Sort:  

Good luck with the cut-down.

I must say I'm astonished by the sleeping next to the phone and checking it first thing in the morning... astonish by the actual deed and bu the percentage of people who do it. (Talking about the definition of addiction)

One quick tip is to at least put it on airplane mode. And shut off the wifi when you go to bed. Having wifi during your sleep is deadly and having it on the phone next to your head... is forget about it.

For the steps, yeah your memory and action are way enough. Whatsapp, if it's the only way to communicate... I guess that's that... but you know... nowadays you even get international phone calls for free, even with the landline.

Calm I also use it and I get the streak is nice and helps keep things "on schedule". But again memory and action... or you can use it offline sometimes it works and/or pick the phone up to use it and put the phone down after. No notifications, no social media...

Personally, I don't have a smartphone, so I guess I don't have to cut any time out. I have a phone from the 90's and an Ipod. Never used whatsapp never wanted to. Other than the ipod is usually on airplane mode and I can use it for calm and podcasts and so...

Photos.. I get it... but you can get a great camera for half the price of an iphone.

Wish great luck with it... truly think it's a plague affecting our species at the moment. Just imagine if there were no more smartphones tomorrow, how would peopel live?.... Probably coudn't even find/ walk to a restaurant hehehe

For many, and myself included, it's an information addiction. I want to know what's happening. I want to feel something exciting is going on. But now I'm trying to focus on the excitement I can create rather than the excitement I can find

Same here ( in a way ) but I can use my laptop for that too. I always feel better looking at bigger screens anyway. So, if I really don't need my phone for something, I won't use it.

P.S. Focusing on the excitement you can create sounds so much more powerful than the excitement you can find :>)

That's a good one. And also you can text the news once a day or something (maybe on your laptop)

That first alinea sums it up: 'addiction'. I like to believe it's healthier than alcohol or other hard drugs though ( but who knows? )

I actually forgot to mention that my phone is always on airplone mode ( or even off ) during the night.

I got a landline but haven't been in my house for months due to the renovation.

Using calm offline is interesting but will indeed break the streak :>)

I hardly have notifications on ( on ) my phone.

no iPod here, just an iPhone. I did away with all my cams besides my Gopro Hero.

Thanks for all the advice and wishing me luck. It will either be cutting down or feeling better about my usage of my smartphone, probably somewhere in the middle :>)

Just saw the SBD you sent me. Thank you my friend! Life is good. I am writing some new stuff now. My music is on this new documentary too!

How are you?

You're welcome my friend. Glad to hear life is good again. I like to think that life is always good ( or probably neutral ), it's just our perspective that changes and colors it :>)

Awesome to hear that your sound can be heard on a documentary. Will check it out as soon as I can focus fro long enough a time. I hardly watch movies these days due to the camping situation ;>)

I hope your house gets finished soon! I do know where to go to get camping tips though! I recognize that many of my problems are first world....I do appreciate everything I have!

Cheers buddy!

It is 98 percent finished. I moved back in yesterday :>)

I get what you mean: 'problems are always measured to the life ( and 'luxury' ) that we live in. So first world problems can feel very much like problems too.

I am so grateful for where I'm at now but I also believe we can all create a better future by the power of mind and I am getting better and better at it.

Hugs from Portugal!

You’ve been visited by @vibesforlife on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Brave move to cut up on your phone time. It sounds so much like all of us with phone in our hands before bedtime and right after waking up. But you are doing good, the way you have analysed each activity of your day with phone and without, kudos.

We are also holding a raffle - if you'd like to win some beautiful art by @FrejaFricheck out this post. We are also behind a fundraising charity drive hosted by @freedomtribe to raise money for Venuezualan children. Please click here to enter!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Discord

Not sure if it's brave or wise but thank you anyway :>)

A more thorough analysis will follow in the follow up to this post.

Bye for now!

I kind of like apps, I just don't want to get addicted or do things to kill time. I want to stop multitasking and going to my phone automatically without thinking. So I'd like to have a defined purpose whenever I use the phone and make sure this purpose is out of true desire, not out of habit. Even if ice decided I just want to zone out on something mindless, I want to do so consciously and be aware of what I'm doing.

Coinmarketcap and an app that counts tour footsteps sound like good things to cut out. I am actually trying to spend more time on communication apps because I can actually connect with people. But I try not to use them when I'm feeling lazy because they turn into an escape

Isn't app short for addiction? just kidding! I guess that should be add ;>)

Same here: less multitasking, it not being an automated ( brainless ) thing, more conscious usage.

I didn't use a coinmarketcap app ( just checked the site on my Brave browser ) but I actually installed a similar one to check cryptos. Am going to delete that one from my phone right after this comment.

Communication is good. I start to see, more and more, that life is all about communication, with ourselves as well as with others.

Bye for now my friend! :>)

🙏🏼🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️ - maybe worth trying Vipasanna 😃 @vincentnijman www.dhamma.org. I recently attended one where you have to meditate in noble silence for 10days without phone, computers or any contact with outside world except in emergency. The inner world can be amazingly blissful place to explore 🧘🏼‍♂️🧘🏼‍♀️😊🙏🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

It is not only Sauls brother who gets sick from all those wireless machines...and actually, it is not only the wireless that bothers him or others.
We(even me) are surrounded by electricity (saw Iboy?).

Microwaves, ovens, routers, cellphones, computers, laptops, tv, radio, etc, etc.

I am not going to reduce my cellphone. Why not?

  1. I do not own a computer
  2. I do not own a laptop
  3. I do not own a radio except in my car and it is only used on long drives (1500 km or more).
  4. I do not watch tv
  5. I do not own a microwave
  6. I do not own a dishwasher
  7. I do not own a fridge.

The smartphone is more phone and palm-computer in one.
I seldom make a phone call (is twice a year).

I do not care about most social media, I leave my phone home unless I go for a drive so I can call in case of emergency (doctor, school, anwb).
I never answer my phone while driving.

I close it if I go to bed. My sound is always off. I check WhatsApp a few times a day (mainly my kids, sometimes I need it to contact a company). It works fine since years. No one misses me.

Wish you a great day and above all night rest.

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't seen Iboy but I've seen Thomas est Amoureux ( a French movie from almost twenty years ago that predicted a computer based world where people hardly leave their houses )

It's totally up to you what to do. Just do what makes you feel good, as much as possible. That's what life is all about :>)

Although there's many unhealthy things, I also believe it's usually our minds that make us sick. If we think something makes us sick it probably will. It's not always easy to change a believe that has been created over years or decades though.

P.S. I don't have a radio, microwave or dishwasher myself. My phone is off or on airplane mode when I sleep.

The interesting question is also: how come it is so easy to talk one/yourself sick but so hard to talk one/yourself better?

Posted using Partiko Android

Good question. I think it should be as easy, it's just that if we talk about something postive ( for instance better health ) there's often still the belief that we won't get there, so we won't get better.

As long as we start focusing on more general themes, with less resistance ( for instance 'abundance' or feeling good' ), we might actually get there.

Also talking yourself sick takes loads of time. It's just that we usually spend years or decades on it, without necessarily being aware of it.

Um abraco!

Good point. I keep that in mind.
💥💕

Posted using Partiko Android

If you feel like you're just kind of wasting time on it then cutting down so you have more time for things you'd rather spend more time on seems a good idea :D

My phone tells me what I need to do every day, and sometimes how to get to places I need to go if I don't know the way. Other than that it gets used for gaming (well three particular games and I'm so lazy playing them I'm pretty useless to my teams for the two that force you into a team), steeming and messaging. And every now and again someone calls.

There are things I do need to cut down but phone isn't one of them XD

I like to think in the 'wasting time' kind of way. I prioritize things that make me good whenever I can, these days. I feel good talking with you all on discord for example but I could also do that on my laptop. I prefer looking at larger screens anyway ;>)

Yeah, I sometimes use G Maps. My phone doesn't tell me what to do. I do to 'little' to need an agenda and I'm loving it. No gaming either.

If you don't feel bad about your phone usage, stick with your current plan

xx

I already have enough parent guilt, everything else be damned otherwise I'd be in a continual state of abject depression XD

I always thought the elders brothers situation was more of psychological.

But I definitely think that we need to put a check on the usage.

Posted using Partiko Android

What do you mean with the elders brother situation?

I mean the fear if the electronic device.. it turned out to be psychological..

Posted using Partiko Android

You meant big brother? It's definitely psychological. I guess all fears are. In fact, not just fears, almost everything in life haha! :>)

Congratulations @vincentnijman! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95