#MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle - The hand made products market in Maubara, East Timor

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Hi there, my dear Steemians!

Here is my post today to the #MarketFriday, initiated by my dear Denise <3!

After a week off, it seems I don't post for this wonderful themed-challenge for a lifetime!
But here I am again, and today I'm bringing some photos of the handmade products' market in Maubara, East Timor.

IMG_2995.JPG

IMG_2988.JPG

IMG_2981.JPG

IMG_2976.JPG

As I told you in the last #BeautifulSunday and #SublimeSunday, last Sunday my daughter and me headed to a beautiful village not far from Díli, called Maubara. And I've told you then I would keep these market' photos for today's #MarketFriday!

IMG_2972.JPG

IMG_2973.JPG

IMG_2974.JPG

In the colonial times, Maubara belonged to the Dutch, while Flores island belonged to the Portuguese. But, as Maubara is located in the mainland of Timor, the two countries made an exchange, and Maubara became Timorese, while Flores belongs to Indonesia after both countries became independent.

IMG_2994.JPG

IMG_2993.JPG

IMG_2992.JPG

Maubara has a beautiful fortress from the Dutch times, and opposite its entry, across the road, there's a local market where the local ladies sell the products they make, all handcrafted.

IMG_2991.JPG

IMG_2990.JPG

IMG_2987.JPG

The products are manly basketry made of palm leaves, and you can see how lovely and colourful they are. And cheap. One of those big baskets will never cost you more than 10 USD.

IMG_2985.JPG

IMG_2984.JPG

IMG_2986.JPG

Also famous are the pillows and other products made out of the local traditional fabrics, weaved manually, called Tais. The wonderful pillows are stuffed with sumaúma/kapok a kind of cotton that grows in trees spread all over in the country.

IMG_2971.JPG

IMG_2978.JPG

IMG_2979.JPG

They are comfy and I can't help to buy a couple of them when I visit. The bigger ones are really huge and make some great and colourful decoration appointments at any place.

IMG_2980.JPG

IMG_2982.JPG

IMG_2989.JPG

This time, it was the turn of my daughter's friend to buy some cheap and beautiful souvenirs for her family, since it's her first time in East Timor. She is enjoying being here so much!
We are the wonder trio!

IMG_2983.JPG

Thanks for the visit, Thanks, @dswigle, the sweet host of this wonderful challenge!

Photos taken by me (iPhone X), no edition.

Cheers to all! Have a wonderful Fridayyyyyy!

Isabel
Hippiesoul @nolasco
www.isabelnolasco.com

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

banner photofriend NOVO.png

DQmSQnxEBigCNXYe3hUB5ujRMmAvq1r851wGFc5LwZTkfRv_1680x8400.png

DQmNNuJLfzwrXp6qizHMWCBwtJLcmuGedgohViE11vi2u12_1680x8400.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @nolasco! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-17T16:42:24
Account Level: 7
Total XP: 7944.57/12800.00
Total Photos: 425
Total comments: 376
Total contest wins: 116
And have also received a 7.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=nolasco
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=marketfriday-initiated-by-dswigle-the-hand-made-products-market-in-maubara-east-timor


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This came out so bright and colorful! Very pretty. =)
all are cheerful picture ^^

Thanks so much, my dear @ykdesign! I'm truly happy you liked it <3, you're so sweet!

What a fun looking market @nolasco. I would love to visit it. 😊

I'm sure you would, Gillian! And be surprised with the prices... Everything is so beautiful and cheap! Xoxo!

looks like an African beads and fabric shop. Those patterns are familiar here in Ghana. Thanks anyway for sharing @nolasco. I wish you a fabulous weekend

Thanks so much, @mcsamm, I can imagine the bright and beautiful handcrafts you have in Ghana. I will go there one day, I hope! Sorry for the late reply, but I'm grateful for your comment with all my heart! Have a wonderful week ahead!

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-street" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

I am big fan handmade things, I liked your market pics that you shared. really good.

Thanks so much, my friend!

Que maravilha, artesanatos lindos, gosto muito!
Feliz sábado amiga!
Abraços!

Muito obrigada, Manuel :))! Feliz semana, amigo, saúde e abraços!

What a beautiful market, love all these colorful handcrafts...! =))

Thanks so much, Luigi, how sweet of you visiting! I'm happy you liked it, these are beautiful and original, indeed! Cheers, my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60462.58
ETH 2636.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58