Market Friday - Shopping for some warmer clothes

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Cold weather came all-of-a-sudden. I was not prepared for it! I moved up here in New Jersey from the tropics!!! Fortunately I have some winter clothes from last year, but I need some new sweaters and I decided to go to a nearby shop to buy some.

So, let's go! The shop is Rainbow. It is a large store with a main floor and a basement too. I usually shop at malls, but let's try this one today.

Beautiful sunny day today, not too cold. I love sunshine!!!

1.jpg

I go straight to plus sizes because I need XL. This is the section. No sweaters. Some long sleeves T-shirts and hoodies, for gym maybe?

2.jpg

Clearance signs everywhere. They want to get rid of tank tops first, ok, I got it. I see some long sleeves, but they look so old and the whole store smells funky, like anti-moth spray haha

3.jpg

Summer clothes for sure, look at these crazy colors.

4.jpg

Another plus size area. Shorts. Really dudes???

5.jpg

I am not going downstairs. There is another big clearance sign there, so I imagine. Sandals, flip flops and swimming suits probably. Very disappointing. No wonder they don't do well, I bet this chain of stores will go out of business soon.

small note.png

This is my contribution to #marketfriday challenge organized by @dswigle. Sorry I didn't find a more glamorous store today. Maybe next week!

blackdividersmall.png

Follow me and my stories smallbest.gif

SB_new.png

Sort:  

hee hee it really is not a very suitable assortment at this time of year for you :))) I hope you buy a sweater all the same

I didn’t find anything. Ordering online. 😉

Thank you for your wonderful #MarketFriday post! I am from Connecticut and I now live in the Washington, DC Metro area. I never thought I would leave there, but, having been to the Virgin Islands, the only thing I have against them is the health care. I guess that goes for many places. Or perhaps it is what we are used to? I picked up a special insurance policy so I would be evacuated to the States from anywhere in the world for medical. I swear to God.

Having said that, I am glad you feel safe and comfortable where you are.

The clothing issue is very real, isn't it? OMG! The retailers all think we are on vacation 24/7! LOL I can honestly say they start putting out winter here in August. Resort wear comes out in October/November. How about that? I would say Macy's has always been a good bet for me and a lot of online shopping.

Also, I always check out Salvation Army and Goodwill in the ritzy sections. You never know what they toss aside! ;) AndPS Your writing is so funny!

Thanks again for joining us on #MarketFriday!!


Please leave the link to your post here in the comment section, so it can easily be found by others. (and me!!) They will all be in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you! ❤

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Thank you for the tip 😉, I love your challenge. Yes, the health care is horrible in US Virgin Islands, that is the reason why I kept flying back and forth all these years, and never settled 100% there. I am ok in New Jersey, still trying to re-adjust after 11 years of freedom in the islands. ☹️

Yeah most stores both big and small are trying to get rid of their summer assortment, hoping people will buy the stuff cheap and stash it for next year. Small stores, however, tend to do just this while larger stores will have a bigger selection.

I hope you find something you need though. I'm with you on needing the XL and plus sized areas are always a pain regardless. Sweaters are a necessity, though, especially with the weather so cold in many parts. I'd invest in good warm socks too, something people often overlook when doing winter shopping.

The plus size fashion sucks. Those designers should focus on real women sizes too. It is depressing to shop in those areas. I am lucky I can use XL from misses and size 14, if I go a little bigger I am in big trouble, nothing cute 1X, forget about it. ☹️

As someone who typically wears 16+ yeah I hear you on that. Everyone wonders why I wear men's graphic tees and leggings, there's just nothing else that looks anywhere near decent on me in my sizes ):

It reminds me of the old, roomy and discounted stores in France. You find all sorts of cheap, cheap things. It smells funky and the colors are outrageous. lol

Aha, exactly. Crazy. 😜

Epiphany of disappointment.

Right to the point, I love your wording and your humor 😆

How disappointing! We can't go home for a visit in the winter, because I have nothing left but shorts and tank tops :) Why did you move there? I've never thought to ask before now :)

The past 11 years I lived half time in US Virgin Islands, mostly winter time, I had a business there. Last year the hurricanes destroyed my store and my sanity 😀 so I left the island. I’m better off in New Jersey, health wise, also the quality of life.

How disappointing! We can't go home for a visit in the winter, because I have nothing left but shorts and tank tops :) Why did you move there? I've never thought to ask before now :)

Congratulations @starjewel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @starjewel! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81