Mindful Moments #3 (A Mindfulness Series On Steemit): Setting Boundaries

in #mindfulmoments5 years ago (edited)


Mindful Moment #3

Setting boundaries with others. This is one of my most profound lessons and I’m still actively learning it in middle age.

The first step to being able to set proper boundaries with others is: 1.) knowing exactly who you are; and 2.) realizing your own self worth. Knowing your own self worth is immensely powerful.

The holidays are fast approaching and this is primetime for gatherings with family, both immediate and extended. It’s also the season for those passive/aggressive people among us to, half-jokingly, complain about how dysfunctional their families are on social media. As the great Geoffrey Chaucer said, “...many a true word hath been spoke in jest.”

Most every family has that one person who drinks too much, can’t help but antagonize and lure others into some kind of argument (political or otherwise), or has a habit of putting people down to try to make themselves feel better. It’s okay, and perfectly healthy, to let these people know their behavior is unacceptable. Their behavior is always more about them than it is their target.

Setting boundaries is just as important in business. We have to make sure people keep their promises, treat us with respect, and hold them accountable when they don’t. Letting those you work with know immediately when they’ve stepped over the line of what you consider to be acceptable will most often make them take their bad behavior elsewhere.

Often we shy away from calling people out on their bad behavior because we don’t want to rock the boat. We look at it as some kind of an assault against that person treating us badly instead of just communicating our own expectations of what is okay. Ironically, letting bad behavior slide and by dodging confrontation even once we often set ourselves up for a lifetime of having to deal with it. Actually being honest with ourselves and others is very compassionate.


“Compassionate people ask for what they need. They say no when they need to, and they say yes when they mean it. They’re compassionate because their boundaries keep them out of resentment.” ~ Brene Brown


Life becomes so much easier when you communicate your wants, needs, and expectations to those friends, family, and colleagues around you. The very first step is knowing who you are and realizing your own self worth. There’s no better way to accomplish this than the introspection and valuable insight gained in meditation.

Putting Words Into Action

The 5/5/5 technique of seated meditation allows you to center yourself so let’s start with that.

Begin by sitting upright in a comfortable chair then:*

  1. Inhale for a count of 5;
  2. Hold the breath for a count of 5;
  3. Exhale for a count of 5; and
  4. Repeat for as long as you like (at least 3 repetitions).

After you practice this very simple meditation technique for even a few minutes it’s very helpful to linger in that place of peace and calm, focusing your mind on your self worth and the unique skill set you bring to the world.

After you’ve done this grab your mobile phone or a scrap of paper and pen and list out some of your basic wants, needs, and expectations when it comes to interacting with others personally and professionally. It’s very important to type/write these out and keep them in a place that you can refer to them often.

As you go about your day, begin to identify interactions and situations when you feel as though your boundaries are being crossed and let people know immediately when they do it. You’ll find that most people will honor your wishes but a handful won’t. You have to be honest with yourself and decide if you’re willing to deal with their bad behavior. If the answer is no, you have to be prepared to end that relationship. I’ve had to do this with old friends and family members.

Change won’t happen overnight. It takes work to rewire your brain after lifelong patterns of behavior. In the end, the result of setting boundaries will be a higher quality of life, more self-confidence, and the respect of those around you. Remember say no when you need to and yes when you mean it.

Are you finding this series helpful? If so please #resteem and let me know in the comments below.

In Gratitude,

~ Eric Vance Walton ~

Did you miss Mindful Moments 1 or 2?

(Gif sourced from Giphy.com)


alt text

*I am an American novelist, poet, traveler, and crypto-enthusiast. If you’ve enjoyed my work please sign up for my author newsletter at my website. Newsletter subscribers will receive exclusive updates and special offers and your information will never be sold or shared.

Alarm Clock Dawn, one of the first full length novels published on the blockchain, and the book that started it all for me can be found HERE. Or Click Here to read it for free on the Steemit blockchain

My meditation book, The Perfect Pause, is priced at $12.99 (paperback) and $4.99 (eBook). Buy the paperback and receive the eBook for free!

Let’s Keep In Touch

www.ericvancewalton.net

alt text

alt text alt textalt text alt text alt text

Sort:  

“Compassionate people ask for what they need. They say no when they need to, and they say yes when they mean it. They’re compassionate because their boundaries keep them out of resentment.” ~ Brene Brown

I am finally getting there since I know who I am and especially accept my authentic self.

I am coming for everything what I deserve

Posted using Partiko iOS

That is the key, @mammasitta, being comfortable in your own skin all the time. I am coming for everything that I deserve......love that!

Huge challenge but as I said ....I am going for getting it ALL :) I hope I got enough time but if not I will continue in the other side of the rainbow bridge 😉 my surgery put me back in place. Those past months were intense

I have no doubt that you'll achieve all that you wish for. We'll have to trade stories face-to-face at SteemFest 5, wherever it might be. I wish you all the best and quick healing!

Wise words! Glad to read from you here. :) Cheers, b

Thank you so much for reading @lovejoy! I hope you're doing well!

Oh setting those boundaries are very hard especially with family, something I had to learn the hard way! Why is there always a black sheep or rather a snake in the grass? I'm still learning so thank you for your series Eric. Funny last week a friend invited me to a WhatsApp group 21 days of Abundance/ Meditation Challenge which is a Deepak Chopra series so I'm having to work on myself there as well as here with Mindful Moments! Experienced an unexpected abundance in a comedy of errors last night, telling that story soon ;)

You're right, it is very difficult to accomplish with family @lizelle! Doing the work and taking those steps towards healthy relationships are the important part. My wife has helped me a lot in this aspect. Thank you, I'm so glad you stopped by!

Thankgod my family has no one like that!!! Setting boundaries becomes easier the older we get. Sound advice!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're very lucky! Thank you @riverflows.

I am still learning how to set that huge red line, actually more than ever :) we need to take care of our own “flower garden” that nobody steps on our precious creations.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're right! It's not easy sometimes but it's worth every effort to maintain your own peace of mind. Thank you for your comment!

I just posted such a nice quote I found in my IG....@partiko doesn’t allow picture posting in comments....

Posted using Partiko iOS

41833CA5-A662-432A-9DF2-2726561FA676.jpeg

Hi Eric, it's been a long time since you din' make your post. I think you must be busy. You are right, before we become this life we ​​must know who we are. we must respect ourselves so others will respect us. Communication with others is also very necessary so that we are happy ... But for me the most important thing is communication with God ... Enjoy your day, sir.

Hi, Eliana- Yes, I’m scaling back on my posting frequency to once or twice a week now to make room for curation and other projects. I hope you have a wonderful week!

With setting boundaries, you often also gain respect from the people with who you set it as well as with peers, observing you behavior.

Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and comment. Yes, gaining more respect from others is a huge dividend gained from setting boundaries!

Change is what keeps us going and those little things definitely matter the most : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61133.31
ETH 2887.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64