MARKETFRIDAY IN COLOURFUL AFRICA

in #marketday6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1086.JPG

One of my favourite places to go, when travelling is the market. You get to really experience the culture, cuisine and community. Because we seldom leave our homestead I seldom get to explore new places. Every week I can appreciate others #MarketFriday initiated by @dswigle but today I get to make my own contribution!

IMG_1124.JPG

Imagine my surprise finding a day market when wondering the quaint streets of Knysna. My husband was doing two days of training so I explored with my little boy. Despite being less than 5 hours from our dry inland homestead this coastal town is world's away from what we are used to. It is lush, green, humid... and filled with activity both local and tourist!

IMG_1112.JPG

The Knysna Market is more like an exotic outdoor gallery. It has a beautiful selection of art on display. Most of the items made by people from the rural villages who need to make an income to support extended families.

IMG_1090.JPG

Often they have very limited education and no training in their specific art, outside of what they learn from parents and grandparents.

IMG_1096.JPG

The tools of their trade as well as the supplies are often made with the bare essentials that they can find as well as afford. The creativity and pride in their work is impressive!

IMG_1099.JPG

Apart from the very popular South African themed paintings, murals and tablecloths, you can buy beautifully carved wooden bowls and African animal replicas. There is painted clay pottery. Intricately woven bags and skirts. Unique baskets hand woven. Even musical instruments.

IMG_1113.JPG

My favourite part is that the artists themselves are often the one manning the stall. And they are as colourful as their work. They enthusiastically explain the origins and intent behind their work. While there is no food available in this market, the experience is a flavour filled one.

IMG_1085.JPG

As an artist (who seldom gets to paint) I can really appreciate the effort put into each item. This market was a unique experience. Although I am South African it felt like I was a tourist on some exotic island.

IMG_1097.JPG

Sort:  

Oh wow. Thank you so much

Wow! This is been a really wonderful Market to peruse! I absolutely adore when markets are in quaint little towns and villages, especially when they are so very different than my own. Being in land is a very different world than being in the coastal towns. I've lived on the water my entire life and I find it very hard being in land, almost like I can't breathe except I know that that is not true.

It is exactly like an exotic outdoor gallery, isn't it? There's so much are laid out right before your very eyes. I love that they learn something that they can pass on from generation to generation to generation and I love the fact that there is pride in their work in presentation. The wooden bowls and replicas are fascinating because I know how much work goes into them and I have always been a fan of clay pottery I would have to say that you made one wonderful impression for your first Market Friday. Or any work it Friday to be honest.

Thank you so much for the wonderful post! It is most delightful to be in your acquaintance and I look forward to reading more from you.

Upped and steemed

Tip!

Thank you Denise! I agree with you. Those quaint village markets have a unique flare. I grew up on the coast and now live inland. We seldom get to the ocean but when we do I remember how much I love it. It does feel like you breathe better there. At least our homestead is near the mountains and quite isolated. I would suffocate in the city. I used to suffocate when I lived in the city.

Thank you for your support and lovely response. Pleased to "meet" you to....I enjoy your poetry

@dswigle you enjoy my latest Africa post. Have a lovely day, Denise!
https://steemit.com/love/@buckaroo/marrying-africa

For me, I probably would pickup a few of the wood carved utensils!

Interesting to see how different people have different preferences

howdy today @buckaroo! this is amazing. I could spend hours there and also a fortune buying up the place, everything looks wonderful! I gotta get there someday! someone should get all these products online.
great post, loved it!

Even in this advanced age with technology being so integral to many, there are a good deal of South Africans who survive without it. Online is not something on their radar. But you'd be surprised at how cheap the stuff is, especially with our weak rand conversion

how interesting..well there ya go, we need to post their stuff on Amazon and help them make a bunch of money, the prices could be big and the profit margins would be huge.

Thank you for bringing me to a place I never would have seen otherwise. I'm happy you were able to get out and see the market! 😊 All the best!

Thank you @denisechips and you're welcome! I think this is the great thing about doing this type of contest, the #marketfriday really takes others on an adventure to a destination they probably never would get to!

First of all I want to congratulate you for the beautiful post. Thank you for taking me to South Africa so I can see that folk art is similar even though there are thousands of miles away between our countries. I especially liked painted clay pottery, especially vivid colors.

The painted pottery is my favourite as well! I could have the tea and breakfast sets in my house. I love the vivid colours. Thank you, once more, for your input @bluemoon

With pleasure!

How beautiful!!

It certainly is! Great gifts, for the international tourists. Although I really loved their tea and breakfast sets

looking at all of your pics, I felt like had market trip. First painting is really good. Keep up the good work.

Thank you so much. That first one is my favourite

This is beyond beautiful. Good art can make anything look Pleasing. Good presentation of a wonderful place <3

Indeed, good art does make anything pleasing. Thanks for your support @hananali

You're welcome, Keep us updated about more such tours


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

This is an honour! Thank you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32