Eyes Wide Open .... in shock

in #mene24k6 years ago (edited)

F1CEC8B0-F046-4BB9-A4BB-45ACB7BD1397.jpeg
Source : new line cinema

^(To read my post on One ring from Lord of the Rings: https://steemit.com/lotr/@goldmatters/one-ring-to-rule-them-all-one-ring-from-lotr-vs-mene-24k-ring)

Today I had an eye opening experience.

Perhaps it could more accurately be described as an eye widening experience.

I went on a mission to to find a 14k gold (or as I like to call it a 42% Not Gold ring). My plan was to buy it... so that I could destroy it! More on that in an upcoming post.

I ended up going to several different stores with this mission in mind:

EACA0ED5-8F5C-4B9B-914F-D618C12ABFBF.jpeg

The results were rather shocking... even for me.

The first shock came as I asked for assistance in a major retailer in locating a plain yellow 42% Not Gold ring. I was told that I would have to visit the “Fine Gold” section.

FINE GOLD??

42% Not Gold is now considered “fine gold?”

This made me want to understand what the unfine gold was. This was my 2nd shock.

I was shocked to find out how much 10k gold is being sold. 10k is 58% Not Gold.... rounded up!! So a 10k gold ring is a pathetic 42% gold, with the rest being alloys and other metals.

And it looks terrible.

D79AA5D3-60F9-4AA1-8F8D-A4D9DD572410.jpeg

The 3rd shock of the day was how low quality and thin these rings actually are. I can’t wait to get one on a scale - that is coming soon for Steemians.

The 4th shock was the insane mark up on 58% Not Gold rings.

It is important to note that there is no formidable brand or design associated with these generic gold bands. So we cannot attribute any of the mark up to brand recognition.

Holding these weak sauce rings in my hand, I cannot fathom that they weigh more than a couple grams at best, so the next three or four hundred dollars on the price tag are for.....?

It makes me question what the general understanding is of:

8D0E9CBC-CFDD-43D7-BE50-D7F169F41C55.jpeg

The marketing tactics were also atrocious. One of these rings literally was marked as $1,000.... but wait - we are getting a 50% discount!

I started losing track of the shocks after a nice but uninformed sales lady told me:

“10k gold is actually better than 14k gold because it is stronger, and no one can tell the difference anyways.”

But I REALLY started to experience shortness of breath and a full blown panic attack set in when at the next store a young salesman asked me:

“I think we are off the gold standard.... right?”

I didn’t have the heart to tell him that it has been 47 years since the last vestiges of any type of linking to gold had been dropped from US currency.

I couldn’t get home fast enough to take a shower.

I then Smeagoled my Menē 24 karat gold ring and felt instant relif.

Every time I closed my eyes and saw this:

D331ECCE-0491-457A-9275-E3DA722DE5F3.jpeg

I opened them and saw this:

6321A606-18D3-443E-9CEF-69544E45BDF3.jpeg

And this:

A59CE361-EED7-41ED-8F5A-44937E6EBE48.jpeg

There is absolutely no comparison between a 10 or even 14 karat “gold” ring and a Menē 24 karat gold ring. The color, the purity, the weight, it’s a landslide victory for Menē.

C6E1C28F-A6CC-4647-A589-B7CD199ECBF6.jpeg

My Menē ring has a cost basis of $423.51 USD. This is a much lower price than nearly all of the low quality Not Gold jewelry I looked at today.

When I recover from this traumatic experience, I will be reporting more on that 14k (or 42% Not Gold) ring!

Thanks for reading everyone!

Goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

BC0FA55A-C624-4F64-AB13-B5BCB0F9EA34.jpeg

Menē crafts 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry™ that is transparently sold by gram weight. By combining innovative technology with timeless design, Menē restores the ancient tradition of jewelry as a store of enduring value.

To find out more about what Menē 24 karat gold and platinum investment jewelry is from your fellow Steemians :
https://steemit.com/steemit/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-is-mene24k-35-well-researched-blog-style-essays-contest-winners
Or
https://steemit.com/mene24k/@goldmatters/what-is-mene-24-karat-platinum-and-gold-jewelry-valentine-s-day-gift-winner

To find out more about what Goldmoney is from your fellow Steemians : https://steemit.com/contest/@goldmatters/what-in-the-world-s-goldmoney-winners

To sign up for a Goldmoney Holding start here: https://www.goldmoney.com/w/goldmatters

For Menē 24k investment jewelry here: http://Mene.com/invite/JrT26p

I am on a personal mission to spread the word about Goldmoney and Menē through any means necessary. Goldmoney allows individuals to empower themselves by protecting their savings by owning small or large amounts gold previously inaccessible to regular people like you and me.

All images sourced from Menē and Goldmoney.

Read more about Goldmoney: https://steemit.com/@goldmatters

Sort:  

24 karat is purest form of gold ..nothing is better than if we get 24 karat gold in jewelry form..it is very difficult to find 24 karat jewelry in my country ...because 24 karat jewelry is given to gold investers in form of coins.. This is best part i like about mene is that they are providing purest 24 karat gold jewelry to their buyers.

That is true! 24k gold is very uncommon in the west but very common in the east. Glad you enjoy it!

You make a strong case sir. The lack of understanding surrounding: gold purity (karat), the gold standard (extinct since 1971), the actual objective, true store of wealth in the world now and since forever (Gold), and the rapacious machine that has no regard for social consequences (central banks), makes me want to return speedily to the ol’ loot pile, and lay a hand on the wealth and the wisdom of the ages.

Cheers GM!

Well said!!

You don’t have to be a chemist or a jeweler to see clearly what’s what. Even to a naked eye it’s easy to see how different the real gold looks from all the fakes. Despite all the marketing tricks and the salespersons’ lies. The gold is gold and one cannot bend the laws of physics.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.

Loading...

Honestly didn't know retailers were doing that now. Knew obviously of different carat grades etc but not all the added stuff which is actually diluting your gold content. Obviously one would choose Mene if you knew as there stuff looks really good.

Its crazy how bad it is. Check out the site when you have a chance . I have an invite link above. Mene prices its gold by weight. The design fee never exceeds 20%. You will never find that anywhere else, espeically with such high quality designers such as Diana Picasso, Pablo Picasso’s grand daughter!

Surely there should be a law out to prevent this stuff from happening. Carat was the symbol for purity and quality of the gold. 24 being pure and then on a sliding scale. Know of 18 carat but 10 carat shouldn't be called gold as it is not the majority any more. I just think the masses are so badly educated now you could sell them anything.

Will check them out. Thank you.

Interesting information. I shall check them out!

Awesome! If you decide to pick something up make sure to link me to the unboxing :) is

Yeah, I love this earring and a couple of rings. So very pretty! I will have to pick those up in May. My precious metal budget for April have already been designated for hand poured silver.

Excellent :) keep me updated

If i had to buy a gold jewellery then i will definitely choose Menē 24 karat gold.Because it's pure.Is there any Menē 24 karat gold shop near brooklyn in new york?My younger sister lives there,i would suggest her to buy Menē 24 karat gold.I just wanna contribute in your mission.Thank's for the post.

Thank you. Menē is sold online only. I appreciate your interest!

Thank you for this information.

How can people that are not in USA get #mene24karat if makes enquiries?
Happy New/Esther week @goldmatters.

Please e mail : [email protected] with customer service questions

I live in Canada. Will Mene send me gold in such a way that Canadian Customs will not tax me heavily?

Thanks for your interest! The best place to ask a question like this is [email protected] OR check out the live chat: https://mene.com/customer-service

Thank you very much. I will try the service.

Awesome! If you end up buying something, make sure to do an unboxing post and link me so I can support you :)

It is really a traumatic experience, thank God for the goodies in Menē.

Those poor sales people. They are more than likely clueless as to what they sell. Can't wait to see the results from this.

Right! It was really bad! Thanks for following along :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43