag to hide the comment.

I understand, but if you look a little closely, the bot doesn't read post's context. Instead, it reads the category tag mentioned by the user in the comment. At your power level, 10% causes Rep to take a little nose dive. So I've already took it down. Thank you for your input. ^^

maybe make it optional. someone can call it up if they want to?

Sure thing. I'm thinking about the same. Thanks ^^

@sircork for mod! Has my vote.

Thank you!

Color me 100% on board.

Color me 100% ready to serve!

You have my full support my friend. I'm not the most active on the discord chan but I'm on Steem every day all day and I read so much on here.

For some reason I missed your previous post and I was about to go read it right now. Take care!

Thank you very much! Maybe I'll read your stuff too :) I could resteem you, maybe help you get a head start around here :P :D <3

Nice talking with you earlier today! Come hang out with us on the radio sometime and we'll spin some tunes for ya or maybe even get you on for an interview?

Aw shucks,thanks muxx! :D I wrote you that little four word poem to show my gratitude!

Such poem

Very rhyme

Many Word

Much Heard!

I support you bro <3 u will sucess in life

I'm here to support YOU, so we can ALL success in life! <3 Thank you!

I am behind this 100% ❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Thank you very much!!! <3 <3 <3

FINALLY!!! Make us all proud as you often do.

I will do my level best Kub! Thank you!

Hi SC, Have gotten to know You & know how many hours per day that You've worked to help get MSPWaves going... along with the work of @Uniwhisp.

So... You've got my Vote !!

Cheers !!

Edit: Thank You SC for correcting my error for not including everyone involved...

Cheers !!

Well thank you! And we musn't forget @ma1neevent, @r0nd0n, @globocop and @inquiringtimes! Not to mention the 20-ish Show Hosts who join us live each week on the air! It takes a ton of talented folks to get the show on the road around there. Thanks so much, and always a pleasure when we have a bit of time to chat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60915.40
ETH 2627.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58