How to Multiply your Comment RewardssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)

Make your Comments Count!




I am guilty. Guilty as charged!

I write comments. Lot's of them. And very often, I tend to put lot's in my comments. Lot's of thought. Lot's of words. Sometimes so much that they could be articles in and of themselves.

Hence this EXTRA post: Here is how to make the best out of comments.

A lot of of times, our comments go unanswered. 😢 Sometimes it seems, entirely unnoticed. Forgotten. Some are upvoted. ✔

Most are not.

Let me ask you:

Do you read other Steemian's comments?

Secret Ingredients

I happen to think that the comment section is the vehicle for engagement. It's usually where we gain value followers. It's here, where we engage with others, add value to a post, agree, disagree, encourage - whatever the case may be - but hopefully enrich that post.

It is from comments that I often gain ideas for posts such as the one you're just reading.

Now, when I said I was guilty earlier, I really meant I was guilty of sometimes writing leeengthy comments. Yep. Very lengthy.

1HL.png

I start writing, add formatting to go easy on the eyes and, for my comment to stand out. And I add another paragraph, and sometimes another, even a photo I am taking just for that comment... and not to forget, sometimes, at the bottom:

My logo...



Nothing wrong with advertising, though I was, just today, rather harshly 'reprimanded' for doing so, being accused of spamming... @globocop a spammer? Ok. Interesting people... I unfollowed that fine Steemian, given that I added value to his post, and upvoted it. No thanks. But that's ok. 😎 C'est la vie. There are more appreciative Steemians out there.

...which brings me to my main point.

Keeping our comments short... No one reads looong comments. Perhaps the author does. But rarely readers who have just finished devouring your entire article. If the comments in a post I didn't submit are short, I skim through them until something catches my eye. But I am not the type that reads through leeengthy comments, especially not after just putting my 5 cents in...

Does this make sense?

Plusses for Everyone


So, why not making your next comment an article submission?

If the comment you're jotting down inspires more ideas as you write, it's probably worth a separate submission. This has definite benefits:

  1. Sharing your 'Comment' with many more people, especially if linked1 back,
  2. Gain recognition by
    2.1 more followers,
    2.2 more upvotes,
    2.3 increased reputation and thus:
  3. Multiply financial reward - for them - and for yourself.

1 Explanation Oh yes. Linking back. Important. Here it goes...

After publishing your submission, we want to go back to that original comment that inspired the article we just wrote...
and now reply to the original post.

Short, of course, adding the main points of our article and the link to our comment.

1HL.png

It's a branching opportunity we just created. The comment has become a subtle ad for our post - without begging - just commenting and referencing your detailed thoughts in our new article.

Sometimes I do this when I read a post about an article I had written before I read that post. Here is an example.

This concept is of course not applicable to one-liner comments. Self explanatory. Right? 🤔

What do you think? Should we pay more attention to comments and let comments:

Branch out to Grow New Fruitful Steemian Trees?


Thanks for reading. 😎

globocop_small_orginalcontent.png
ch @globocop

[Upvote] [Comment] [Resteem] [Follow]


Sort:  

The comment upvote thing is troubling... There are people that will keep responding with inane babble hoping for a plethora of upvotes. To me comments are no different than posts- good content gets rewarded.

Amen! Problem is - when you get 100 good comments.. What do we do? Lower vote percentage... But boy I wish I had more to dish out.
In good time.

Thanks Rich! As always! 😎

I have disregarded voting power, if you think about it in real terms the difference in money is negligible anyway, so your vote is worth 2 cents instead of 10 cents! Big Deal! The feedback is more useful I think so I upvote good commenters so they rise to the top in the post comments.

Yes - I am coming to that same conclusion lately... Though I wish I could reward top notch quality appropriately. In time.... orca-trail is coming...

-ch @globocop

Yeah, I've noticed that too. Some people's profiles are just filled with the same comment over and over on many blog posts. "Nice post, upvoted and followed please follow me back".

I saw one or two of those posts get flagged pretty hard today, which I think is a good sign. We don't need bland copy-paste comments, we need actual social interaction. If I see a comment I appreciate I upvote it, and I hope others keep doing the same.

I'm flagging them... they need to be back on Fakebook not here!

The moment one asks me to upvote and follow back begging style, I ignore that Steemian. It's up to us to clean house.

Thanks for chiming in @pilcrow.

-ch @globocop

Exactly. This is an attention economy. Show that you paid attention by responding with spontaneous output, not a canned response. This is why I don't ask for upvotes, nor do I ask for follows. I let them stand on their own. If people want to follow, they will. My request for attention is implied in my effort, not my words.

I have found comments are the best way to engage and gain a following as well. I too struggle with long comments. However, I've never thought about using what I'm passionate about in a comment to turn into a post. Thanks for the advice!

I love this community - and the thoughtful comments that most Steemians contribute!
Thanks @gniksivart

Yippie! Cheers @tastetwist. 😎 . Happy Saturday!
-ch @globocop

thanks again, 😎 you helped me on my one my post, get control of my % power..

your the best, thanks..

I remember - @tastetwist. Hope all is leveled out and managed?

Darn - I keep missing my best Steemian's posts!!!

(Note to self: Get your stuff together!)

yes, much better...

They KNOW what they're 'talking' 'bout...
ehmmm...

I may be guilty....
;-)
I read a lot of the comments,usually before I post,no sense in repeating same thing 5-50 people already said...But sometimes I want to engage the author. share point of view or ?
then read comments..
It can be hard knowing how some people will respond. meme the wrong person, ect.
sometimes I write long replies and end up erasing them and only upvote ,maybe resteem.
Try not to just leave a simple good post or nice job, what I consider a smile or courteous wave any more seams that's not nice.
:-0
ohhh the limits of it all!
lol
namaste!
;-)

That's is a good suggestion - skimming the existing comments before writing out own. Feasible if there aren't many yet... Not so if there are 20+, coz my thought may be burning into the keyboard so hot that I must type it into this thirsty comment field... quickly!

Thanks for your thoughts. 😎
-ch @globocop

You Received an UpVote from @worldclassplayer. To Learn More, See DetailsHere

This is exactly what I have been discovering. Comments that are too long are probably best to be written as a separate post altogether. Sometimes, I find commenting to inspire ideas in what I could write about. I haven't posted anything yet, but I have started to write down a list of topics I want to write about.

Great @anavictoriakong. I think it is wise to 'stake out' the platform, learn from others, before diving into posts. Looking forward to yours whenever you're ready!

Have a super weekend!.
-ch @globocop

I am a new Steemian, this post has opened my eyes on how to use comments on Steemit. I think this post should be required reading for new members. Since i learned a lot about how to structure comments from it.

Thanks @kcchampion. There are other useful posts on my channel, such as how to build a value-followship and others, if you're interested.

No need to upvote posts that are older than seven days, as the payout has closed for these articles. However, they are here to stay for reference.

Thanks for your thoughts!
-ch @globocop

I post this month many more comments than previous months but I don't see any comments impact....

It's persistence that will eventually pay off @seckorama. Check out steem.supply which gives a good overview of the percentage of earnings. I do see about 1-3 new followers per my better comments.

Very good .... I love reading good comments .... upvoted

Appreciate, @offgridlife Have a good weekend! -ch @globocop

Nice idea but my comments are to short to apply it =)

Inspiration will come when the right post is in front of us... 😎

This post has received a 1.85 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @globocop.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 49842.52
ETH 2229.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.00