Just Breathe - Especially in the Thick of It

in #meditate8 years ago (edited)

I finally settled into a regular meditation practice earlier this year. I had tried on and off for years, but finally I committed to trying it for 30 days straight back in February and this time it really stuck as a daily habit. I loved my practice and I could feel the benefits like lower stress, feeling less reactive to stress triggers, more awareness of my breathing throughout the day. 

But lately, I've lost it. :( 

Lots of new work popped up for me last month thanks to the fact that we are being audited. Yes...an IRS audit is as fun as you would imagine. 

In my head I tell myself lately "you don't have time to sit silently! Get to your desk and get to work!" But I can feel the difference since I've not been practicing meditation lately. I can feel my increased stress level and I miss the comfort, routine, and benefits of my practice!

My husband/partner/hero/leader (one title just doesn't suffice for what He means to me) meditates most days in the shower, and so I thought I'd give that a try. So I did it, I meditated, yesterday and today in the shower. I didn't even sit down, but just standing there in the warm water with eyes closed. Breathing deeply. Something very simple that I won't resist to get me back into the habit.  

Yesterday it went very well and I felt better.  Today, I consciously chose to meditate in the middle of my shower time.  After shampoo and conditioner and before body soap and shaving >> in the middle of my shower, in the middle of my morning, and in the middle of everything else I "need" to be doing <<that's when I'm now choosing to meditate. 

You see I used to try and meditate in the morning, before the day gets hectic and busy. Then I thought, no, I should meditate at the end of the day after the busyness has passed and things slow down. 

But now I get it! 

The very most challenging time to meditate, and potentially the most beneficial, is right in the thick of it! 

That is what I want to practice after all...even with chaos all around me I want to practice taking a few moments and drop away from the mental chatter, the to do lists...and just be. 

Just breathe. 

Not because it's morning and my day hasn't become hectic yet, and not because it's evening and I have all of my work done, but just to be in the middle of it all - and still remember to breathe. I'm really grateful to return to this practice.  

(photo credits - this is me/taken by @sean-king)

Sort:  

My favourite place for meditation is in the shower as well. I find the white noise of the water and the steam very tranquil.

It is nice, I agree! I used to practice hiden away in my big closet in the dark earlier in the morning time. But then I had to remember to take the time to do it. I like the improved chance of regularity in meditating in the middle of my daily shower. Happy meditating to you. :)

Awesome revelation for you! Well said, in the thick of it is when I find I need to take that deep breathe, step back and observe instead of reacting. My stress levels have dropped immensely. Great post!

Thank you so much. I'm glad to know you can relate.

Like the code of a martial artist, strife is the best time for control... nice piece @steemed-open

Oooh... I like that saying. Thanks so much for commenting and commending.

I find it hard to stick with meditation on my own but I might try the shower thing:)

Please do and let me know how it goes for you. :)

OK will do. Just have to remember to do it lol:)

Wow, u are so fit. I need to start excercising and do yoga. You talked about me being adopted and you have a daughter adopted from Korea. Are you a single mother? Just curious since I did not see any post about him. Upvoted.

I'm Not a single mother. I think I mentioned my man in this post here. He is my photographer. Never too late to start yoga! It has changed my life. Do try. :) and thank you for the upvote!

This post hits home. Breathing is so very important. Breathe work has been stressed to me numerous times in my life but I've never just stuck to it. Something always seems more important at the time. Inspired once more. By the way, I'm going to strive to achieve the middle picture pose daily until I can do it. Great pic. Enjoyed.

So glad it resonates with you. It's hard for me to stick with it as well, but I do feel the results and I'm committed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65