Eat Street Markets, Brisbane, Australia. Part 4.

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for this weeks Market Friday challenge hosted by @dswigle

Here we are back again for our 4th and final visit to the famous Eat Street Markets in Brisbane, Australia. I've had a few people ask me since posting Part 1-3, "What DID you eat during your visit Trudee?" And I know the answer may come as a surprise to most of you but John (my husband) and I left without tasting anything. Are we mad? Are we crazy? Yes! What possible explanation could suffice for our super human efforts to not partake of the delicious food on that occasion? We were actually a little short of time on our first visit and we went with the intention of satisfying our curiosity and to see what all the hype was about. And we succeeded in our mission.

HOWEVER....... we had every intention of going back and we did this last night. But this visit was made all the more special because John and I were accompanied by two V.I.P's from New Zealand. It was a great pleasure to meet @kiwideb and @andysantics after getting to know them via our Steemit communications and when we heard that they were coming to Australia for a few days we managed to organize a 'get together,' which found us finishing our day here, at the Eat Street Markets.

A different band from last time was in full swing when we arrived (so were @kiwideb's hips..........(she's a singer and a dancer in case you weren't aware) and she and her sister @andysantics sang the lyrics as they got orientated with the place.

E S Band.jpg

After paying our $3.00 entry fee we passed a red, painted caravan which had been converted into a café on wheels. So Cool!

Red van  Collage.jpg

I'll be the first to admit that food was on our minds as we had eaten sparsely prior to our visit, knowing what was in store for us. We looked around, priming our taste buds with every longing glance. This time we were not leaving without satisfying our hunger.

2 Food from around the world collage.jpg

The four of us were asking ourselves. "Where do we start?" The Moreton Bay Bugs got the nod of approval and we decided to make this dish an entrée, so we ordered two serves to divide between each couple. My apologies for the poor quality photo dear friends but I do have a plausible explanation. My long awaited anticipation to partake of these bugs had turned into desperation. At last I was in a position to sink my teeth into the sweet, succulent flesh of that seafood and in my feeble effort to be patient, my hand which held the camera was shaking uncontrollably.

M B Bugs.jpg

@kiwideb had a great idea. She asked the cook if they would include sweet potato chips in with the potato chips. They didn't mind at all and I have to say, they were really scrumptious! I wished I had made our order all sweet potato chips........Oh well, we can do that next time.

We took a stroll around to view a variety of products available as we let our entrees digest. The River Temple displayed an interesting range of clothes and jewllery.

F Rivertemple.jpg

The Homeware range looked to be very good quality.

F Homewares.jpg

F HWares.jpg

I was amused at the sign beneath this lovely display. "Do what you LOVE and you'll never work a day in your LIFE." I think that statement is easier 'Said' than 'Done' at times. Wouldn't it be great to earn a living with Steemit?

f HWares2.jpg

F Dreamlights.jpg

Blue ceramic coasters with appealing designs were on display.

F Ceramics.jpg

And Hugglo elephants of various sizes and materials were waiting patiently to be bought by Mother's and Grandmother's for their Daughters and Granddaughters. But lets get back to the real reason we came here tonight. FOOD! We'd walked off our entries so there was no point in pretending we were interested in elephants.

F Huggalos.jpg

We tried two or three samples of jerky and @andysantics was ready to jump on that empty saddle and ride full pelt, (minus the horse) into the nearest paddock and deposit her jerky on some cow dung.......such was her dislike for the stuff. (She's an accomplished farmer and homesteader in case you weren't aware and very familiar with how to handle cows and horses and pigs.) But in this instance, without an available horse she was forced to swallow her jerky unceremoniously down her unappreciative throat and think vigorously about her next course which hopefully, wasn't too far away.

F Jerky.jpg

'Rogue Spice and Jerky?' Not the best combination. But wait! Did I see Lamb Shanks mentioned? Too late! The others were way ahead. Moving on.

F RogueSpice.jpg

South American Premium Meat and Vegetarian dishes? Not today. What @andysantics and @kiwideb did settle for was some tender Pork ribs whilst John and I bought chicken curry. One hot. One medium. I'd love to give mine a raving report but I did struggle to find the chicken amongst the sauce and piles of rice. I couldn't finish it.

F SthAmerican.jpg

A glass of fresh, home made ginger beer made up for my disappointment of the curry.

f GBeer.png

Ok. I have a question for you. Do you think I deserve a dash of desert to make up for my lack lustre curry? The Desert Depot was calling my name.

F DesertDepot.png

If your answer to my question was a resounding YES, what should I have? A simply divine looking, Creamy Mango Panna Cotta?

F Panacotta.jpg

Or bite sized pieces of home made confectionery wrapped up so beautifully in a shop just around the corner?

F Confectionary.jpg

Or what about some sweet sensations all the way from Switzerland? The very informative shop assistant informed us that the Swiss eat a lot more sweets than Americans? How's that for a bit of sugary trivia? I wasn't going to enter this arena of sweet delights. I had eaten well and my hunger was satiated. But my three companions walked in and I didn't want to be left out in the cold so.........I followed them with a hint of hesitation.

I don't know what you think of the need to have a sweet shop smothered in smoky mist with loud disco music filling every centimetre but I have reason to believe that some sort of magic was taking place and a subliminal message was seeping into our pores as our eyes travelled the length and breadth of this narrow sweet shop. Once we were inside, it was very hard to turn around and walk out. True story. But that's ok. I spied another exit............right next to the free samples on the counter. I think you know how this story is going to end don't you?

Sweets.jpg

After we all fell for the, "Try this FREE sample trick," we turned back to the sweet laden shelves we'd succeeded in walking past seconds before. And then what do we see? A sign showing us just how affordable these sweet little temptations were. ONLY $2.50 for 50gms! What a bargain! With our taste buds dancing a tingling tango on our tongues, we saw only the small amount of $2.50. We ignore the measly amount of 50gms because no one.......and I mean no one, can restrict themselves to just 50gms once they have sampled the goods.

Did the alarm bells go off in Johns head when there were no scales visible with which to monitor the amount he placed into the very long plastic bag from the dispenser? Obviously not, because three of four of these and three or four of those, a few times over added up to much more than the 50gm figure we all conveniently chose to ignore. Armed with our $9 and $7 worth of sweets, we compared the sum of our purchases. We'd been hoodwinked well and truly.........but it didn't really matter because it was a lovely way to finish a lovely day.

And before I sign off on my Eat Street market series, and whilst I am still on the subject of 'Sweet Things,' I'd like to say a big 'Thank You' to @kiwideb and @andysantics for taking time out from your brief visit to Brisbane to spend with John and myself. We look forward to your next visit.

..........and a big THANK YOU to Steemit for making this platform an ideal place to meet so many wonderful people which, in turn allows us to make genuine friends.

Deb and Andrea T Y .jpg

If you've managed to stay with me until the end of this blog.......many thanks for viewing and have a great day!

I look forward to taking you with me on another Market Meander, somewhere Down Under.......next week. Until then. Bye for now. See you next Friday!

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Your work really stands out. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the appropriate daily topic of our Travelfeed blog. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

That’s wonderful. Thank you very much for your support @travelffed. I’m delighted. 🌸

Love Australia! Great photos!

Thanks very much @nolasco Australia 🇦🇺 is a wonderful country and I am very blessed to live here.

Yes, you are! I traveled a couple (actually around 10 ;)) of times to Australia and loved the country!

Oooh... mango pannacotta please! And the bugs... yum. Sounds like a fun day out...

True.....mango and pannacotta sound like a match made in heaven @riverflows Must try it one day. It was indeed a fun day out. Thanks very much for your visit and input. Greatly appreciated.

Congratulations @trudeehunter! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Thank you kindly @steemitboard I'm very grateful.

Ahhhhhh....nice to see a bit of down-under country looks like yous had a fun day and the variety of foods why would you want to eat...very nice :)

Hi @hangin Thanks very much for visiting my blog and for the support. We really did have a fun day and its great that we don't have to travel too far to go back again soon.

Talk about yummy delicious! Oh, the food that we have been promised has finally come to fruition! I wouldn't even know where to begin!

I really had such a wonderful time perusing Eat Street Markets! Thank you for letting us tag along with you. The shopping was varied and I really do want to pick out a few of those beautiful blue coasters! What a delightful color.

Sweet potato fries are my favorite. The United States has changed how they fry things and the joy has been dashed for me out of french fries. While they may be healthier, they don't taste nearly as good with the oil used now, so ... I usually skip them.

Dessert Depot? Oh, now there is where things could go awry. :) Just look at those delectably delicious treats! Oh, my!

I must say that the variety of food is amazing and I am truly sorry that your curried chicken wasn't what you were hoping for. It is always a crap shoot when it comes to eating out, right?

Anyway...

Thank you so much for taking us and I am glad we got to see what you ate! Your participation is so appreciated!

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

I'm very happy that you came along with me to these awesome markets Denise and I'm very blessed by your response to them. It is a most enjoyable post time for me visiting different markets and Just as enjoyable to collate them into blogs.......although I have to remember to allow enough time to out them altogether. Yes, the curry dish was disappointing. I think restaurants are crazy trying to cut costs by compromising the quality of their cooking because no-one is going to make a return visit. But, I can now rule them out and try something else next time I go.

I am very wary about eating food that has been commercially prepared, especially when vegetable oils are used. They are very unhealthy. My personal choice if I do fry anything is coconut oil but I have cooked my own sweet potato chips before and they are delicious dry roasted after spraying them coconut oil and sprinkled with a little Himalayan salt.

Thanks soooo much for your kind vote, resteem and tips my friend. I hope your weekend will be very enjoyable. xox

Hi @trudeehunter! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=eat-street-markets-brisbane-australia-part-4


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in the Travel Digest #209. Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

That's a real bonus. Many thanks for your welcome encouragement @steemitworldmap

What an enjoyable day, Trudee! Lovely photos all the way through your post, well done!

Awwwww......your lovely comments are very encouraging Keith. Thanks very much for taking the tour with me around this market. I’m so glad you enjoyed it. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99