A Small Market in A Small Town

in #marketfriday6 years ago (edited)

Today is #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle (Denise, of course!). This is a loved challenge and an example of how to initiate and support such a thing ... thanks to Denise.

My adventure away from home in the city of Iasi continues ... Continue with a trip to a small town in the north of the country, more than one hundred miles away from Iasi. The city is called Falticeni and is known in Romania because many important people for the country's culture were born here or lived here. I am referring to a century ago ... now no more important people are born in the world, unfortunately.

The reason for this? To see my mother who is eighty-five years old, to see my brother and grandchildren, to see the places where I grew up. If anybody was interested, I posted here about all of this: Week Two Of The Eight - On The Road Again

Every time I come home to my relatives, of course, they expect us with many goodies, they have prepared good food but they want also to cook for them. It's one of my pleasures! That's why I have to go to the market.

Falticeni Central Market

Falticeni's central market is a large and full market. All fresh and very appetizing.

8r2uz2hpda.jpg

There are a lot of sellers with a very varied products. Unfortunately, they are struck by the same mischief of people being photographed. That's why I have only a few photos taken with the smartphone, the quality of the photos being very poor, I had to post only a few.

3spk150ct9.jpg

v9fn9zly1c.jpg

y9yb74d3gy.jpg

That's all that I could photograph from the market. Just tell you what I bought: fish; vegetables; cheese, butter and sour cream, and most importantly ... forest mushrooms! Our target was these mushrooms that we find only in this area, in the hilly and mountainous area with mixed forests. The luck was that this July rained very much and favored the growth of mushrooms.

Hribe or Boletus?

f1z0w3tlgb.jpg

These are delicious mushrooms, they are my favorites. Sometimes I picked myself out of the woods but now I didn't have time, I bought them out of the market.

That's what I cooked with great pleasure in my mother's little kitchen.

Hribe with sour cream

Ingredients: 2kg of hribe; two onions; oil, salt, pepper, sour cream and parsley.

The hribes are cut into pieces, the onions are cleaned and cut into smaller pieces as well. Put the onion on fried, with a little oil, in a large skillet. The onion just needs to be soaked and colored in yellow.

rdp1xxvm7s.jpg

djeqwdcem2.jpg

0xefpzkuov.jpg

g1gtq4qgli.jpg

bevi5fgbun.jpg

After the onion has soaked (we can help if we add very little salt and a little hot water) put the mushrooms on top and let them crack (boil in their own juice).

yr9o07rmcg.jpg

jgj3j7avd5.jpg

It's very hot in the small kitchen, I will open the window to the garden. Fortunately, it rains a bit and gets a little cool out in the kitchen. The greens rest my eyes! There are raspberries.

gg5qrnc9lo.jpg

sun2l7srng.jpg

While mushrooms fry slowly I cut parsley into small pieces and then mix it with mushrooms (when they are fried and soaked)

u58bq5x14g.jpg

I forgot to tell you that parsley is picked from the garden by my nephew Stefan. The best parsley I could have!

j9d13fhwq8.jpg

fj5wv4p297.jpg

Two of a hit!

I forgot also to tell you that some people prefer only the mushroom stew and others (my wife) prefer ciulama (mushroom with sour cream). That's why my mushroom food is split into two distinct dishes.

1. Mushroom Stew

We divide the mushrooms into two equal parts. One part remains in the pan and the second part in a saucepan.

Mix the mushrooms from the pan with parsley, add salt and pepper and ready, the stew is ready.

9exjyy4fc5.jpg

2. Ciulama (mushroom with sour cream)

Put over the mushrooms in the saucepan sour cream, salt and parsley. Boil only a few minutes and the food is ready.

oxuobjq3fi.jpg

zx9tuuhz1j.jpg

In this way, I managed to make two kinds of food from one preparation and thank everyone.

bxjwixuhhk.jpg

I can prove that everyone was pleased with the outcome of my work!

086gt83drk.jpg

From the youngest...

r1d10nvegs.jpg

...to the oldest!

gz4t4u9aes.jpg

Even the sky, the sun and the rain wanted to give me something because I went back to the places where I grew up.

n6fj4c449t.jpg

Hey Denise, do you like mushrooms? Wanna trade? Mushrooms for lobsters? Thank you!

Thanks to those who have had the patience and curiosity to read this post. I'm offering you a flower from my mother's garden!

1wvid0emfq.jpg

pe5ykzeiih.jpg

Sort:  

What a wonderful post @bluemoon I really get a sense of the country and the land looks very fertile. That is a huge market with so many fresh vegetables and fruit to choose from. I can almost smell that delicious aroma coming from those mushrooms. Yum! You are a very accommodating cook to take the time to prepare two different dishes to suit the whole family. They are very fortunate to have you cook for them.

My favourite images are your cute grandson and your mother showing how much they enjoyed their meal. Thanks so much for sharing these engaging photos of your loved ones with us. Have a fabulous weekend.

I am happy that I managed to correctly transmit the atmosphere in the family and the market. Thanks for the way you appreciate the posting. It means a lot to me. And I love the images with the two extremes of life, the one at the beginning and the one at the other end.

You really did capture a peaceful, happy family atmosphere and you are like me when I go back home to New Zealand. I always experience a lot of nostalgia because, my relatives and the places I grew up in hold many special memories. Your mother has a very calm and happy expression and is obviously pleased to be surrounded by her family. Cherish the moments. 🌺

Thank you, @trudeehunter. I'm glad you're experiencing similar experiences. You perfectly understand the essence of my post and thank you again.

Always a pleasure @bluemoon 🌼

Hey Denise, do you like mushrooms? Wanna trade? Mushrooms for lobsters? Thank you!

Yes!!! Yes, I do! Lobsters are a dime a dozen here. (an expression meaning they are cheap and plentiful!) I still have little skill in picking mushrooms. I only know the ones that I grew up with and my mother and grandmother would show me, but, after I left home, and went to distinctly different parts of the country, it all became Greek to me. I didn't dare trust my guess.

On another note, your market is wonderful! How fortunate to have so many different things available and in such quantity! I mean it!

Your family is so sweet and I can tell how much they mean to you. The way you talk about them, cook for them (My family likes me to cook for them too!) and take photos of their lovely faces. I am so happy you get to see your mom and your nephew. You caught your older newphew by surprise when he picked the parsley! His expression is priceless!

Does this recipe work with most mushrooms? Another wonderfully delicious meal coming from your kitchen, Dan. You know, you will have to write these down and print up a book for your son andhis wife. Although you probably thing they wouldn't care, someday, he will want to pass down your cooking to his family.

Thanks again!! I love your awesome posts!

Upped and Steemed Tip!

The time has come to answer, I have delayed a bit ... you make such complete comments that I want to try to get up to their value. That's why I have to feel good when I answer.
For now I have to forget the lobsters ... I hope to solve the problem in September when I hope to be back in Thassos. I understand you know how to pick mushrooms, I have no courage though I have been several times but carefully supervised by my brother's wife. Anyway, I have to admit I had emotions after eating the mushrooms!
Yes, that is ... you understand the essence of the relationship in my family, I'm going there quite rarely, about twice a year, that's why we enjoy even more when we see each other. You're right with the grandson with parsley. He had brought me parsley twice before, and then I thought I had to photograph him. I asked him to bring me parsley and the third time, he did not really enjoy it because it was with some computer games. He was very surprised when he saw that I was photographing him!

Yes, can be used any kind of mushrooms, but the best are the mushrooms of the forest. For the stew, cook the same, a little onions and mushrooms fry in the saucepan ... often the mushrooms release water and no more water needs to be added. Cook very quickly, add salt and green (parsley or dill). I forgot, after you turn off the fire add a few crushed pieces of garlic. The taste of mushrooms is felt more strongly in this food. Add cream and taste can change and you should be eaten with polenta.

I'm glad you're cooking for the family ... it's very nice. Thanks for the idea of the recipe book.

Lovely idea! What a family affair celebrated around a meal

Thank you very much for reading my post and the nice words!

Beautiful and active market.it isnt that small

Yes, isn't so small. Thank you!

What a wonderful post! I also cook for my relatives when I travel back to visit 😉 So charming to see your nephew with the parsley. Thanks for the glimpse into your life 😊

Thank you! I'm glad I'm not the only one who cooks when visiting. I'm glad you liked my post, I think that by presenting something in our lives readers can understand more easily how life is in other parts of the world. I find that in essence it's similar.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 9 SBD worth and should receive 111 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @bluemoon! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68916.78
ETH 3733.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73