Moving to a new country can really change you!

in #mexico8 years ago

Here are 9 ways I've changed since moving to Mexico!

1. I actively use four currencies.

Two fiat (Dollars and Pesos), and two crypto (Bitcoin and Steem). Regarding the cryptocurrencies, I bumble around exchanges and wallets, with barely half a clue as to what I'm doing! I have managed successful transactions, but it does not yet come quickly to me. My need for more crypto-literacy is strong, so I'm excited to have recently started Nexxus University's online training. If you are newish to all of this, like I am, you might benefit from the introductory courses they offer:

  • Cryptocurrency Enlightenment
  • The History of Money
  • The Bitcoin Solution
  • Understanding Cryptocurrency

I love the accessible presentation, and the obvious (and contagious) passion for cryptocurrency that's laced throughout the content and platform. I'm just an hour in, and I already better understand how central banks screw us personally. And how cryptocurrency subverts that. It's not crystal clear to me yet, of course, but I am coming to the topic with very little previous knowledge. Once I've completed all the courses, I'll write a review. (Thanks for the intro, Kelly!)

2. I'm starting to think in two languages.

Pero mi Español tiene un largo camino por recorrer!

As a fulltime+ freelancer, I still struggle with a bit of time-scarcity, which eats into chances for active language study. But I've got to squash that, so I'm proactively befriending locals -- especially bilingual locals. And am also slowly working through The Michele Thomas Method which appeals to me because of Thomas' emphasis on relaxed learning. He believes language is to be absorbed and internalized, not rotely memorized. (Thanks for the intro, Jen!)

3. I'm more physically active now, even though I don't go to the gym.

While it is too hot and humid for some, I find the weather extremely pleasant. And because I feel really good while out in it, I walk to 90% of my destinations. I allow for extra time, and use a backpack to schlep groceries and other items. Care is needed, however, as some sidewalks can be very narrow!

But the main street, Costera, is plenty wide, and always has lots of activity.

Of course, there's no people in these shots, but that's just a weird fluke.

Putting so many steps all over the ground here (almost always in flip-flops!) makes me feel that much more connected to it... able to take in scents and sounds. Have encounters with wildlife, both flora and fauna. Engage with vendors, and just random people trying to figure out where I'm from (the hair, lol). The sometimes steep hills challenge my lungs and quads, and have made me stronger. It's satisfying to enjoy natural, practical exercise like this. Treadmills make zero sense to me. I prefer having real places to go, lol.

4. I find sunsets here, a special event.


Every.


Single.


One.

When I'm out with others, and the sun starts to set, I notice its calming effect on us. Even during the most riveting conversation, there are plenty of hushed pauses to gaze, and appreciate what Anais Nin nailed:

"Acapulco in the sunset seems like a balm; it enters the blood like a drug after one inhalation of the scent of flowers, one glimpse of the bay iridescent like silk, the sunset like the inside of a shell, so much like the flesh of Venus."

5. As often as possible, I sunbathe nude.

For the first time ever, I have access to a private rooftop, and I take advantage of it when I can. (Thanks, Cristina!) I never believed the warnings that incite fear and suspicion against the sun. How about examining the toxic stuff (hello, aluminum) that's loaded into those goopy sunscreens that MELT INTO the open pores of our largest eliminating organ? Isn't it more feasible that THAT's the cause of skin cancer, moreso than a moderate intake of sunlight at safe hours (when UV is lowest)? In fact, according to a group of right-minded physicians, "Humans spend less time in the sun today than at any point in human history – which is why more than 1 billion people worldwide are vitamin D deficient."

We are so similar to plants. Not only do we synthesize the sun, as they do. But our hemoglobin, and their chlorophyl is only one molecule different!

So yeah, I do like my plant brothers and sisters, and soak up solar love whenever possible. The beaming rays on my skin feels so right... so invigorating, that I viscerally know it is beneficial and nourishing for my body. I am FED.

This reminds me, now, of a related practice I used to do on the Chicago lakefront, called sungazing. Should I resume it here in Acapulco, I'll write about it.

It's controversial, and counters the anti-sun propaganda, which is plentiful. During the weeks that I sungazed daily, and allowed safe sunlight (which shines within 1 hour of sunrise or sunset) to hit the back of my skull through my pupils, I experienced incredible wellbeing that's very hard to describe. In fact, it struck me as odd that simply meditating on a star, letting light in (literally), could make me feel so profoundly okay. As I write this, I realize I'd very much like to have those early morning meetings again (thanks, blogging!). If anyone reading has tried sungazing, I'd love to hear about your experience.

6. I enjoy a social life that is built on shared principles and passions. How cool is that?

I really hope we'll start taking and sharing more group photos, because to see us, is to love us... especially all piled up in the back of John and Lily's pickup! :-)

7. The last 3 months, I have lived without windows!

I do have screens, though :-)

I so quickly got used to it, that I was only reminded it's a little different being windowless by the recent reaction of others. The climate is so mild that windows truly aren't needed! Not if you're into la brisa, like I am. (Have not operated an air conditioner once since being here, aside from hotel rooms that had no fans. Fans ARE needed.) Because so much greenery surrounds my place (aren't those Birds of Paradise outside huge?!), it's naturally cooler all the time.

8. The last 7 months, I have lived without a TV.

I don't even realize it's absence, until the rare occasions I see one on. And then I immediately feel its suck-pull effect so strongly... having been utterly away from it. It would be nice to see some good movies on a screen larger than my laptop, though!

I have also been without nearly all of my personal possessions. I miss certain creature comforts, like my Himalayan salt lamp (makes the prettiest glow!), djembe, dehydrator, Vitamix. I'll get them, and appreciate them all the more when I do! But minimalism and living simply is what I've ALWAYS wanted... and now have.

9. Being out of integrity with myself is no longer an option. I just can't.

There have been times where, socially and professionally, I could have gotten "further" (and where is that, exactly?) by playing along with something I really wasn't down with. But at the cost of feeling very unwell. Becoming more of an integrated/non-fragmented person, makes it hard to be in conflict with yourself. And how wonderful is that?!

I'm curious... have you had anything shake up your status quo, and bring about big change in you/your life?


Hey, I'm Erika... enjoying life in Acapulco, via jazzy and (let's be honest, murderous) Chicago. I am currently conducting an experiment with my life... which is living from my imagination. I am happy to report it is working out fabulously! If you want to keep up with an oddly flavored thing like that, add me to your feed: @erikaharris. Your time and attention is precious, so thanks for sharing a lil' of it with me. And if YOU feel in need of some attention, do consider my Lavish Listening service.

Sort:  

Nearly every one of these applies to me and many people who live in the western U.S., especially Arizona here. It's why I LOVE my life here. So much that Mexico has to offer is offered in the U.S. too but many just do not know it.

One thing I do appreciate is the ability to immerse yourself in a language you do not know. It's one reason I think a month in Mexico would be fun to do someday even if my favorite place will always be the wild and open Arizona mountains. I would love to see how fast I can have my spanish down. Just a week there was awesome for Anarchapulco, I was using basic Spanish so fast.

Haha, why doesn't it surprise me that you were a quick-study at Spanish, @dragonanarchist? :-)

I have to thank you for opening my eyes to the stunning beauty of the Arizona mountains. The post and pictures where you featured your home area took my breath away. And heat-lover that I am, I have always enjoyed my times in Phoenix and Scottsdale. I even had a thing going for deserts for awhile... I guess anyone who feels peace at home, is winning.

Well, that was a pretty awesome and nourishing read. I actually feel better just having read and felt that post inside me, sounds weird but I think you get it and so do many of us on Steemit for the right reasons. Resteemed and upvoted. Ty very much!

hey @barrydutton, you are absolutely right that i get it, and i think it's very cool that you felt this post like you did. thanks for letting me know that! and also for resteeming and upvoting. i appreciate your support :-)

Erika, seeing your post and Jeff sharing it also --- has allowed your post to positively affect a lot of people I have noticed. I felt a little something shift inside me reading it and for the last 2 days, have noticed it inside me. I know I am not the only one. I think that is a sign it is great "content" and so much more. (:

I don't think I'll be quite so warm or relaxed as you are in Mexico , but I'll be moving to Bogotá soon. Your article reminded me of the positives of moving somewhere new and stopped me stressing about it so much.

Pero mi espanol es muy malo ahora. Necesito suerte!

Que bueno, @loops! I wish you the best move to Bogota. And, yes, leave that stress behind... there are so many positives awaiting you :-)

You are doing amazing life things. I'm happy for you!

Y'know what just came to mind? How, about a year ago, I randomly/anonymously hit you up on Facebook for pointers about Anarchapulco. Man, @lesliestarrohara, you took such time, and were so thorough and caring with your answers... and now look!! You were one of the first to water my little seed-dream... even though I had no idea at the time it would sprout into a full-blown move! Muchas, muchas gracias, amiga.

De nada. I have a knack for spotting awesome people in the first encounter. When I find one, I try to connect as soon as possible. It works with cats, too. ;)

Michele Thomas is a wonderful teacher. I've started to learn Spanish, slowly but getting there. A lot of these points I can relate to, especially no TV. 12 months now. I don't fear the sun, glad to hear you don't either. A very nice read, I enjoyed it.

@naquoya, look at all that resonance. que bueno! y gracias :-)

I either embrace (or am prepared to embrace) all of these except #7. I'm too popular with mosquitoes.

Very cool. Yes, they would surely embrace you, @lensessions! And tear your ankles to smithereens... as they do all ankles :-)

Great post. Thanks so much for sharing. Following you now!

I really appreciate that, @kafkanarchy84 :-) Thanks!

Good article very educational and interesting. Like the links included for the courses.

Happy to hear that, @kdabove :-)Thanks!

I really enjoyed reading your journey and it's great to hear that you are enjoying it. Thanks for sharing. It takes courage and faith to make such a shift, but these neccessary transitions are often born from insights to a more meaningful purpose; something I've been only too aware of lately. After reading your experience, it is evident once again that the rewards of such moves are abundant to all who go for it.

In fact, this really resonated with me becuase I'm currently at the precipice of leaping into a whole new lease of life, well away from my London home, and as distanced from it's poisons as possible; most notably the weather, the pollution and the rhythm of city life that is so dissonant with nature.

All I'll be taking with me is my mini ukulele sized guitar, my travel water filter and my phone/laptop. I really don't need anything else. The rest I'll just pick up along the way if and when I need it. The future is an open ended adventure as far as I'm concerned. One laced with sunshine, music, nature, culture and beauty :)

I look forward to hearing more about your travels, and sharing my own, once I hit the road!

@yogi.artist, i thoroughly relate to the reasons driving you from London. those are the same challenges i faced in chicago, though i LOVE that city! and while acapulco is also a city, with traffic and concrete and not enough (imo) green spaces... it's a far better fit for my temperament and sensibilities. can you share where you're considering heading to? am intrigued! :-) wishing you the very best with your leap. excited for what unfolds...

I'm not hating on London, after all, it has been my home for 37 years and I have a beautiful family and many happy memories here, however, my values, outlook and aspirations have drastically changed from what they once were, and as a result, I've found myself in an environment that isn't particularly conducive to my development, happiness, health and wellbeing.

In terms of where I'm heading? - I'm looking towards Bali/Indonesia, Vietnam, Thailand and possibly Cambodia/S.E Asia so far. Maybe I'll find somewhere that I want to settle down in, or maybe I'll keep moving, heading to the next destination, which I'll figure out once I get going. I would really love to travel to South America too - Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Mexico. Hopefully this will also be possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44