Market Friday - Jeff Koons Balloon Art

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Market Friday - Jeff Koons Balloon Art

This is a post for Market Friday Hosted by @dswigle, its a way to show markets you may go, and I take a little bit of creative licence with my entries, like this week I am sharing a shop window and not a full-blown Market but I hope it will still count.

I was walking along Park Ave when I saw a shop window with some pieces of Balloon art by Jeff Koons, he has had a few large pieces on display in NYC and I always love his pieces so thought I would get some shots of these pieces to share with you.

1 Koons art.jpg

Sony A7iii 70mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 640
Click here to view larger



Now I am often critical of myself for not being very original with the names iIuse for my photos, but after seeing Jeff Koons Pieces in the Bernardaud Gallery which I understand is a high-end gallery for China, Homeware and Jewels, I felt a little better, this piece is called Balloon Rabbit(Red)

Well, maybe I still feel a bit name challenged I may not have thought of putting the color in brackets ;)

1 Koons art-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 70mm F5.6 1/60 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger



And this one was called Balloon Swan (Yellow), so whoever named these pieces was consitnet with the naming vonvention at least :)

1 Koons art-3.jpg

Click here to view larger



This was my favorite piece, its a Monkey in Blue, and since Blue and or purple are my favorite colors if I was going to buy one of these its the one I would go for. And after typing that I was curious how much it would cost and went and googled it to see.

Well, it's a little, well by little I mean a lot out of my budget at the moment, I didn't find this exact piece on the website, but other pieces of his work start at $9000 and go up from there.

1 Koons art-4.jpg

Click here to view larger



And here we have another pice an Orange Dog this one has a backing to it, which was kind of cool with the reflections.

1 Koons art-5.jpg

Click here to view larger



And another of the dogs, my mind is still thinking about the piece, I dread to imagine how much the large balloon flower piece in one of the Fountains near the World Trade Center is worth.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.762685 lat -73.969812 long Bernardaud Park Ave NYC d3scr

Sort:  


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=market-friday-jeff-koons-balloon-art


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

As much as I love art in general, $9000 dollars for something like this is WAY too much.

It's nice to see how much variety there in NY City, though. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Ohh yes NYC is amazing for all kinds of art, and $9K was the lowest price they go up a lot higher for some pieces

Well, I guess some people can afford it. So, why not? lol

Exactly if people are willing to pay that much for his work, why should he not set the prices like that :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Wow @tattoodjay, these are really pretty, but $9000-ish?! Far be it from me to gauge "art", but you've got to wonder about the price tag a little😊

I do love the dog(orange😂) one though!

Very cool. I posted a Jeff Koons Popeye from Vegas awhile ago. His work is very unique and instantly recognizable. Happy Friday @tattoodjay :)

Fancy balloon work.

A market of art objects, that's very beautiful. I understand that Jeff Koons is famous, in this case the price is probably not great. Most often art acquisition is an investment.

Yes indeed, I guess your right he has his work displayed all over the world, I am sure many thinkk nothing of the prices for these pieces

Amazing work. I am much impressed by those colours.

That are cool art pieces, I love his work

Guess I will start saving my pennies. Or, my $10 bills. I want one.

From someone who has less than none natural artistic capabilities I so appreciate the creative world others live in. If I can't create it I may as well appreciate it.

Another very cool topic. And more great pictures. These are very cool pieces with very stupid, mundane names. He needs a new naming person.

I presume picture taking is less noticeable in NY? I get some very odd looks around here when I photograph the unusual. That seems to make me the unusual here. Lol

Yes I have no artistic ability either so I also understand how we appreciate the work of those that do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19