You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Too much hair, too much technical, you're losing touch with the soul... Grunge Rock[Metal Tree:14]

in #metaltree7 years ago

I keep hearing that Grunge is supposed to have filled some void left by Metal. If that's true, I'm sadly disappointed. I'm not sure if Rage Against the Machine qualifies as Grunge or not (I hope not, I really like their music). Other than that I can't stand it. Great Post! (terrible music) Upvoted!

Sort:  

It didn't fill the void, as there was never really a void. Certain sub-genres become more popular than others, but for example Thrash remains...

So it is musical chairs on who is the most popular at a given time.

For awhile that was grunge for SOME people... it wasn't my thing either. Like I said "Smells like teen spirit" is a simple box pattern on the guitar... super easy to play... catchy=yes, but mind blowing=no... especially if you play guitar like you and I do.

What I really liked about Rage was the guitar...Tommy Morello rocked!

Grunge... I remember I was practicing on my guitar something and someone came and said "here is how you play smells like teen spirit"... they crank out a 4 position box pattern of bar chords for the main riff, and then you can essentially just arpeggiate those same chords to achieve the rest. I just shook my head. I had said they reminded me of a garage band who just happened to have better equipment, and I still thing that is the case.

I'm with you...it's just junk! The only legitimate Grunge guitarist I ever heard was Tommy Morello.

I'm with you...it's just junk! The only legitimate Grunge guitarist I ever heard was Tommy Morello.

I've seen the guitarist for Alice in Chains, Jerry Cantrell I think (didn't go google it) tear it up before. He did open for Megadeth, Testament, and Anthrax. They did quite well.

There are some skilled musicians hiding in Grunge, but there are also some not so skilled.

Bass player for Nirvana was very unskilled. I remember people making jokes about some of his playing, and it is not like the bass lines are difficult in Nirvana. That's what gave us the garage band with really good equipment vibe.

I agree! One of the better bassists I've heard is a woman- Sean Yseult from White Zombie...Their guitarist was pretty good too J. Yuenger.

Also... Grunge is metal. It has all the requirements. It is heavily distorted, and uses quite a bit of drum action. It is just a sub-genre of metal that I never got into. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64269.87
ETH 3393.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48