Market Friday: Council's Bottomless Pit

in #marketfriday6 years ago

Just at the south end of town you will find what almost looks the place where 2 U-Hauls collided. There are random objects strewn all about the yard but no tire tracks on the road... Oh, and there IS a sign! It is a BUSINESS! One of my favorites, actually. "Junktique" kind of place, with things you will likely never see anywhere else.

The Bottomless Pit

20180504_121638.jpg

The first time I stopped here I became mesmerized by the pile of rocks, front and center as you drive by. They are not actually for sale but they are sure pretty. Chatting with the owner that day I got the full run down on where every rock came from lol! No, these are not for sale, they are his babies.

Pet Rocks

20180504_121750.jpg

There are LOTS of interesting things that are for sale though! At first glance it may seem like a standard yard sale. If you are Jonesing for knick-knacks, they have you covered.

Random Dishware Everywhere

20180504_121643.jpg

More careful inspection reveals some really unique items. Seriously, if you were cherrying out a car like this, how would you like to stumble across this door - window still working? When I saw this, I thought immediately of @edthecanadian and stopped to grab a picture for him.

Ed, This One's For You!

20180504_122031.jpg

When the lady saw me admiring the door, she said "Oh, come with me!" Truly, I had never seen anything like this!

Ed, This One's For You Too!

20180504_122051.jpg

It is a fun place to poke around, although I confess I rarely find anything I actually want to buy. At least they have "guy stuff" though, so @longsilver and I can both entertain ourselves!

The Men's Department

20180504_121736.jpg

Not only had I never seen anything like this before, I am not sure this is really a good idea. I am sure when it was new the proud owner thought it was the cat's meow, but... really? Electric and wood in one stove? What could possibly go wrong...?

A New Meaning For "Hot Wired."

20180504_121921.jpg

OK, enough guy stuff, lets find something to make @dswigle smile... Into the girly barn!

Meh... Pretty Standard Junk Selection

20180504_121658.jpg

I got a phone call before I could get into the "main" store building and had to run. I was sort of bumming, where was my "punchline" picture?! I asked the woman working there "What is the funniest thing here?" and she walked me back over by the wing-hood. I can't believe I missed it earlier, losing my eye for shopping it seems! I thanked her, told her it was perfect, took my picture and got on about my errands. Admit it, you know you want it just so you can say you have it...

This One Is For You Denise!
20180504_122107.jpg

REAL porcelain, baby!!!

The STEEM Engine

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

Sort:  

This is too fantastic, a Pink throne for @dswigle it's just perfect - I split my coffee everywhere laughing so hard 🤣

What an incredible place, they literally have little bits of everything, I was admiring the single alloy car wheel next to @dswigle pink perch.

Some of those spades and hoes look like they are well rusted, I could see them not lasting long doing some hard work.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Indeed - something for everyone at this place, but... not really useful stuff lol! Although there are old timers around here who would polish those up, put new handles on them and get another 50 years use out of them. I am a spoiled American, I want the plastic handles that don't give me splinters!

Oh, leave my throne alone, @coff33a! :)

You are just jealous! Admit it. LOL

LMAO! Sorry! I can't help it. The pink toilet got me! LOL In the first house that my hubby and I bought, there was this little powder room off the kitchen that had this hot pink toilet. Well, that just had to go. My hubby couldn't pass the door with going into fits of laughter. So, one Friday afternoon, he brings a brand new sparkling white toilet home and proceeds to change the offending fixture. He lugs it out to the curb for Saturday morning garbage pick up.

Not 10 minutes later, we hear a car screech up, two guys get out and snatch the toilet. We giggled all the way to bed that night.

About two weeks later we were passing a used car dealership California Wheels and Deals. There on the front lawn, in all its glory sat the hot pink toilet, its bowl filled with pansies and a pink flamingo sitting on the tank!

So, thank you, @fishyculture, for the laughing all the way down memory lane!

And in that moment I hope your husband realized the amazing decorative opportunity he SQUANDERED so thoughtlessly... LOL! Thanks for sharing that laugh!!🤣

OMG I would have loved to be a fly on the wall!!!!

Haha!

Oh, baby! You know what I like!

I absolutely love rummaging through these places. You cannot even imagine some of the fun stuff I have found. Did @edthecanadian like his door? Even I like that door. I can only imagine the car it belonged to.

I just slid down the comments and read @coff33a reply to my pink throne and admittedly, I almost lost mine. That is all the details I will give you on that incident.

Hey! Where is the cover to that thing? At the very least? Otherwise, I will be foraging through another pile of treasure, looking for a match to it. Thank you for bringing a smile to my lips! It was a most awesome post!

Please leave the link in my comment section of the post so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you! ❤

Upped and Steemed

Tip!

Thanks Aunt Tippy! Did I forget to drop the link? My apologies, getting a little ditzy. My brain went on vacation a couple days ago...

I was hoping someone would confirm that was the back door of a '55 Chevy thanks @edthecanadian. Looks like a wonderfully fun place. How could you ever leave? haha

It is a fun place, they are very good about keeping fresh temptations along the road to lure you in. It is sort of funny though, there is hardly ever anything we NEED there. Fun stuff, weird stuff, unidentifiable stuff everywhere. Useful stuff, not so much... lol!

That looks like somewhere I could get lost! Great rear door of a '55 Chev

Glad you liked it! That folding hood blew my mind, did not know such a thing even existed.

They're all over the place! Most trucks and a lot of cars were that way.😉

Well, you know, I am just a sweet young thing... everything is new to me! 🤣

LOL!!! I posted a week or so ago about a day my husband and I spent checking out some of our local farmer's markers and flea markets, and some of the funny signs I spotted, and he was disdainful . . . who would ever be interested in something like this?

He has NO idea! ;-)

I mean, there is something for EVERYONE at these places - who could NOT love them? LOL!

Absolutely, not to mention the characters you meet there! Hilarious!

I love yard sales for the same reason - you can meet some awesome people, have a laugh, and if you're lucky, find a treasure or two along the way. ;-)

Yeah, I noticed people down the road with tables in the driveway yesterday, I am thinking the local yard sale season is getting started... YAY!

Yeah, we have one in Sparta, our county seat, that is advertised as the world's longest yard sale, that takes place along both sides of Hwy 1/Main Street, for the length of town and beyond.

There is another competing "longest yard sale" that starts half an hour or so east of us, on either side of Hwy 127 and stretches for miles, through several small towns.

So they're getting started here as well.

And I'll be in Nashville this evening, on Cinco de Mayo no less, which may well be mayhem. Wish me luck. ;-)

great post. I love these places...!!

Me too, they are just fun! And not expensive since I really do not need any of that stuff... lol!

Hi @fishyculture! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU is looking for SP delegators: pays out 100% of profit to all investors - more info here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43