๐Ÿ“œโœ’๏ธ Marvelous Tales Contest #19 - Announcing winners and the next contest ๐Ÿ“œโœ’๏ธ

in #marveloustales โ€ข 7 years ago

MarvelousTalesLogo4.png

The Marvelous Tales Contest

In honor of all the creativity here on Steemit, I'm hosting the Marvelous Tales Contest.

The idea is simple: I give you two words, and you build your tale around these two words. You could write a story, make a comic or video, use a drawing or photo to accompany your tale, or even write a song. You can submit your entry by creating a post dedicated to this contest.

I will be picking the winner based on originality, creativity and entertainment value. Subjected, ofcourse, to my personal opinion, but I try to be as fair as I can!

Last week's results:

Third place
@cizzo's entry won 0.119 SBD

Second place
@svashta's entry won 0.199 SBD

First place
@simgirl's entry won 0.358 SBD

Congrats to the winners!

Contest number 19

The rules:

  • Your entry must be original work and completely of your own making.
  • One entry per person.
  • You have to name your post as followed: "Marvelous Tales #19 - [Title of your entry]".
  • The first tag of your entry post has to be #marveloustales (I will be using this tag to sort through the entries).
  • Your entry should be kid-friendly. No PG-rated content, but it does not have to be a kid's tale.
  • Drawings and pictures are allowed, but make sure they are accompanied by a tale.
  • Because the prizes are based on payout of this post (for now), you must upvote this post to compete.

Prizes:

  • First prize: 45% of the SBD this post makes.
  • Second prize: 25% of the SBD this post makes.
  • Third prize: 15% of the SBD this post makes.

This week's guest judge:

None! It's all me this week.

Would you like to be a guest judge? Send me a private message on Steemit.chat.

This week's words:

The words you need to spin your tale around this week are:

  • Star
  • Red

This week's deadline:

Tuesday 24th of october, at 11:00 AM CET (Central European Time, UTC+1).

Closing notes:

  • I reserve the rights to disqualify any entry I deem inappropriate.
  • The rewards are based on the payout of this post. This might change in the future.
  • Rewards, winners and a new contest will be announced once this post is paid out.
  • I'd be very grateful if you would mention a link to this post from your entry post (it's not a must!). Anything you could do to help broaden the contest's reach is very much appreciated!

Thank you for your attention and I'm looking forward to seeing your entries!


Thanks for stopping by! If you've enjoy this article, try my other sites:
| Photo shop | Foodblog | Photo gallery | Twitter | Twitch | YouTube |

Become my patron and earn yourself a mention or permanent place in my blog posts!



Fair warning: Copy/paste comment and obvious bot comments will get flagged.

Sort: ย 

Thanks @playfulfoodie and congrats to @simgirl and @svashta
Looks like a pretty tough one this week, might take a crack at it.

You're quite welcome! I hope to see a new entry of yours this week! The price money will be better if we look at the upvotes, so might be worth a shot :D

Here is my sci-fi take on this one, couldn't help myself with those words :)
https://steemit.com/marveloustales/@cizzo/marvelous-tales-19-red-giant

Thank you very much for your entry :D

ย 7 years agoย (edited)

Thanks for the prize and congrats to @simgirl and @cizzo
This contest truly is Marvelous. ^^

I'll try my best and participate again this week ^.^.

Edit: Here's my entry for this week:
https://steemit.com/marveloustales/@svashta/marvelous-tales-19-the-red-star

Thank you very much for participating! I'm glad you enjoy it and hope to see a new entry this week :D

Thank you very much for your new entry!

Always a pleasure! :D

I agree with @svashta, this contest is marvelous! Congratulations to all the winners, and thank you for the prize. I can't wait to think up this week's tale.

Aww, thanks @simgirl, I'm glad you like the contest! Looking forward to reading your next tale :D

Hello @playfulfoodie, here is my own contest writeup. I just saw it this morning and had to write it now! Thanks for the opportunity!

https://steemit.com/marveloustales/@nairadaddy/marvelous-tales-19-the-last-night

Hi there! Thank you so much for your lovely entry :-)

I feel really honoured being appreciated for my little contribution to #marveloustales. Thanks for making it possible.

Great contest idea @playfulfoodie! The simplicity of it makes me want to join in, and I will if I can make time somehow!

Thank you very much! Some people really enjoy it for the inspiration two simple words give them, so I'm really glad it sparks the imagination for a couple of steemians! They're rewarded even more when Curie comes to visit them aswell, which has happened quite a bit in the past.

I'd love to see you enter one day! No rush, the contest is here every week :-)

Quite an interesting contest you're hosting here! Too bad I'm terrible at story telling :S

Thank you! Well, you could always see this as a way to try and improve :D

If not, the stories submitted are simply a nice thing to read aswell, so you could always stick to that ;-)

good job friend...

I'm not a participant but isn't the prize amount too small?

That all depends on the upvotes the article gets. Last week was a very low amount indeed. If you look at the upvotes for this week though, it'll be about 10 times what the price was last time.

I hope participants mainly join this for the challenge and inspiration though! Plenty have already expressed such sentiment :-)

That's great, but I think it's better to set the minimum amount of prize. I upvoted for the writers. Less than a dollar is not good enough for their effort , at least that's how I feel.. If this contest is to truly inspire and appreciate writers, I feel like the minimum amount of prize should be at least a dollar. It's my opinion :)

I appreciate you sharing your opinion here and I understand where you're coming from. I've been honest in this from the beginning though that I can't fund the contest myself, so it is based on payout. That means one week the rewards can be a lot higher or lower than other weeks. Besides that, I give each of the writers an upvote and make sure that every eligible entry gets submitted to Curie. Basically every week, atleast a few of the stories get picked up by Curie and get an upvote on their entry to about $60,-. Sadly, I can't do that for more established Steemians, but they're free to pass on this contest. I know plenty appreciate it simply because of the inspiration these two words give them, so I'll keep on hosting this contest :-)

I had one vote I could make this morning, and I probably shouldn't have made that one as my percentage is getting so low, but I have been on the receiving end of that kind of curation when I first started steeming.

I didn't come to steemit for the money - I came for writing and learning. But those curies helped me feel like I was contributing, made me feel like I was a part of steem itself.

To be honest, I've never written for your contests, and it was not your particular efforts that helped me, but you are doing the same things. You have my sincere respect and you're certainly worth more than a penny. Thank you.

Thank you so much for your kind comment @jonknight. I'm glad to hear you've benefitted from efforts like Curie. I know how hard it can be to feel appreciated (or even noticed) here, so I'm glad some people work towards sharing the love. I know my small contest doesn't do a lot, but as long as some people enjoy it, it's worth hosting for me, even though I can't give much.

Wow this absouletly good of you
Well done. @playfulfoodie๐Ÿ‘

Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 63782.14
ETH 3146.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55