Newbie Advice :- Quality Over QuantitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #minnowsunite7 years ago (edited)

a046e8ad9d23649ed6be2a5726968698.jpg
My fifth day here on Steemit and wow! what a learning curve and such an eye opener, in a good way.
I am in no way an expert, this post is really just a reflection on what I have learnt so far. But hope if you are newbie to the steemit world it will give you some pointer to get you started.

Now I claimed to be a 'Newbie' that might be a false claim. I watched/read a very interested post yesterday from @jerrybanfield .
https://steemit.com/steemit/@jerrybanfield/usd2-steem-sets-our-new-cryptocurrency-market-capitalization-record-at-usd468-096-656 Half way down the post he talks about new users that join steemit in the past 2 weeks. I am one of these users, not sure which classification I fall into, but found the post helped me get my head round a number of questions.

The biggest one being, why my post don't command the big sums of $'s other steemers do?
His table highlights it quite nicely, but others post I have read have also said the same thing. It's about gaining influence, the more influence you have the more you post command.

How do you raise 'Influence'? I hear you asked.
I am not sure, but think it's down to steemit power.
How do I get Steemit power?
Another great question.
Answer:- Post and comment and get votes, and come the end of the week you will have some.

A very nice guy called @mindhunter offered to help me, saying all I needed to do was call him.
bat-signal.png
And I have really bent his ear on this subject. (poor guy)
He confirmed yesterday 'that the more you invest the more you reap'

So the assumption would be, right I need to get posting as much as I can. But I believe there is another factor we need to look at, 'reputation score'.
Reputation score is that little number next to you username in brackets. I am quite proud the fact mine is sitting at (41) at the moment when I started it was just (25). The reputation score is based on votes you get. That not just on posts but also on comments I have left on others posts. This make me think this score is about quality not just about quantity.

A post I read while I was waiting to be accepted by @intelliguy also lead me to this conclusion. I have written just 11 post and have an average of 12 votes each post. My post are not commanding the big $'s because I don't have the influence yet, but this post gives me hope I am heading in the right direction.
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@intelliguy/if-you-re-new-to-steem-or-steemit-and-you-aren-t-making-hundreds-of-dollars-yet-let-me-explain-why
I won't repeat what intelliguy has put so beautifully.
But basically what I took from it, if I write good posts and I will attract followers. Continue to write good post and I will keep followers.

More followers = votes.
Votes= influence.
Influence= my post will be worth more.

*So as a newbie it seems my focus is to invest in Steem power and forget about the dollars at the moment.

*Keep scanning the 'new' thread, comment and vote on post that interest me.

*Keep posting, but spend my time writing a good post. (This post has taken me a good 2 hours to write.) In the hope to attract followers and keep followers.

If you have read my post please vote and follow me, help a newbie out.
As I said I am learning, so if you have any advise, please comment.

One last thing....

Question to the more experienced of you out there.

I have set this post to....
Rewards: Power Up 100%
Is this something you advise a newbie to do?

Steemit 100.jpg
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

Really like this post compared to drier similar posts. It does seem it is all linked to Steem Power. I think also it is linked to not comparing oneself to others, not 'seeking' to make money - then, one will sooner or later, make money. Followed.

I absolutely agree with your analysis and part of the reason I have enjoyed learning so much is that the reward system targets quality. I do think that certain subjects will lag behind what is easy/popular but over time with a larger user base their will be room for potential for what many consider mundane or esoteric .

It is disheartening when your post doesn't even break a dollar and you see someone else's post rocketing.
I console myself with the fact that at the moment I only have 40 followers. The ones who post's rocket have 1000's of followers. I think it important newbie understand, it's not a quick buck and not to be disheartened. They just need to keep posting and slowly they will get there.
Well that is what I am telling myself :)

If you are a writer, you will do well in Steemit as not everyone can ;)
Top-notch are the quality contents, that's always been from the start. It's frustrating at first that you are writing but with limited exposure, this is where your followers come in.
Like before, we welcome and interact with members who post what we are interested in. we also follow and support each other.
Powering 100% on posts is a great way to earn steem power which then influences our votes.

Thank you for your supportive words. I only found the option this morning to do 100% power up. It just seemed to make sense to click it at this stage. Following :)

Members are very helpful so ask if you need something. I might nkt be able to but most can. Thanks for the follow :)

The only other advice I can give you Kathie is write from the heart, and put your heart and soul into it ... it looks like your doing it already on this post! WELL DONE! Thanks for the mention :) UV/RS !!

Thank you.
Also for restreeming it :)

Always a pleasure to help newbies Kathie :)

Ive thought of something to pull your leg but changed my mind ;)

Ha ha! :)

That is some absolutely solid advice and I highly appreciate that you have taken the time to put these pointers together! You are an asset to steemit and I will definitely follow you! One thing I would like to add is to try not to be emotionally attached to the reward outcome of each post. You will win some and you will lose some and the same goes for whales. The key is just to be consistent and continue putting out that quality with no regard for how much it has the potential to earn. What I love about this community is that we are rewarded based on what we are willing to give as opposed to what we want to take. It is ultimately the ones that stick around and keep adding value that will be the users that will prosper. I can already see that you will be most prosperous in the future! Have a beautiful day 🙌 ~Hratch

Thank you so much for your kind comment and advice. I admit I did at first get a bit down hearted, but as you said I just got to keep posting and have fun and I will get there. Following.

I like to learn something every time I read a post, and today I learned something from you. The 100% power up option? I knew what it was, just never bothered with that setting, then it clicked. I'm an idiot sometimes. As soon as I get a payout I convert to steem power any way! Sometimes we are set in our ways, so thank you for the nudge into changing that setting. Should have done it long ago.

To be honest I am unsure what is best to do. 100% power up. Or when you get you pay out from 50%/50% just buying the steem with the you SD half (ie making it 100% anyway)
The fact steem = $2 must have an effect on that.

PS following back :)

I guess if you are going to invest in steem for the long run the the 100% option is what I will go for.

Well said, doesnt sound like something that would come from a newbie. Keep the good post coming and with doing this the followers will come to. Followed and resteemed.

Thank you. I had to do a lot of reading and watching youtube video to get my head round how the money is generated. I have now just accepted it's magic :D Suppose from all that research, the wisdom of others has rubbed off on me.
Thank you so much for the resteemed. Following back :)

Welcome to Steemit @kathieletalis :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in our giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


You want to welcome others too? Give your Vote to new users: http://steemgreet.bitballoon.com/


See what this is all about: https://steemit.com/@reggaemuffin/steemgreet-motivate-new-users-who-just-joined

Yeah that's exactly it!
Quality posts will get your followers up. Never mind about earning money just now, just focus on getting your followers up.
Any money you earn is a bonus of course.

Keep on Steemin in the free world!

Raising followers and raising steem power.
Now I have found the 'Rewards: Power Up 100%' option, I will be picking that :)

Yeah that's what I've done a few times now.
If you like trading or want to give that a shot, then you can opt for the 50/50 option and trade your SBD (Steem Backed Dollars) on the market to maybe earn more from trading.
I would say that it does take a little time to get your head around all the different SBD, SP & Steem.
It will come in time though and there is a lot of good articles explaining all of this here on Steemit.

Keep up the good work and the rewards will come eventually @kathietalis!

Minnows UNITE!

Thank you. Following :)