Market Friday Springs into Planting

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)


Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) Join me as we share our markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see different markets and cultures of our friends here on steemit.


Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. It helps you and me to have them in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much for joining us!! ❤


image.png


Can one conceive of any reason for a flower's beauty excepting our ability to enjoy their exquisite splendor? Oh, please! Forget-me-not!


20180609_103054.jpg

How can you resist the urge to put a little color in your world? The bright and bold magic of these gerbera daisies lightens my soul. Oh, come all ye faithful. Joyful and triumphant as we put the colors in the cart. Oh, my! Forgive me. Spring just carries me away.

20180607_193436.jpg


Want to hang out with me in the garden today? I am going through to see what I want to plant this year and what better way than the local nurseries! Perhaps even stop over at the National Arboretum to see what they are offering up in the way of plantings this year. They have made it their mission to add plenty of flora to the population. Let's make our way over there! There are a lot of garden and plant sales going on from now until the end of April, giving you plenty of opportunities to buy and plant your flowers or shrubs.


image.png
source



"The National Arboretum Research Unit develops drought and disease resistant plants, flowers and trees, especially urban trees, which are vital to the health of our cities."


20180611_082808.jpg


STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!

source55


Question: What is special about these words: job, polish, and herb?


source


Answer: In many languages, this is not true, but in the English language, they are pronounced differently when the first letter is capitalized.


20180609_083757.jpg



image.png



The National Arboretum is located in Northeast Washington, DC. It was established in 1927 by an Act of Congress. The Arboretum is administered by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Agricultural Research Service. I like to support the Arboretum and am interested in purchasing from their Herb Garden and want to look at their Azalea Collections. I'm sure they will be in bloom.


image.png
source


The azaleas are in bloom and so fresh and beautiful in their hot pink color. I would venture to guess that they would enhance any area of your garden or yard. The always offer the most diverse selection of azalea bushes.


20180525_100533.jpg


I have been to so many new places lately! I love to share and be shared with! I have always and forever liked to see different fruits and vegetables or products that are being sold. Perhaps I cannot get them here. So, yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace or even an art gallery. Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! We will love it! I promise you! Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.


20180609_084358.jpg



A flower. There must always be a flower to color my world.



image.png



Sometimes hitting the pause button in life gives me just enough time to catch up, breathe a bit and enjoy the beauty that surrounds me, hear the laughter in the background and feel the sun on my face. I can even hear my own heart beating a sound of joy.

¸.• ´¸.•´¨) ¸.•¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.•'
Ah, yes

#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Because of you, I come back to post again and again, I am encouraged by you, for the time you take to visit, comment or even upvote. For all of these reasons, I am eternally grateful. Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, how wonderful it really is. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


I always post this poem down at the bottom of my posts. It is one that has become so near and dear to my heart. I only post the most famous part of it, but, wanted to post it in its entirety today.

they set my aunts house on fire
i cried the way women on tv do
folding at the middle
like a five pound note.
i called the boy who use to love me
tried to ‘okay’ my voice
i said hello
he said warsan, what’s wrong, what’s happened?

i’ve been praying,
and these are what my prayers look like;
dear god
i come from two countries
one is thirsty
the other is on fire
both need water.

later that night
i held an atlas in my lap
ran my fingers across the whole world
and whispered,
"where does it hurt?"
it answered,

"everywhere"
"everywhere"
"everywhere"

warsan shire



PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Loved the flowers - azaleas are so hard to keep alive in my clay soil, that I gave up years ago! I just enjoy them when I see them at the Dallas Arboretum and Botanical Garden. The first place I fell in love with them was on the Univ. of Texas in Austin where I went to college! They had beautiful ones along Guadalupe Street side of campus. Have a great weekend!

Thank you! I love them too and they are always so vibrant and beautiful!! Bonus points because they last a while! It was one of the things I missed when I lived in San Antonio. Spring Flowers!

Mine died in one day. But, I got to see them! :)

I hope all is well in your world!

!tip

🎁 Hi @violetmed! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Reaping What You Did Not Sow Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Appreciate the resteem @pixresteemer!

Ok Speedy Gonzales, here is the Old Man Pokey checking with the link! Geez such a reprimand for being the least bit tardy LOL!!!! Hehehe. I think I will be late more often just so I will get the lecture. I actually like it and think it is adorable LOL!!!

IMG-20190321-WA0041.jpg

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@old-guy-photos/fun-buys-on-market-friday

I waited for an hour, pokey! But, I am grateful because it is still Friday and you are already here! I cannot complain. Most times, it is like #MarketWeekend, but, hey! It is better than not getting it at all, am I right?

So thank you so much for taking the time and risking life and limb the crowds, just to get a decent post! I truly appreciate it!

!tip[

heay Time is money & neffer let a lady wait for you ;) You daddy, should know this ^^ Have a Hepp in your stepp :P

Nice flowers and I LOVED the brain teaser!

Thank you for the kind words, as always and hahaha! I always have a brain teaser on #MarketFriday.

It breaks up all that shopping! Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a most fabulous weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @kus-knee! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

As you know apart from me been a food fanatic the next best thing i love is wodering through flower nurseries love all them beautiful colors of flowers and i am sure you would have picked some amazing flowers for your garden :)

MarketFriday - initiated by @dswigle - Mobile Vehicles Food Fair in Bangkok !!

e2116ezqhb.jpg

Thanks for dropping your link here and yes!!! Wandering through the nurseries is always and forever a wonderful experience!

Hey! It is always good to see you!

!tip

My pleasure and always nice to see you and thanks for the tip :)

Well, of course you know that you are always welcome!

🎁 Hi @hangin! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday Bursts Into Spring Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you @dswigle and @tipU :)

I've loved plants and flowers since i was a kid. It wasn't a popular thing for boys back then. Lol. What's that last one?

I am the same. Plus I love to cook and OMG I can set up a sewing machine too lol.

Oh, yes! I can see it now! We will have a cook-off and let the ladies of YouTube judge for us! I think that is a fair deal!

!tip

Ok admittedly I am not exactly popular with the women of YouTube LOL! I have my share more than my share of ladies that hate on the poor Old Man in the kitchen. Could it be secretly they are envious of my Hillbilly Gypsy cooking skillz?

@old-man-photos I am doubtful so sure of that, honestly. I have seen you in action.

On YouTube people!!!

On YouTube!!!

There is no disguising the look of envy. You nailed it. I will say whatever you want to hear, as long as you don't try to feed me that slop.

!tip

Yes the slop word has been tossed about. Maybe even the food was a disgrace. I cant remember the exact words...I think I may have tried to block out the comments from my memory lol. I do get a few some many a load of thumbs down, but that is how jealousy works lol...haters going to hate LOL!

Oh, yes!! I am sure the quality of your slop cuisine is a legend over there! There is just no accounting for jealousies!

I'm surprised they haven't started a Hall of Shame Fame for you!! You know you deserve it!

@old-guy-photos

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk Goes Eclectic Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Springs Into Planting Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)


If you are talking about this one, it is a dogwood tree!

It really wasn't a popular thing, now that you mention the fact. Only when they had to help clean up for the fall or if their mom needed muscle to haul things around the yard. You were the muscle! Thanks for stopping by #MarketFriday and as always, have a most amazing day!


!tip



A great post here as usual Blondie and here's our post link!
Blessings!

https://steemit.com/photography/@papilloncharity/a-proper-flea-market

Thanks so much, Stephen! @papilloncharity! You know how much I appreciate you! Mwah!

!tip

And you remain a Darling Blondie!
Thank you!

You're always a pleasure!

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Reaping What You Did Not Sow Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I thought it might be a dogwood! I've seen white ones in Vancouver BC. My family is from there and my mom loves them. We can't really grow them here in Southern California

It is and I love it! This one is the pink dogwood but I also have the white one at my house. Oh, yes! Vancouver loves them! Or they love Vancouver!

Southern California is too warm. I lived there! ;)

Gorgeous photography of stunning flowers @dswigle!
My contribution after a long break - Market Friday at the Imbizo Art Gallery
IMG_20190318_115130.jpg

Thank you so much for the wonderful comment! I was running so late and ran off without answering all of these! I appreciate all of your time and effort!!

Have a most fabulous day!

💖

!tip tonight and comment tomorrow! 💖

Thank you @dswigle :)

Posted using Partiko Android

You are very welcome!

🎁 Hi @lizelle! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Those forget me nots are simple the best. Lovely vibrant colours. Jeez I have missed the flowers...roll on spring! 😉 !tip

Aren't those forget-me-nots incredibly awesome? I always forget how beautiful they are until I see them again! They're beyond vibrant in my book. Well, not really but they are truly beautiful.

I have truly missed the flowers and spring, and thank God that it has finally arrived. Although today, I have to admit that there is a strong wind blowing my way, taking some of my spring with it. Thank you for visiting #MarketFriday and I just want you to know that you are always a pleasure to see. I hope you have a most wonderful weekend and the weather cooperates and pretends it's spring again.

!tip

🎁 Hi @molometer! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Springs Into Planting Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

A great poem, Denise. Love your flowers. U&R 😊 🌸

Thank you so much for your lovely words! You leave such wonderful comments and I appreciate the fact that you take the time to come over and visit #MarketFriday. It's always a wonderful day to go to the Arboretum and I like the fact that they go out of their way to provide Flora for everybody to enjoy.

Thank you again and I hope you have a wonderful weekend! As for me oh, I will hopefully be going down to the Tidal Basin here in Washington DC and photographing some of the cherry blossoms that are just gorgeous at this time of year.

Thank you for the vote and the resteem! So kind of you and very much appreciated!

!tip

Thanks so much Denise and for the generous tip. Sounds like a wonderful weekend ahead. Have fun and I know you will enjoy seeing the beautiful cherry blossoms. 💕 The temperature is starting to climb here but it will be awhile before I see any blooms.

Oh, sooner than you think!! A couple of days makes them all pop! The tips are always my pleasure!

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Springs Into Planting Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Market Friday Springs Into Planting Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

You've managed to pick some gorgeous flowers this week. Here's my entry
https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@erikah/handmade-art-for-marketfriday

!tip tonight and comment tomorrow! 💖

Thank you, have a nice evening! ❤️

Thank you so much! The flowers were a nice reminder that spring is almost more than here! :) sorry for such a late reply! And thank you for always being such great support! 💖

❤️❤️❤️

🎁 Hi @erikah! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97