Market Friday

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)



Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, that's me!!)


I hope you will join me as we share different markets across the globe. Every week, I look forward to seeing what you will send me and I am always happy to see so many from all over the world.


I would really love you to take a minute and look at a friend of mine here on Steemit. Her name is @generikat, and she describes herself as a Writer, Farmer, Homeschooler, Existential Enthusiast, and Part-Time Librarian. I can hardly read her stories without laughing myself stupid. Judge her for yourself. See her latest post here!


Who doesn't love to see what they will be selling in some foreign market, shopping in places I have never been to and some, never even heard of. There is always a curiosity attached to foreign ingredients, different produce or any product sold. So, yes! I would love to see yours! Don't forget to take photos wherever you happen to be shopping - whether it be the grocery, art galleries, wherever money is exchanged for a service or for merchandise. Don't forget to use the hashtag #MarketFriday and @dswigle.


Please leave the link to your post on here so it can easily be found by others. They will all be in one place. Where else can you take such a quick trip around the globe? Thank you! ❤


image.png


Today I went to the grocery store at one of the military installations in the Washington, DC area. There are actually six of them spread out over the National Capital Region. They are Army, Navy, Air Force and Marines. I use them all, depending on where I am and what I will be doing that day. Today, I will be going to Fort Belvoir, which is an Army post. I tend to lean toward the Air Force, but, for the convenience of it, I will go wherever I am closest on that day.


So follow me as I find a parking spot and we go into the commi (we shorten the name when we talk about it)I have my shopping list ready so I don't waste all day there. As you will see, the store is amazingly huge and all it has is food.

oranges.jpg


I park the car and hike into the store. It is only 7:30 in the morning, so I am hoping that it won't be too busy! I like to be able to take my time picking out my vegetables and fruit.


It can be really crowded around payday. The military only gets paid once a month, so, some run low on groceries before the next paycheck comes. That is why payday can be a bad time to go shopping. But, I had been a little under the weather and haven't shopped for weeks!! It feels like months!


20180328_113331.jpg


I am most fortunate to live near so many of them. Not only do they carry some of the best products, and they try to import them from all over the world. Some marry foreign spouses and it is nice to have a touch of home when you are so far away.


So, these products become most important.

20180328_113457.jpg


Grab your cart! Let's go!


20180328_084952.jpg


I would have to say that I probably save about 30% by shopping there. You may not think that is worth it, but, adding coupons on top of that and it all adds up to a nice saving. Admittedly, I do not go there all the time. I live within a mile of a grocery store and use it all the time. Time is money and all that.


20180328_085000.jpg


There are rows and rows of select apples, every single kind I can think of: Gala, Honeycrisp, Fuji, MacIntosh and so many others. I walk off with a hefty bunch. We are an apple-eating family!


20180328_085051.jpg




Resistance is futile! There are too many nutritious, delicious fruits to be had. What is your favorite fruit? If you had to just pick one?


20180328_085255.jpg


Who doesn't love the tropical goodness of a fresh pineapple?I know I cannot resist!They are absolutely delicious!



Tropical fruits are in abundance here. There is never a want.


20180328_085004.jpg


The wall of apples. There is also a wall of lettuce and other veggies.I have a hard time choosing when there are so many choices.Eenie, Meenie, Minie, Mo.Got one.


20180328_085220.jpg


20180328_085511.jpg


Hehe! A grocery clerk with a sense of humor. I had to take a snapshot of this. It made me laugh out loud.


veggies.jpg


Ribbet collage 2.jpg


The yummy goodness of fresh vegetables. I spend more time here than anywhere I think. For the most part, there is a nice variety to choose from and they are usually premium. Remember, you should be having five servings of fruit and vegetables a day. Which is the first one that you choose?


20180328_090209.jpg


Potato Heaven!


20180328_091608.jpg


20180328_091604.jpg


When you don't have time to make your own... The second best will have to do!


image.png

You just knew there had to be a flower section, right? Well, that is the one thing that they sort of lack in. They have them, but, they are marginal at best. Or perhaps I got there too late?


20180328_091850.jpg


There is a happy little guy! He is just begging for me to take him home!


20180328_093156.jpg


Yes. Yes, it is. Surprisingly so. This is where the cheap eats are! I peruse it and see what there is on sale.


20180328_093823.jpg


If it swims for a living, you will find it here!


20180328_090254.jpg


If it's a carbohydrate, I will probably love it. Whatever you are.


20180328_093719.jpg


Miles of aisles. I kid you not.


20180328_093746.jpg


20180328_093733.jpg


Yes, please!


20180328_101544.jpg


Close your eyes, vegans. I love you, but, they have some of that thing called MEAT here.


20180328_102625.jpg


20180328_105953.jpg


In case you get tired. It's right here. I really like that they have them all over.


20180328_110424.jpg


It's starting to pick up! So I know it is time for me to go!


20180328_111601.jpg


Stand in line and wait my turn! It won't be too long.


20180328_111800.jpg


They check you out, bag your groceries then bring them out to the car for you. Service with a smile.


Tip!


Thank you so much for taking the trip to the Commissary with me. I had a great time as always when you tag along to keep me company. I hope you enjoyed yourself and I promise to find another #MarketFriday for you next week. I know there is one out there somewhere!


See you in the comment section! Don't forget to drop your link here and take a few minutes to check the other markets out!


Wait!!! Refrigerator Check!! Thank you! Keep on Steemin'!!


IMG_4930.JPG


IMG_4935.JPG


IMG_4960.JPG


STOP BRAIN TEASER AHEAD!!


There are three houses. One is red, one is blue, and one is white. If the red house is to the left of the house in the middle, and the blue house is to the right to the house in the middle, where is the white house? PS... Pretend the grey house is white.


image.png
Image source


ANSWER:



The White House is in Washington, DC.



They want to be picked. They yearn to be loved. Shouldn't we all want to be? There must be a flower. Always a flower.


image.png
n/'h--bb


¸.♥´¸.•♥¨) Let the sun shine in on your life
So the joy may touch your soul

(¸.•´♥ (¸.•´ ♥



#Steemusa is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

#TheAlliance is an awesome way to grow and discover some quality content. Check us out! Find us on Discord!




Facebook

Twitter

Instagram



Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Let's hold hands around the globe and make this earth really spin. Some days, it is not as easy to see, so we must try harder to give everyone the proper focus.


Sort:  

Another post to learn! Among many other benefits brought by your poses is this educational aspect. I'm influenced by how you build your blog (just like I was influenced by @old-guy-photos). I have to thank for this. Like an old reader of yours, I think I've seen over 90% of your #MarketFriday posts, today I've learned something new, I'm not saying what but I will use in the future. It is good to know when there are different issues with us around Friday.
About Commissary, which is a great place to shop, I wonder if it's allowed to go with your gun?
Another finding today, you made a very long blog ...
I started to shorten, you can see my try today: A Visit to IKEA

I did make a long blog! I am soooo sorry! I had been making them shorter and this one got out of hand. If you learn anything out of my posts, that makes me so very happy. I too have learned much from @old-guy-photos. He is a great teacher and knows it all.

The Commissary is a wonderful place to shop and I have five different ones around me. I have three Army, one Air Force, one Navy, one Marine in the Washington, DC area. So, it really is convenient for me. Some are larger than others, although this one is pretty average. Guns are allowed as many jobs require you carry firearms on you at all times. It's funny you should say that I see them so often, it actually doesn't register in my mind. Now, I am going to have to pay more attention to how many there actually are.

I will go check out your new, shortened format. I may be able to learn a thing or two. This WAS too long!

Tip!

Pffft I learn things from you everyday, Sunshine. You know that is true :)

Ditto. You know it is true!

Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Thank you, tipu and @dswigle!

Very kind of you, my friend.

That's the true! You were my first model.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

wow! your commisary looks better stocked than any grocery store here. I always think you guys in the states have so much choice when it comes to groceries, compared to the rest of the world. MERICA!!

Here's my entry xx

Haha! Yes. 'Merica! LOL

The commissary is for Military Personnel and so they make them big to accommodate the many persons assigned to that post. I think grocery stores, in general, are too big here. ;)

Thank you for dropping your link here, lovely! xo

yes, agreed! I have never in my life seen such variety as you guys have over there!

LOL at the brain teaser!!! You crack me up :) I hope you picked up some cheese and grapes while you were at it...maybe some vino too... Such a nice and clean store with quite the extensive seafood selection!

I really will have to make the brain teaser harder, just for you. Cheese and Grapes?? Did you see the refrigerator?? LOL Hello?? All sorts of verboten food in there. I thought I hid the wine??

Oh, you! I did hide it! There is no way you can see it!

The store is nice and clean, as most of the commissaries are, and even though they have a great seafood selection, I really prefer to go to the waterfront and buy it, because I like it right off the boat!

Tip!

Ok Princess, here is my barely adequate Market Friday!

Image2.jpg

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@old-guy-photos/an-amusing-market-friday

Thank you so much for coming all the way over here to drop your link. It is much appreciated!

!tip

Check this one out ;)
!subscribe 0.07

Hi @cardboard, you have just subscribed to @dswigle! First 0.07 STEEM subscription reward has been sent :)

That is so cool!!! Now I have to go read up on it! Thank you so much!

@cardboard What is that subscribe thing that you just did. I tried to find it and cannot. Can you explain?

Work in progress, will make a post about it in a few days. Basically it auto sends tip whenever the subscribed author makes a post :)

Oh!! I love that idea!! @cardboard Wow! You are the best!!!

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Thank you!

Great post, @dswigle

My favorite fruit is peach!
And this is my entry in the #MarketFriday

And this flower is for you )

DSC09369.JPG

Thank you so much! How very sweet of you! A very beautiful rose indeed! Oh, peaches! They had some very sweet peaches this season. I really am amazed at how many different kinds there are!

Thank you for dropping your post! I will be off to check out your market!

Tip!

Hi @singa! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

I know i am a naughty boy but i had to rush out last night to meet up with some friends that had come over from Australia and i am still hangover from last night so i will come back and comment on you lovely comment later my friend. Thank you so much for your Tip much appreciated :)

MarketFriday - initiated by @dswigle - Crystal Jewelry !!

smynegb5a3.png

Oh, my! I actually thought it was funny and I knew you would fix it, but, you know... I couldn't resist! :)

Hangover? Ha! We are totally over the age limit for hangovers unless you have some rowdy mates from Australia that come over and drag you down that alley, just for old times sakes.

!tip

It wasn't funny...lol... well at the time but it put me out of action for 2 days you are right i am getting to old for this but it certainly was a great night with these rowdy mates that i hadn't seen for 3 years so we did have some catching up to do all good am back now....hehe :)

Thank you for the Tip my friend :)

Hi @hangin! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

I took my E-scooter for a ride to take some pics of the road side traders and this is what I came up with ;)

https://steemit.com/marketfriday/@craigcryptoking/marketfriday-with-dswigle

Cheer$;)

Oh, well this should be one of those rides that we all want to go on. And now, it makes me want to grab a scooter and go for a ride, hair blowing in the crisp autumn air.

I am off to see what you did see. Thank you for dropping a link!

!tip

He he thanks so much realĺy appreciate that. Autumn that side not Winter yet we in summer now ;) x

I know!! Can I dislike you for it? You took my summer away from me!! ;)

haha noooo.. I must say though an African summer can get pretty hot eh. But fun it certainly is ;) I do love Winter though!

ha ha... In Washington DC.....

I didn't read the other 59 comments before I posted. Nice produce there. I love a store with lots of healthy looking produce. Some stores have kind of sad produce areas.

Hope you are feeling better now. {{ hugs }}

I 'm leaving a link to my Market Friday... .Surprise !!
https://busy.org/@jacey.boldart/gfp8a-market-friday

I know. Lame, right? Well, it was the best I could come up with short notice! LOL I AM feeling better after being half dead, face down on the pillows for weeks.

That felt foreign to me, but, the rest was awesome. :) I decided I make a terrible patient and won't be doing that again anytime soon.

You left a link!!!! YOU do LOVE me! Thank you!

!tip

Hey.... it didn't come to my mind instantly. I immediately pictured in my head the house on the left.... and right.... and.... THEN.... I thought.... funny girl.... The White House.....LOL... too cute.

I bet it did feel foreign to you. How dare that happen? You must have been worn out when it started..... probably from all those vacations....LOL !!!!!! Yeah... I'm funny.

Oh, wow! Good thing I read this first before going on another vacation! I don't want that to happen again! Ha!

I didn't think about it till now, but since what happened was so unusual for you, maybe you picked up some sort of "foreign" cooties that your body had not dealt with before.

Yeah.... that thought should encourage taking the next vacation right away.

Always trying to be helpful ya know. What are friends for ???😇

I actually passed out and was sent to the hospital ER where it was deemed a non-event. But, I did have an infection and I think I picked up bacterial pneumonia from there.

No kidding.

Jeepers Creepers ! When you do something you do it ALL the way !! Scary !!

I am pretty sure it was a buy one, get one free day at the hospital. Why have one infection when you can have two???

Am I right???

Hi @jacey.boldart! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Whyyyyyyyy.... ThankYOU !! You are ever so kind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67401.36
ETH 2611.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68