Appreciate your humble beginnings

in #mindset5 years ago

When I was a teenager, I was incredibly shy and much rather preferred to be a wallflower. Back then I simply drifted through other people's lives, never leaving a lasting impression or any signifigant signs of my existence.

Being self-conscious about your appearance is such a typical teenage stereotype, but unfortunately it was something I suffered from. I hated everything about myself. My looks, my personality, my life. Eventually it got so bad that I started to avoid seeing myself in the mirror and getting my picture taken.

Seeing myself in photos back then was a severely painful experience. I stood out like a sore thumb, and my teenage brain automatically scewed that image of myself into looking ugly. This was the case with most pictures I was in.

I remember cropping myself out of photos taken with friends as well as deleting vacation photos in which I made an appearance. My mom eventually took notice of the missing photos and started keeping a watchful eye over the camera.

As the years passed, I addressed my self-esteem issues and started viewing the world from a more mature point of view.

Going through old photos of myself from 5-8 years ago made me realise something very important. The impression I had of myself around that time was completely wrong. It was like I was seeing myself from someone else's point of view for the first time. I didn't stand out like a sore thumb; I was actually a relatively normal kid. I always thought there was something wrong with me, but in fact, I was just too obsessed with my flaws.

Appreciate your humble beginnings. Time changes everything, including yourself.

Sort:  

Very honest post. Keept it up - life is a strugle, keep up the fight.
Wish you just the best.

You're absolutely right!
Self development takes time through trial and error.

Congratulations @justthatchickxd! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increase our upvotes by 50%!

great post, you are so right.

Welcome to steem by the way, I just had a look at your account and see that you are new. Im giving out some free delegation ( that will boost rcs and allow you do more on steem) if you are interested in finding out how to get it do check out this post
https://steemit.com/steem/@paulag/newbie-showcase-free-steem-training-and-steem-power-delegation-2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05