So I bumped into this video on YouTube: Atari STE + Roland D20 (midi sequencing)

in #midi7 years ago (edited)

Funny thing is I've played with both of these. I had the Atari STE when I was a kid, and my father often had the D20 on loan from his school (he was a teacher). Loved the midi capabilities of the STE. The Roland D20 was the best synth I have personally ever heard. ;)

(Found this video on YouTube while listening to piano versions of anime music.)

Later my father bought a Roland E5 and I hated it, but I did map all the midi instruments on it for the Atari, problem was the software couldn't save the mappings so I had to write them down. I still have them somewhere on paper I think. Maybe I can scan them one day and do a fun memory lane post with a musical (or technical) tangent.

Anyway, that's all for this post I guess. :)


[Previous post: One photo every day: Fetching Leo from his Piano studies. (53/365)]


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

Wonder if you have played around with LMMS. Its free and cool! Im not good at it, but I enjoy it loads!
https://lmms.io/

I think I have tried it at one point in time. Not sure if I was impressed then, but I assume it also has progressed since then. Thanks for the tip. I will probably check it out.

Very nice. We used to use an old Atari for video editing in a high school I used to teach at back in the day. Now I wish I had spent more time on it. I would like to pick one up to play with.

I did use Steinberg's Cubase A LOT. Back in the early 90's I was writing music and doing sound FX in the video game industry and had a copy of Cubase for both Mac and PC. I still have the boxes in my studio I believe.

Roland have made a lot of great products over the years. I have been eyeing a D50 at an auction recently, but didn't pull the trigger.

Keep up the great work @gamer00 Followed Cheers

do you still play musical instruments?

Recorder. I never learned piano or guitar in a way it'd be useful. But a recorder is something I can always take along with me in case I have time for practice, so I often do.

This post is all about the memory lane :) My buddy collects the old synths for years now...

btw, I have you on my auto-vote at steemvoter.com and it missed your two last posts... huh

ur father is great gamer00

@gamer00,
OMG you said, you hated "Roland E5"! :D This is the 1st time I heard someone hate "Roland E5" :D
Anyway your father is a great man! Respect!

(My voting power is still regenerating, therefore please allow me two more days to provide 100% upvotes for your posts)

Cheers~

Well for my defense I was young. ;)

But I still don't like the E5, it was IMHO a crap buy, no multi-timbral midi, no accessing or tweaking the samples, you could only add a fixed echo, sustain or reverb, and that's about it. It wasn't a real synthesizer, more like a toy in that regard.

The samples were pretty clean, but there was nothing special about them, and like I said one couldn't access them below the surface and fiddle with them.

Did I mention the midi? It wasn't a GM synth, so the patches were all over the place. One had to go through each instrument and find the corresponding channel via the sequencer on the computer. That was an arduous task. I did it once on the Atari STE and do not wish to do it again, ever. And because there wasn't any kind of multi-timbrality, like on the D20, the simultaneously playable midi channels were seriously limited.

Yeah well, other than that, it's a keyboard, you can play it. If you don't mind the unrealistic sounds and all. ;)

I thank you on behalf of my father.

@gamer00,
Ah ha now I got it! Thank you very much for the explanation!

Cheers~

I agree with @shencoin .Your father is great gamer00

you really hated Roland E5 ? :D man ?

Well after the D20 the E5 was just crap. ;)

your father must be proud of you my friend :)

😀😀😀😀

@gamer00 - Sire, You have a nice papa. God bless you Sire.

+W+ [UpVoted]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71