You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So I bumped into this video on YouTube: Atari STE + Roland D20 (midi sequencing)

in #midi7 years ago

@gamer00,
OMG you said, you hated "Roland E5"! :D This is the 1st time I heard someone hate "Roland E5" :D
Anyway your father is a great man! Respect!

(My voting power is still regenerating, therefore please allow me two more days to provide 100% upvotes for your posts)

Cheers~

Sort:  

Well for my defense I was young. ;)

But I still don't like the E5, it was IMHO a crap buy, no multi-timbral midi, no accessing or tweaking the samples, you could only add a fixed echo, sustain or reverb, and that's about it. It wasn't a real synthesizer, more like a toy in that regard.

The samples were pretty clean, but there was nothing special about them, and like I said one couldn't access them below the surface and fiddle with them.

Did I mention the midi? It wasn't a GM synth, so the patches were all over the place. One had to go through each instrument and find the corresponding channel via the sequencer on the computer. That was an arduous task. I did it once on the Atari STE and do not wish to do it again, ever. And because there wasn't any kind of multi-timbrality, like on the D20, the simultaneously playable midi channels were seriously limited.

Yeah well, other than that, it's a keyboard, you can play it. If you don't mind the unrealistic sounds and all. ;)

I thank you on behalf of my father.

@gamer00,
Ah ha now I got it! Thank you very much for the explanation!

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66205.77
ETH 3304.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72