Washing Dirty Dishes as a Form of MeditationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #meditation7 years ago

Meditation is binary. On / Off. Either you're present or you're not.

No More Excuses!

Peace,
dan-atstarlite

Sort:  

I am learning mindfulness meditation as prescribed by rheumatoloigst to help with my chronic pain

Cool, have you tried binaural beats? They can be very helpful too. I recommended them to a friend recently who was dealing with chronic pain and he told me that they made a significant difference.

No I have never heard of it, I'm new to this :)

Great insight, I never thought about it. Thanks @dan-atstarlite

Very insightful @dan-atstarlite, will give it a try. I'm a lousy cook, but I never mind cleaning up and doing the dishes! Resteemed.

Same. Can't cook worth beans. Doing dishes is my only way to contribute lol

Thank you Dan. I appreciated this encouragement.
I have found myself cleaning the dishes at friends houses. They object at first but don't fight too much. I always feel better knowing they have one less thing to stress about. Your discussion on being present is a good reminder for everyone. We continue to share that message within #iMPROV rehearsals, shows, and ensembles. Thank you for steemit-health. Just subbed you on the Youtubes. Cheers!

I love improv! I used to study at The Second City in Toronto... It was maybe one of my favorite things ever and so important to be in the moment. I didn't really know what "stage presence" meant until I learned how to meditate. Thanks for your comment!

I sometimes clean for meditation but I hate doing dishes. The feeling of the food getting under my nails, thinking of all those germs...I don't know, it's just too messy. But I don't mind doing anything else, sweeping is actually very relaxing.

I used to work in restaurants... guess I'm desensitized lol

You might have saved my girlfriend from my bad mood!

I can not tell you how helpful this was. I always feel like I do not have enough time to take care of the wellbeing of my mind. My days are very busy and I constantly seem to think at least 3 thoughts at a time. Sometimes I feel bad for not taking a moment to step back and calm myself. But I actually do not need to do that when I do one thing at a time and be fully present with that task. Thank you so very much!

I'm really glad you found it helpful! Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44