Market Friday at the Home Show Part II

in #marketfriday5 years ago (edited)



Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!) I hope you will join me as we share different markets across the globe. I always look forward to seeing what you send me! It is amazing to see so many different markets and different cultures.


Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. They are easier to find in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you so much!! ❤


20190119_103211 post.jpg*


There was a wonderful selection of potpourri as soon as you walked through the doors to the convention center. They had charming containers to display it in. Soooo very tempting, but, I just got there and wasn't ready to purchase! Maybe on the way out!


20190119_114408.jpg


I am sure that @Digitalis loves this little bug, but, I can assure you that it would give me heart failure if I came across it. No lie!


I have been to so many new places lately! I love to share and be shared with! I have always and forever liked to see different fruits and vegetables or products that are being sold. Perhaps I cannot get them here. So, yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery store, the local marketplace or even an art gallery. Wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Be different if you wish! It does not have to be a traditional market! We will love it! I promise you! Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.

Last weekend, I went to a Home Show at the Convention Center in Virginia. It is something I look forward to every year as they have renovation ideas and new products... everything is set up and demonstrations go on for three days. Kitchen and bathroom renovations, landscapers, builders and butchers, You name it, it was there. This is a part II to the post. Although I normally don't do that, I am getting ready to set sail here this weekend, so I was short on material. Oh, but, I am going to gather some more! Next week, I will be posting from the somewhere in the Caribbean or South America. Stay tuned.


20190119_115005.jpg


In 2004, Get FITT was born due to the poor health of the company founder. in His words, "He discovered the health benefits of Far Infrared Saunas that helped detoxify his body of harmful toxins and repair his damaged liver and gut." The best I can tell you is that I liked the unit and if it actually proves to be 100% true, I would consider buying one. It was comfortable inside and you felt refreshed when finished.


20190119_112928.jpg*


Oh, Noooo! Not more beds!!! By this time, I had already seen four companies, including Sleep Number hawking their beds. That is usually an item I will shop for in the privacy of my own space. I abhor the thoughts of laying down on the bed, while the world is watching. Tick. Tock. Tick. Tock. Too long on the bed.Get up sleepy head.



STOP!! BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!



source


Question: What gets wetter and wetter the more it dries?


source


Answer: A towel!




20190119_124216.jpg


There were several tiny homes there! Right inside the Convention Center! No kidding! The tiny-house is considered a social movement. (as well as an architectural nightmare some days)The whole point of it is to live with less clutter and have a simple way of life. Financially, they can be a very affordable option for some people.


20190119_123819.jpg
I guess I never thought I would be in a tiny home by my own choice. It isn't exactly claustrophobic, but, it is very tight. While it wouldn't be bad for one person, possibly two (that is if one of those persons wasn't ME!) I cannot imagine myself living permanently into old age this way. Most buy to start life out or leave this world in one. Way to small to get old in! No Bueno.

20190119_123621.jpg
I am trying to imagine living in this and when Saturday morning rolls around, stripping the bed and remaking it, but, doing it on my hands and knees. Because how else would you do it?? You cannot stand up in here! No way!! Now, that would be where I draw the line... this puts new meaning to the phrase, "crawling into bed." Please excuse the out of focus shot, it was the only one I got and I was perched on a ladder to get it. But, I had to show it! :)


20190119_113231 part 2.jpg


Does anybody need a ladder? Anybody? Anybody?? I am sure they have one here, just your size and probably your color!


20190119_115944.jpg


See the big picture in the middle? I love that one and can see it adorning my house. Screen porches and additional rooms are so hard to picture once you have a structure already up


20190119_111950.jpg

This is the gentleman with the the distinctive glass and I showed you a different view because it was gorgeous! His company uses a unique process that combines many different materials to form a single piece of glass that is truly a work of art.

Whatever pleases your budget! There is something for everyone! Very distinctive and oh, so pretty!



20190119_122904 Part 2.jpg

Bonsai Trees. "Bonsai" refers to miniaturized, container-grown trees that are in keeping to Japanese tradition and principles. The tree seen here is about ten years old.

20190119_123102paart 2.jpg

The purpose fo the bonsai is purely for reflection/and or meditation for the viewer. Contemplation, if you will. The practice of growing and training these plants focuses on cultivation.



20190119_110639  Part 2.jpg



He was a peeling maniac! He could peel potatoes for me anytime. I think he peeled a bag of them in two minutes. Five pounds and Hello! That was fast and furious! They had every kind of peeler. A slicer, a dicer... Yes! Who wants to buy a gadget? Come on, now! Raise your hands!


20190119_124047.jpg


Chim Chim Churee! Chimney sweeps! Around here, most people have a fireplace and many don't clean them out every year like they should! This is where companies like this are handy. It is a friendly reminder to get it done!


CUE THE MUSIC MAESTRO!!




I want to thank you for taking this trip to the Convention Center with me. There were literally hundreds of other vendors hawking their goods, but, as the part ll was longer than intended, I will cut it off here! I appreciate your taking the time and energy to read the post and I hope that you have a most wonderful #MarketFriday! Steem on!!



¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥

A flower. There must always be a flower to color my world.



Oh, but then he gently brushed his lips upon her cheek
Slight of touch
Overcome, she blushed
Blossoming for him
Like a flower



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!


Facebook

Twitter

Instgram


Don't ever forget what wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.


Later that night
I held an atlas in my lap
Ran my fingers across the whole world
And whispered,
"Where does it hurt?"
It answered,

"Everywhere"
"Everywhere"
"Everywhere"

- Warsan Shire


Sort:  

Hiya Princess and a Good Saturday Morning to ya!

Here is my MarketWeekend post lol!

20190201_180912.jpg

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@old-guy-photos/market-friday-fun-dbed8c99aeefcest

Loading...

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I am glad you did another post at this home show :) I think @digitalis would have trouble taking macro shots of that bug LOL
In one of the missions I was in the Swedish set up a sauna, and the odd time I used it I did feel quite refreshed afterwards,
I am a fast potato peeler myself but not as fast as that guy it seems, I would have checked out his display, kind of weird but I always check out that section whenever i see Peelers and such

Here is my post for this week https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@tattoodjay/market-friday-back-to-columbus-circle-and-the-time-warner-center

PS the brain teaser did fool me so !tip

I bought two of the peelers, JJ! @tattoodjay I always check out that section too! They peel so nicely! :) I always buy an heir and a spare, mostly because someone will like how it peels and I let them take it home with them... Hence, the heir and spare.

We had a summer home on the Canadian border that had a sauna house, as the entire populace up there were Finnish, so needless to say I would take a sauna almost every day... it was so nice and relaxing. If the next house built is what I really want, it will be net zero and have a sauna right off the bathroom. I saw one such build and fell in love with the concept.

Hehe... the brain teaser wasn't hard, but, it was tricky

Thank you for dropping the link here! Much appreciated!

!tip

Heir and a spare thats something I said recently when I bought two of something and no one knew what I was talking about lOL glad to see someone else use it,
The next place we get will be a small house with just us now, but a sauna would be nice to have for sure

I know as soon as I saw the answer the Brain teaser was so obvious :)

I cannot believe how many people have never heard that term. My grandparents used it all the time...

Oh. Maybe that is why? It is from generations ago, but, the term is so very useful when describing a situation just like I did, right??? I don't care how big or small my house is next time, as long as there is a pool, sauna, and jacuzzi, I will be golden.

I did mention that it will be after I win the lottery, right? :))

Seriously. Those Brain Teasers are mostly obvious once we know the answer! That is what is so annoying! LOL

Maybe its a saying that never made its way Down Under
I would love all of those but suspect where we will be buying next that may not be an option unless I win the Lotto LOL

Yes and a very good point about the brain teasers :)

Haha!!! You know what they say!!?? You got to play to win! That means, I will never win. ;)

Yes thats true I do but a ticket maybe once or twice a year so my chances are pretty slim as well :)

Truth!!! I may play again someday!

🎁 Hi @tattoodjay! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: I'Ve Only Just Begun Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Never get bored at a conventional center especially these types a great lot of interesting items there but i agree that house in the middle i would love to take that away by a beautiful lush flowing river and a few Bonsai's to go with it , and your all welcome for a BBQ....Cheers :)

I am doing Paul's trick this week late with my post...lol..well here it is better late then never right Mr Paul ....enjoy the final part my friend :)

And happy sailing to the Caribbean or South America be looking forward to them beautiful white sand beach photos :)

MarketFriday - initiated by @dswigle - The IconSiam Mall - Part #3

yr45qbsrmp.jpg

I am short on bandwidth, but, promise to look at this when I hit a port. I am on the ship in the middle of nowhere right now. :)

I love that you are late! LOL

As long as it is not a habit like @old-guy-photos! He is part of the MarketWeekend club! :)

I will check it out!

!tip

Ohhhh..aren't you a lucky girl sailing away from that cold climate enjoy my friend and i won't make a habbit of it like Mr Paul but i must say the marketweekend club sounds like a great tag...lol :)

Oh my God! That sounds so funny because there are so many people that do Market weekend and then there are so many people that do Market Wednesday Thursday! So every day is Market Day. I don't really mind and you know that but Mr Paul, @old-guy-photos does it to make me fuss at him. :)

No worries! A few here and there is fun. :)

!tip

🎁 Hi @hangin! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday, Vacation Style Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Oh wow! I just love bonsai trees! Very cool that they have them there on display!

Looks like you caught a glimpse of you in the FITT window....I could be wrong, but it sure looks like you ;)

Yes I love Dick Van Dyke! Such a brilliant performer! What a way to age gracefully!

Just a super post from start to finish!

I thought of you when I was shooting these bonsai trees! I remember the pictures you took at the Botanical Garden last year and how much you loved them. They are kind of cool and after reading more on them, even more intriguing. The part about them being used for meditation and pondering life? I actually did not know that but read about it.

That WAS me and I had no idea I took a picture of myself until everyone started making comments on whether it was me or not. I cannot believe I didn't see it, but, hey, at 3:30 AM, I was bound to miss a few things. Glad you noticed. I still can't see how I missed it. Sigh

As long as that is the biggest thing, I can almost live with it. Don't you dare go out for a #MarketFriday post tonight. It is miserable up there and well, there is always next week. Anywho, thanks for the little kitty GIF and I will use her wisely. :) Dick Van Dyke is one of the funniest actors ever. The actors/singers/dancers of yesteryear had talent! Variety show talent. Nowadays, we are happy if they can link a phrase together. The talent is so different. They just don't make them like they used to. I like watching old films and doing a long sigh as I think what a different arena we now live in. Oh!!! I just rolled over to 63!!! Woo-hoo me!!!! :))

Have a great rest of your day!

!tip

Well lets not forget the one I started!! I just need to find a nice pot for it...

20180927_165634.jpg


ezgif.com-video-to-gif (1).gif

Pffft remember Princess, you are not my boss, and I am not dead yet!!!!

I couldn't resist putting up one more time lol.

CONGRATS on 63!!!

OMG you are going to pass me now!!

Ha! If I were your boss, I would have fired you a long time ago, you know? Seems like what you really need is a babysitter, not a boss. Mother said there would be men like you.

Thank you on the congratulatory salute! I think I was at a rep 62 for half a year. Probably not, but, it sure seems like that!

Anyway, take you little negative kitty and go home. You are done here. ;)

Have a great night and keep warm way up there!

Oh your mother must have known that you would meet an innocent Saint of a man like me that is nothing but a teddybear ;)

I will soon enough be south bound to bask in the warm!

Really?? I hate to tell you that it will only be 30 today!! I will have to move further south if I want anything warmer...

Wait!

I am going further south this week. I'll see if I can pick up a tan in your size and send it to you. ;)

Keep warm and stop scaring my mother like that! Geez, old man!!!

Dont tan too much. Like when I was a kid we always said the first burn was just getting a good base down. We sure didnt know better.

Read my lips: FIFTY FOUR Tuesday!!!! Oh yeah baby! Hey you may want to move north for better weather ahahahah

I am sure to use the sunscreen. No matter how tan, this fair skin will take a little bit of coaxing to not burn.

Read my lips: sixty-five degrees on Tuesday! Ha! I think I will stay here. But, thanks.

!tip

OMG! I did that negative vote thingie! LOL That doesn't even feel good to do it!

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I refer to form and not content. Your posts, your blogs look better, every new post you make tweaks, experiments. I'm trying to hold on to you but I can not. I can not say "a perfect blog" because there is no perfection on earth but you get close. Very nice.

Wow! Thank you so much, Dan! @bluemoon I have been trying to make the posts look a little better, but, it does take more time than i have sometimes. These things come to me soooo slow!

Thank you for noticing my effort!

!tip

Yes, it is. We need more time, it never gets. When I think how much I wasted in my youth ...The result is great, your blogs are great!
I have noticed that you have the comments voted by fulltimebot. I've also been voted sometimes. You know why? It's a surprise for me ...

🎁 Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Thank you, Denise!

Wow, I love that decorative glass stand, and I love these kind of shoes, I am the worst, love to spend hours looking at each product!

Here’s my post : https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@princessmewmew/market-friday-atlas-trading-cape-malay-spice-shop-1548689308

Thank you! @princessmewmew.

Are the best, my friend! Those decorative glass stands are de bomb! I kid you not. That man can make the most amazing glass work. I love these kind of places to and I can spend hours and hours there, and sometimes I walk away with nothing. It's a good thing I don't own a shop like you because otherwise I would want to buy everything. For the shop, of course. I want to thank you so much for dropping your link and for being a regular part of Market Friday. We appreciate you and all your hard work and putting these wonderful posts together.

Have a most fabulous weekend!

!tip

🎁 Hi @princessmewmew! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you! Just by looking at your picture I can tell that you are wrapped up for some old other! I love those little socks with the reindeer on them. Although admittedly, they are not so small but look like adults socks. Thank you so much for dropping your link. Did this much appreciate it. I hope you have a most wonderful weekend and thank you very much for joining Market Friday!

!tip

🎁 Hi @madlenfox! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

That bug isn’t little - it’s huge lol! Another awesome market Friday - The Home Show has many amazing things to see. Mr Peel and Dice has been obviously got his selling down to an art - did you buy his amazing gadget?

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Haha!! I actually did!!! I love it and I had one before - it lasted about ten years, so this new one was worth it!! That bug was gross and I would never have even gone down that aisle if it weren't for #MarketFriday!

Thanks or stopping by!!

!tip

My contribution to this week’s #MarketFriday (sorry for being late with sharing my link here): https://steemit.com/steemmonsters/@oleg326756/are-you-happy-with-your-season-rewards

No problem!! :) After all, you are sick and so there is much forgiveness. Even if you weren't sick... I actually have people put their link here for two reasons.

It is easier for me to find them in one place and it gives the post more eyes on it. Many people who like to shop around the world like the fact that they are all right here and they can scan them down the line. The hope is that it gives posts a little more interaction.

So I thank you so much. I hope you are feeling better and that you have a wonderfully peaceful weekend.

!tip

Thank you, dear, as always!

I’m starting to feel a little better. I think I passed the lowest point last night. I’m sneezing less and haven’t had fever yet today. I need to finish a written assignment for the course in econometrics (due tomorrow), but I’ve already done all the modelling and calculations, so all is left is to write up the interpretations of the results. Hopefully I can relax tomorrow, call my family on Skype, maybe go for a short walk, if I have energy to do so.

I hope people will like visiting an unusual market in cyberspace that my post was about. :D This market holds a big appeal for me to keep playing the game. If I can win cards as rewards for my efforts in the game, and if I can sell those cards to other players and make some STEEM or SBD that way, it makes this whole game not just a fun pastime, but also a small source of a potential extra income. :))

Same to you, Denise! Have a blessed weekend and stay warm! :) hugs

May I suggest skipping the walk for another day? The cold air and your respiratory system can stand to wait and gather more strength.

Oh, the interpretations are not the hard part, but, the ending part is the most important so it is a stress to get it out and done with. I hope you can relax tomorrow too. You need a day before jumping back into life. Right?

I am so grateful to Skype and how it has changed so many people's lives.

People love visiting unusual markets. You are only the second person to ever post SteemMonsters, so I can assure you, it is a good one. The added income is always a bonus! :))

Keeping warm! 0 C is not too bad for a February temperature. Especially as we are experiencing a cold front!

🎁 Hi @oleg326756! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)