One Perfect Day: When You Realise How Perfect It Is, You'll Tilt Your Head Back and Laugh at The Sky

in #mindfullife5 years ago

DSC05958.JPG

Perfection's one of those funny words that's a double edged sword. On one side, she's really pretty and beautiful, and worth striving for, because if you find her, she'll make you happier beyond all belief. On the other side, she's elusive, impermanent, and totally unattainable. We could do without this idea of perfection in our lives. She's a good one for causing untold suffering.

We might gush that things are perfect when we find them just how we want them to be, but they never last, we lament, rather than treasuring what we've managed to achieve in that moment. The perfect wedding, twenty years later just a handful of faded photographs. The perfect hairstyle, undone by a sleepless night. The perfect child, who being ill, keeps you up all night. The perfect sunshiney day gives way to night, the pain of sunburn and mosquito bites and someone starting a lawnmower at 6 am. Life seems like a handful of perfect moments that never truly last.

I can't hear the words 'perfect day' without thinking of Lou Reed's song:

Just a perfect day

Drink Sangria in the park

And then later

When it gets dark, we go home

Just a perfect day

Feed animals in the zoo

Then later

A movie, too, and then home

Or maybe this one, which the majority of the world would never have heard of, because it's an Australian band from the '80's.

This Perfect Day

I Can't Stop Thinking

Are You Over There

Are You Happy There

And Tell Me

If It's Still Raining There In England

And Tell Me What You Did Last Night

And Tell Me

If It's Still Raining There In England

The Pictures So Hard To Come By

If You Ever Come Back Just Drop By

One Perfect Day,

Listening to both songs, I can hear this tension between the ideal of perfection and the longing for it. The perfect day has been and gone, but can still come again - one perfect day, we will do all the perfect things we dream of and long. One perfect day, we did this magical and beautiful thing that I wish I could recapture. There's always a line between what's lost, and what's desired. Pop songs often work because they connect to these desires within all of us - longing, desire, regret - and pluck painfully at those strings of sensation within our emotional hearts.

As I write this, I'm having a perfect day. It's pissing down with rain and I'm waiting around in town for an appointment. I'm sitting in the back of the van in a sanctuary near the river on the bed under a woolly blanket and writing this post. I've just eaten an entire small block of dark sugar free vegan chocolate and have got a cup of chai cooling on the side. In a minute I'm going to listen to a yoga nidra for half an hour and probably fall asleep for a bit. Then I'll go home and have a bottle of wine with my husband by the fire.

I'm happiest when life is simple. I don't ask for much. Simple things excite me - a swim in the ocean, a laugh with my family, creating, being, loving. The way a bird soars down to land on a wire. Cloud formations. That indigo blur on the ocean's horizon. A solitary leaf winding it's way to the earth. Ah, perfection. I don't like to long for the unattainable past or present - those perfect moments have been or will never be, or will come and go. Suffering comes from those desires.

One of my favourite quotes, perhaps falsely attributed to the Buddha, is this:

"When you realise how perfect everything is, you will tilt your head back and laugh at the sky"

Life is just a darn sight more perfect when you realise that everything is exactly how it should be.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

Indeed. I love finding the perfection in small, everyday moments. When I get to seeing the perfection in the chaos, I know I'm doing well. Super rare though.

Posted using Partiko Android

It does take some practice huh?

Posted using Partiko Android

No doubt. Lots of deep breaths. I hàd a teacher once who said that the only appropriate response to anything or anyone was "thank you" That's high level shit right there, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lou Reed came into my head too, you and me are so similar in some ways, loving the simple things, just seeing the beauty in what surrounds and being present to enjoy them. Loved this and love you Ms Rivers xx

So true @riverflows. Don't we at times tend to forget that we have everything we need?

Congratulations @riverflows! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 25000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 26000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Nice to hear your private thoughts alone in your van in the rain.
And nice to see this steempeak platform, I haven't used it before.
By the way I'm keen to get involved and become a member of tribesteemup, can you recommend the procedure, I believe they offer good rewards.
Many thanks.

Good thinking. We should be thankful. That is when we can find out every other positive things around us.
Thanks for your good words.

Great to have that love of life and love your realization -

Life is just a darn sight more perfect when you realise that everything is exactly how it should be.

Thank you for sharing this - I think I'll keep that perspective as I move through my day. Have that instead of striving for perfection or longing after all those perfect moments!

Perfection is often in the simplest of things. I wonder how many people have described a perfect day which was really complicated. Maybe some weddings, but really it's the company of the important people in your life which make it perfect, not all the stress leading up to it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Lou Reed was a wise man ( although he didn't know how to pronounce Sangria. I only found out just now that he sang about drinking sangria and I learnt Spanish before I really got to know this song haha ) and you are a wise woman :>)

Perfectionism makes life so complicated but it's far from easy to see everything as perfect just the way it is.

and then I read the remainder of your post and see there's not much I can say that you don't already know.

This comment is perfect just the way it is, just like you and just like me and all the others ( what wat M.J singing again? )

Um grande abraço desde Portugal

P.S. I never heard of that Australian song. It's perfect! Love it! Awesome 80s vibe! Even in 480p

How DO you pronounce sangria???

I saw Lou Reed in like... 92??

I actually thought you'd like that song... so.80s! I love it too...

Posted using Partiko Android

92! wow! that's awesome! I was hardly into music then ( being 10 or 11 ). I think I got a radio-casette player/ recorder in 1992 or 1993 :>)

For the Spanish pronounciation of sangria, go here:

https://www.spanishdict.com/pronunciation/sangria%22

make sure to click on the blue speaker next to 'sangría' written in black.

Enjoy your roadtrip xx

P.S. I have good memories to drinking sangría in the park, back in the days when I lived in Madrid ( March to June 2009 )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71