Black Album by Metallica: get ready for an unpopular opinion

in #metal6 years ago

I realize that this is Metallica's best selling, most remembered, and most revered album. However, there is a rather large group of individuals out there that kind of disagree with the prevailing opinion. I happen to be one of those people.

cover_blackalbum_lg.jpg

I remember like it was yesterday. It was late July, 1991 and myself a group of metal fans were absolutely elated when MTV (which was still a relevant station in 1991) announced that Metallica was going to release it's first video in many years at midnight on July 29th. I was quite young so it was not easy to convince my parents to let me go over to my friends's house past midnight to watch this with my pals. Believe it or not, we didn't actually like drinking or drugs so my parents were worried for no reason, but they had no reason to believe that was the case because every kid says that. In my case it just happened to be true.

Anyway, we were there, snacks in hand, counting the hours down before one of our favorite bands released their first track from their new album entitled "Enter Sandman." 12 midnight struck, the video started, and all of us were silent, taking in Metallica for the first time in 3 years.

We hated it.

sandman.jpg
i was no doubt, forced to go to sleep shortly thereafter

It wasn't that that song wasn't good or that the video was bad. The problem was that it wasn't Metallica. When I hear about people that love the black album, they more often than not, were not fans of the previous albums or even knew who Metallica was.

There is no doubt in my mind that from a business perspective, them toning down their music to suit a more mainstream audience made a WHOLE LOTTA sense from a money-making perspective as it sold more than 16 million copies in the USA alone which is more than the previous two albums combined. This was also the first time that Metallica had engaged an audience on a worldwide scale.

Previously they were one of the most popular metal bands, now they were one of the most popular bands period. Tours became massive money-makers and merchandising went through the roof. However, this came at a cost. Nearly everyone I know who was previously a Metallica fan no longer was. Why?

Well, we appreciated Metallica for being much harder than this. This was a watered down version of the Metallica that we had grown to love and appreciate. The biggest disappointment for myself and many others was it seems as though Lars Ulrich was replaced by someone else. Was he told to step it down 10 notches? He used to be awe inspiring but now he was boring.

Johnathan Gold from the Los Angeles Times said
While Metallica has embraced pop sensibilities quite well, the group is no longer in love with the possibilities of its sound


I believe that this was sort of the beginning of the end for Metallica as well, they released album after album, each less memorable than the previous following the black album and ultimately hitting rock bottom with St. Anger, which is the worst album by them and perhaps anyone else too.

220px-Metallica_-_St._Anger_cover.jpg
just seeing this makes me St. angry

They tried to make a comeback in 2016 with Hardwired....to Self-Destruct, but I think they were still being punished for St. Anger at that point because it sold even fewer copies than any of their previous 8 albums.

I'm certain a lot of this figure can be attributed to piracy, but if you were a fan over the years and disagree with me, i would be interested in hearing what you have to say. For me, and really any metal fan i knew in the 80's / 90's, the Black Album was a massive letdown.

review score intentionally withheld

Sort:  

So I don't know if I'm a poser or not, but my favorite Metallica album was this one:

Metallica_-_...And_Justice_for_All_cover.jpg

I was never a huge hardcore metal aficionado, but this album had some jams on it. I remember some dude had given me some weed that was laced with some sparkly shit that I still have no idea what it was. I got really messed up and started tripping balls. That just so happened to be the exact moment that the video for "One" came out.

To this day I can't watch that video, or hear the song without having some kind of weird subtle anxiety attack. But oddly I like it.

from a song perspective this is also my favorite album, it just wasn't produced very well. There are some conspiracy theories out there that the bass was intentionally kept low because the band wanted Cliff Burton to be in the band but well, since he was dead this was not a possibility. Jason Newsted apparently had to suffer quite a lot of abuse, including having the bass turned down so low on the recording that it is barely audible.

Anyway, that was longer a response then you were looking for I am sure. Justice is a fantastic album. I wish they would remaster and re-release it rather than trying to make a new album.

"One" was a fantastic video / song although I didn't have your specific reasons for liking it! haha

dude! I'm so glad to know that about the production quality. Well, not glad that it was crap, but glad to know that there was a reason.

It's something that has always bothered me about it. Every time I put the headphones on and prepare to jam, I'm left underwhelmed by the bass. I'm always thinking, man these songs are epic, but with all that energy there is very little thump to it.

But didn't this issue continue on to the Black album? I feel like I remember feeling the same anticlimactic sensation with songs like Enter Sandman. Like it sounds like it should really bump, but something is wrong in the mix.

It was a different producer, so i don't think so, but i'm not sure. I almost never revisit the black album's songs :)

Your opinion it's not as unpopular as you think with time a lot of people have come to that conclusion. For example, I like this album but because I spend time learning to like it, at first I completely rejected it, like "Load" and "Reload" but I started to enjoy it after I took it like a new Metallica, getting my head out of the glorious first four records, that way I was able to see it as something else, but hey, this is just what I did, I respect everyone who feels that the "The Black Album" is a huge let down, because in many ways it is.

The best thing this record has for me it's that wall of sound, it's a brilliant production from Bob Rock, I think that helps me enjoy it a little more. Can you imagine "Ride The Lightning" with the production of this record? pfff, makes my head explode hahaha. Very good review, you earned yourself a new follower. Cheers!

fantastic follow-up! I would love to hear all of their older stuff remastered, but I wonder if that would make any difference.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Informative and initiative content

Posted using Partiko Android

Remember when Lars ruined Napster? Unforgiven.

Hi there!
My top five Albums
1 Master of Puppets
2 Kill 'Em All
3 Ride the Lightning
4 And Justice For All
5 Black Album

Hiii...gooddream

Great Post with Great Information

Steem Flag Rewards mention comment has been approved! Thank you for reporting this abuse, @steemseph categorized as comment spam. This post was submitted via our Discord Community channel. Check us out on the following link!
SFR Discord

Want to delegate to Steem Blockchain Moderation? Here are some handy links!

50 SP,100 SP,500 SP,1000 SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60836.17
ETH 2567.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57