Upgrading the Saddest Little Mining Rig

in #mining7 years ago

As I mentioned in my previous blog I had ordered 2 more graphics cards. Well they have arrived and it’s time to install them!

DSCF0617.JPG
New Cards!

These two new cards are mini’s so they are much smaller than my two other cards. I got quite lucky that they fit perfectly into my rack. I was a little nervous that I was going to have to rethink my entire setup but, I got everything installed and working without too many headaches. I did have to bend part of the rack in order to get the hdmi plug for my enormous monitor plugged in.

DSCF0620.JPG
Like a Glove!

Overall I had very minimal issues adding the two new cards. Reorganizing the power cords took the most time since I’m now using nearly all the plugs on my power supply and the cords are starting to run wild. I’d need to do some major rig renovations if I ever wanted to expand the rig any further. I don’t think I will expand any further since the ROI is increasing to a point that it makes gpu mining into a poor investment.

DSCF0624.JPG
The Rig Hashing Away

I’ve been switching around between various equihash coins the past week. I spent time mining ZenCash, ZCash and HUSH. My intention was to mine ZCash this week (which would have been amazing since the price jumped!) but due to technical issues with not seeing returns that reflected my hashrate, I ended up spending most of the week mining HUSH.

The thing I dislike about HUSH is that I have to trade it on Cryptopia and I’d much rather trade my coins on Bittrex. Cryptopia has lower volume than Bittrex and generally has a higher quantity of strange coins. I hope HUSH gets listed on Bittrex someday, I think it would give the coin a nice boost and make mining and trading HUSH a bit easier. I think I’ll be swapping back to ZenCash after my next ZCash payout.

Anyone have any questions about mining or suggestions on what I should cover next week please leave me a comment below.

Love,
bwar
DSCF0627.JPG
Bonus Puppy!

Sort:  

You've received a FULL upvote from #TheUnmentionables - a SteemIt community full of members who like to kick ass, take names, and occasionally do it wearing (or forgetting to wear) our unmentionables...



Unmentionables

Please upvote this comment so we can help our members grow faster!

First, I'd tell you to check out my post about mining XMR. I've gotten a decent return from an old GTX 660, so your rig might be able to get some good hash power on it. It may not be for you, but I'm curious as to how much hash you'd be able to generate.

If you ever lose profitability to the point where you decide to stop, consider using the GPU cycles for BOINC. It's a project that lets you donate your CPU and GPU cycles to scientific research projects and you can earn a few Gridcoin along the way!

Good luck!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bwar to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

my cards get nice hashrate for equihash so I don't stray from that very often. I'm did a bit with ethereum but haven't tried XMR yet (outisde of using nicehash profit switching). Hopefully I keep making profit for a while, would be nice to at least pay the cards off.

Yes!! Love the dog. (The mining rig ... not so much. But then I have four dogs and no mining rig ... so you get the point.) But now, @bwar ... you do realize you've set a precedent. We'll all expect a dog photo with all your posts. Give the people what they want!!! (grin)

I'm thinking I should just have a weekly dog blog.

Totally beyond me, but fun to see how it evolves - keep at it!!

I think I'm done adding stuff to the mining rig. For now the rig will just sit in my basement and make some coins for me.

If it makes you some $$ then that's all good!

This post received a 1.6% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bwar! To learn more, check out @randowhale 101 - Everything You Need to Know!

Love the dog!

haha the dogs always get more love than the mining rig!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59907.23
ETH 2647.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43