The Earthy Loveliness of Vegetables: The Medicinal Cooking Challenge

in #medicinal-cooking6 years ago (edited)

I must have stared at the ingredients list for @ecotrain's amazing medicinal challenge about twenty minutes tonight, wondering how I was going to put something together. My heart has not been in cooking of late, which is unusual for me. Perhaps it's because it's winter, and I'm seasonally affected, or that I'm just trying to stay afloat whilst going through a few things. But tonight, this list of ingredients piqued my interest and as I shuffled them around in my head in various orders, and considered what I had to hand, I started to feel that delight of creativity creep in.

Here's the list of liver lovely foods provided by @eco-alex:

Blueberries and other blue fruits such as Black Raspberries and Blackberries, Blackcurrants, Juniper, Most Beans and Legumes, Lemon/Lime, Grapes, Plum, Date, Pomegranate, Jasmine, Aloe Vera, Marjoram, Clove, Liquorice, Nettle, Parsley, Caraway, Rosemary, Walnut, Chestnut, Coconut water, Cashew nuts, Celery, Watercress, Potato, Asparagus, Aubergine, Beetroot, Agar, Seaweed, Kelp, Quinoa, Oats, Pumpkin Seed, Wild Rice, Millet, Shoyu, Soya Sauce, Black Olives, and Soybean.


@eco-alex writes:

"The Water element which is associated with the Kidneys and Bladder and resonates with the energy of the winter, wisdom and contemplation and the vastness of the ocean. The Water element is associated with the colour blue and black, a salty flavour, and the feelings of fear. When the kidneys are out of balance they can be helped by eating foods that embody these traits, and help you to restore balance to the body. These days many people are dehydrated and have stressed kidneys due to excessive sugary, caffeine, and alcoholic drinks. Most people also don’t drink enough water during the day"

Well, I don't need to worry about that - I drink lots of water. Jamie's more of a problem, though, and I'm constantly putting a glass of water in his hand and making him drink it. He protests that he drinks tea, and that's enough. That's the Englishman in him. It's worse, because it's winter here, and he just doesn't think to do it. Thankgod he's got me to get some decent nutrition in him, or he'd survive off that other English cuisine, baked beans.

I envy the northern hemisphere's glut of blue berry fruits, and rue not making pomegranate syrup, like I'd planned (a beautiful middle eastern touch which would have been lovely with dates and walnuts in a kind of pilaf). But what I did have was preserved olives and lacto fermented lemons. I was listening to @mountainjewel's permaculture podcast today and was loving what they were saying about storing energy, and these were two things I managed to store at least when we had a glut. Most legumes are out for us due to Jamie's intolerance, and I had no heart to make a sweet (I was thinking a raw sweet with cashew nuts and berries and pomegranate would be gorgeous, with a date and quinoa base).


Fotor_153371667036939.jpg

It's freezing here, but walking through the garden on dark has it's rewards. The funny thing is that when you're steeming, and it's nearly dark, you gotta take photos fast, so I grabbed what I could and set to it. Thank god it's parsley season - I love parsley, and it reminds me of my German Nana, who put tons of it in everything. I'm also bleeding at the moment, so the added iron can't hurt. Thinking of Nana, I also thought of caraway seeds, which she always put with her potatoes. Potatoes it was then! And a red cabbage, the first of the season. How beautiful they are, cut in half! An extraordinary gorgeous vegetable, in my book.

Potatoes, according to Chinese medicine, are known to fortify kidney and liver yin. However, when they are lathered in butter and deep fried and eaten without moderation in mind, much research has been found that they can cause fatty liver disease.
So I chopped the potatoes and the last eggplant I had in the fridge from the huge pile of them I had there, and put them on a tray with olive oil in the bottom of the glass jar which had had goat's cheese marinating in it. I love using oil marinade dregs for baking, as it adds a certain rich dimension to it. Half the tray of cubed potatoes was sprinkled with caraway seeds, half with rosemary, and all with the salt we'd picked up in Amed. In they went for baking whilst I prepared the salad. Oh, and googled about caraway seeds, which I'd never considered before in terms of their health benefits: they contain copper, potassium, iron, calcium, selenium, magnesium, manganese and zinc. Awesome. So apparently they are good for digestion, heart health, and menstrual cramps. Which made me open up the oven and sprinkle more of them on the potatoes. Go caraway. You rock.




The salad. too, was easy, and I went into a nicely meditative state as I considered the earthy loveliness of vegetables - their colour, variety and feel.

  • steam the green beans and cool them
  • dry fry a big handful of pepitas and cool
  • thin slice red cabbage
  • add two handfuls of parsley blended with lemon juice and olive oil and layer on top
  • sprinkle over thin slices of preserved lemon
Eggplant contains anthocyanins and chlorogenic acid, which helps protect cells from damage caused by free radicals.
The eggplant sauce or dip was totally inspired, even if I do say so myself. It's based on a version of baba ghanoush, another middle Eastern delicacy, but I added some different things to make it smoky and creamy and totally delicious with the potatoes. Once baked, I whizzed it with:
  • a splash of shoyu
  • a dash of maple syrup
  • ten shakes of tabasco sauce
  • a tsp of smokey paprika

and it was totally perfect!

So, I had salad, and a sauce, and then - what to do with the olives! Chuck them in with the potatoes, of course! Salty warm goodness. And there you have it - if the ingredients are all good for the liver, then this dish must fairly alright for us to devour before J. goes to the town meeting. He took one look at the meal and said: 'so I can't put mayoinnaise on this then?'. No you bloody well can't, I said. Men.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

My_Post_1.jpg
1wEUFtd.jpg
Want to find more quality posts? Consider the #tribesteemup trail, and adding them to your autovoting along with #ecotrain.. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

image.png

A community driven curation & mutual support group - request membership here

Sort:  

very nice bro. it's very important for us.

Sounds really good. Most people do forget the essential water. Stress and dehydration wear on the body after a while. Thanks for a great post. Going to get my healthy snack of pumpkin seeds and dried cranberries for work today. 🐓🐓

Yesss this looks amazing and how can those colours not want to make you sing a rainbow song, it’s begging to be eaten and appreciated. High five to food medicine :)

Indeed it did what made me want to sing a rainbow song haha thanks for your lovely comment. I even have leftovers for today

oh wow! This looks and sounds sensational. I could almost taste it through the screen. I loved how you shared your thought process, evaluating the ingredients you had on hand and put it all together to make something beautiful. I've never had caraway with potatoes and i've never had pepitas before! I've also never even thought about lacto fermenting lemons - that just sounds like perfection in a jar. The eggplant sauce is so inspired!

Tea and baked beans ...this made me giggle. This is my childhood nutrition in a nutshell. Beans on toast was a meal several times a week at our place.

We used to have baked beans with grilled cheese on top when we came back from the beach on a Sunday night. It was a real treat as Mum used to cook such healthy food the rest of the time. She used to make them gourmet, with slices of mushrooms or thin slices of capsicum or spring onions . When I met Jamie he couldn't believe what I did to a can of baked beans. He had only ever eaten them heated and slopped over white bread.

Pepitas are the best. You have to try them.. they are lovely as a snack if you fry them with a little bit of soy sauce. They are beautiful in salads or on top of muesli or porridge. We often have them sprinkled across the rice pilaf. We have not yet eaten them with baked beans though haha.

Caraway seeds with potato is the bomb ... heat the oil first though then throw the seeds in to pop in flavour the oil then the chopped potatoes. Caraway seeds were common in Eastern Europe in Germany I think and they flavour rye bread really well. WHen I was a kid we used to get this Caraway seed cream cheese but they don't make it anymore and I really loved it. You also get caraway seeds in German sauerkraut. I'd be interested to see what you think of it if you've never had it before. For me I think it reminds me of my German Nana because Jamie can give or take caraway seeds.

@walkerland use any punctuation problems or poor grammar here as I was using my Dictaphone and it doesn't really like punctuation.

haha ..punctuation ...grammar ... never have worries about that with me. I butcher the English without even knowing it.

I love caraway seeds, in rye bread and also sauerkraut! I can't wait to start fermenting some cabbage! I've just never thought to use them in other things though. I'll be trying it now that you've sold me on the idea! :)

I wonder if you could make that cream cheese? It never tastes quite the same as childhood when you make it yourself though. Don't be shocked but I have no idea what a pepita is. Living in small rural Canadian towns is very limiting when it comes to exploring new food. I'll be searching on-line!

You've got me craving some baked beans (haha). The version you had as a kid was so fancy - it sounds delicious. I grew up with more or less the same as Jamie. Lucky I have dried beans in the cupboard so I better get them soaking. You've also got me craving some rye bread. It's raining today so perhaps a good day to do some actual cooking and baking. It's been a while.

There you go.. I have planned your day for you! Not as easy as a tin of beans though hehe. I love them.under grilled cheese.. woman, you are missing out!! Heat the beans first though. Thin.sliced onions on top and under the cheese is also divine..

did you know that cheese is my one food weakness. I think it is good with just about anything. Cheese with cheese even. haha.

oh my gosh. That looks really delicious! We've been on a no bread kick (mostly because its too hot to bake any) I am getting some baked today - I need to eat this!

I am still in shock you have never tried it!!!! You are going to die from the taste sensation!!!!! Oh and thanks so much for resteeming my ocean dipping post!

Oooohhh - sterling effort. The bar has been raised. Ploi and I committed to do ours tomorrow evening. Still thinking..... :) LOVELY post. Mayonnaise? Home made tarragon vinegar, organic cold prssed sesame seed oil, organic egg yolks and a few hand-crushed mustard seeds is good. :) Let him make it if he wants it. :)

That sounds absolutely perfect. When we get chickens again I'll make homemade mayonnaise again. There's something nice about making mayonnaise entirely from your own stuff including my own apple cider vinegar and my own herbs. I can see a Post coming. Looking forward to your entry they are always good.

what a Fun read river! i love your writing style.. your beingness flows through your words...

and this dish is inspiring! what a sauce! great dish.. now im getting hungry finally <3

Thank you lovely. Not too many edits with this one as I was hungry.

What a lovely meal! I wanna eat at your house!

Bring wine and you can.

LOL, It would be great fun, and food, for sure!

Wow this meal looks so delicious! I am so glad to have learned about eggplant dip because I have some eggplants blossoming right now and looking forward to trying some new dishes when they fruit :) The salad looks so colorful and amazing!

The funny thing is that when you're steeming, and it's nearly dark, you gotta take photos fast, so I grabbed what I could and set to it

I was laughing when I read this part because I've been there more than once!

It's funny isn't it - 'oh just relaxing cooking dinner' ---- WHERE'S MY BLOODY PHONE i HAVE TO TAKE PHOTOS FOR STEEMIT!!!!!!!!!!!!

Baba ghanoush is great. Also, they are nice fried with some tamarind or miso and shoygu to have with brown rice. I LOVE eggplant. xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59943.96
ETH 2421.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43