Versions of Hurt... A guy named Johnny sells some Nine Inch Nails for Cash and receives some Sevendust

in #hurt8 years ago

This is hopefully a short post honoring the song Hurt that is originally by Nine Inch Nails, but has also been done so excellently by Johnny Cash. In fact the Johnny Cash version is so moving that Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails now considers it Johnny Cash's song.

I've encountered at least one other artist doing this song as well. My wife and I have discussed this song quite a number of times so I thought I might make a post for her. I'd like to explore and see where this song has gone.

Original: Nine Inch Nails




I hurt myself today
To see if I still feel
I focus on the pain
The only thing that's real
The needle tears a hole
The old familiar sting
Try to kill it all away
But I remember everything

What have I become?
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
Goes away in the end
You could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt

I wear this crown of shit
Upon my liar's chair
Full of broken thoughts
I cannot repair
Beneath the stains of time
The feelings disappear
You are someone else
I am still right here

What have I become?
My sweetest friend
Everyone I know
Goes away in the end

You could have it all
My empire of dirt
I will let you down
I will make you hurt
If I could start again
A million miles away
I would keep myself
I would find a way

Johnny Cash Version


Trent Reznor on the Johnny Cash Version


Sevendust Version


Eddie Vedder Version


Gregorian Version



Leona Lewis Version



2Cellos Version


Hundredth Version


La Femme Verte Version



Steem On!




Sort:  

One of my favorite songs, and I love that it only seems to get better when people record it in their own styles. I remember the day I first heard the Johnny Cash version, back when MTV had music. I was speechless and after I watched that entire video, I got my happy little ass on my dial up internet connection and bootlegged it from Limewire or whatever P2P was going on at that point. I don't encourage stealing music, it's free enough now anyway, but it was so powerful and I didn't have the means to actually buy the song/album back then. I must have listened to the Cash version a thousand times and still do from time to time. So raw and guttural it just scratches at your emotions. I knew he was going to die soon when I listened to him singing that song, I don't know if I'm the only person that felt that, but I never felt that from NIN performing it.

I think Cash version is definitely the best and most emotional performance. It seems Trent Reznor agrees on that point too.

I did not know Eddie sang this song...I thought I knew every song ever sung by him! Thanks for this post, it's awesome! I don't think we've met, but your name is familiar :) @dreemit on steemit, writer of fictional stories and novels and learning to blog about real things, lover of music and trying to get my incredibly talented singer/songwriter brother on the platform, nice to meet you :) Going to check out your blog now

I am mostly known by the few people who know me for game development stuff. :) Some Neverwinter Nights fame, and such.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.25 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I absolutely love NIN and Johnny Cash, so you can imagine how much I have enjoyed the JC cover. But I didn't realize all those others had covered Hurt also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34