MARRYING AFRICA

in #love6 years ago (edited)

Imfolozi Wedding.JPG

Once upon a time in a land far far away ... there was a most beautiful love story with a tragic ending. This story is mine. And it is as though it is another lifetime from which I have awakened to find it is a dream.

Imfolozi rhino.JPG

Some of you know a little of my story. Most of you don't. Please don't reach for the box of tissues to cry into as tonight is not the night for crying. Tonight is a night for memories. Memories of Africa. I didn't dream of Africa. I live in Africa. But about a decade ago I married a man who very much epitomized Africa. Specifically; South Africa. He was a trails officer and we lived in the bush. At night we could hear the distant call of the wild. Lions after a kill. The scavenging giggling of hyena or the soothing call of owls. During the day different buck would effortlessly hop over our very tall protective fences into the garden. Baboon would ravish our vegetable garden. Monkeys the flower beds. Sunset and sunrise is always magnificent in the African bush. Often we would watch elephants - 100 strong - congregating at the waters edge at dusk. Other times we would be up before dawn to wait at the watering hole when rhino would bring their young or a conglomeration of giraffe, zebra or the lone buffalo would meet.

Cape Vidal 1.JPG

From boyhood, my first husband, passionately loved animals and desired to work in the bush. He was a visionary and always knew what he wanted. (He always wanted to a barefooted wedding on the beach of a game reserve - he got it!) Ultimately he became one of the most highly qualified and experienced trails officers. He was sought after and worked at a number of South African game reserves but his heart was always set on Imfolozi. A trails officer is different to a game ranger. Very different. A trails officer takes people into the very remote reaches of the wild. You walk, under guard, where no vehicles can drive. Most of the time the animals are quite oblivious to you. It is the most thrilling, yet humbling experience.

DSC_0218.JPG

Imfolozi is one of the largest Game Reserves. This magnificent and protected place is spread around the confluence of two rivers in KwaZulu Natal; the Black and White Imfolozi (uMfolozi) rivers. Whether the rivers were named after the once numerous (now endangered) black and white rhino or vice versa, is not known. Imfolozi is the corrupted Zulu word meaning type of nettle bush, believed to be named after those growing wild along the river banks.

IMFOLOLZI 014.jpg

Imfolozi Game Reserve is home to a wide selection of wild birds and beasts. They are protected by passionate men and women, who are often threatened and injured or unjustly suspended in fulfilling their life's ambition - the survival of these African animals. Many, like the Rhino, are fast heading to extinction. It is a tragic reflection of both a corrupt government as well as the insatiable greed of mankind.

Imfolozi W 2.JPG

How long will these animals roam free through the deep valleys and steep hills of Imfolozi? Will our children also enjoy both savannah and coastal plains of Imfolozi where the rhino, nyala, elephant, leopard, buffalo, giraffe, hyena, zebra, lion, kudu, wild dog, eland, cheetah, wildebeest, springbok roam freely and without fear?

IMFOLOLZI 024.jpg

So it was fitting that his life work would culminate and end with the fulfillment of his dream. Cancer claims so many. Cancer claims younger and younger. But in his short life he had lived the dream. So many around the world - myself included - have been privileged to really taste Africa. May others rise up to protect the beautiful beasts of Africa.

Imfolozi Return 024.jpg

Perhaps it is true that the best of men die young. Perhaps growing old together was not the destiny. Perhaps more love and happiness was contained within a short young marriage than many experience in a lifetime. Perhaps his life was a shadow of those of the animals he loved and protected, senselessly snuffed out before their time.

Edit to add the sequel: Ode to Africa https://steemit.com/love/@buckaroo/ode-to-africa

Cape Vida.JPG

Sort:  

Wow, what a sweet and sad love story. Africa through you is beautiful. I can only appreciate it from here.

I have you on autovote so not to miss any of your posts. I just now read this and I'm glad I did. I am glad he is not suffering now. I did not cry, I shared your memories. Thank you for the gift of Africa through you.

Oh thanks. Although I'm sorry you don't actually read them all! Did you see the sequel? Ode to Africa?

I finished reading the sequel :) I read from oldest to newest and try to catch up. Many times I get busy and miss upvoting your posts so I had you on autovote. Then come back later and comment appropriately rather than just type a no-nonsense comment. I can't do that nonsense hahaha.

My thoughts exactly! I also feel that it's best to not comment than just write rubbish. Even in the replying. I hate it when someone just makes a "Great post. Please follow me back" comment. Did they even read it or just looking for those upvotes? Have you seen Curation League that @abh12345 is running? It's fascinating.

Such a wonderfully romantic post! Thank you so much for sharing this - both the romance of love and the romance of Africa. Even with the sadness that goes with it. You will always have the memories.

Plenty of memories @viking-ventures! I'm happy to share and that others can appreciate the double romance

Perhaps it is true that the best of men die young. Perhaps growing old together was not the destiny. Perhaps more love and happiness was contained within a short young marriage than many experience in a lifetime. Perhaps his life was a shadow of those of the animals he loved and protected, senselessly snuffed out before their time

No Truer words could express more than you have here! I am very glad to always share in your experiences, several sad and tear streaking, but always insightful, they cause many a reader to reflect on their lives...just as this one does. And what a memory!

Thank you for such a thoughtful and compassionate answer @mirrors. I'm so sorry for the teary part! I'll have to refrain from posting more about that bittersweet time in my life. I must admit I am glad that you found it insightful and I hope that others will reflect through my sharing these memories

No need to refrain, i mean, There is a lot to learn from such experiences, one of the many advantages of the community we re here building. So really, so long as you are not uncomfortable sharing them, i am sure there is many a person to whom your experiences speak.

Thanks for your kind words.

Such a beautiful love story @buckaroo! Unfortunately, fortunately, I don't know anymore, but I stand in similar shoes and am elated that there comes a time of no tears and just memories.

I love the connection to the animals and Reserves. The school that I taught at, back in Canada, had a big connection to the Ol Pejeta Reserve in Kenya (the connection is too much to explain here), but it was a place where we desperately tried to save one of the last white rhinos.

Your photos and story is stunning; I've passed it on to c-squared and/or curie and am hoping it gets picked up by either.

Thank you for opening your heart and sharing this wonderful story <3

My heart aches for you @lynncoyle1! It is a horrible place to be. It's like you are between two worlds. You can't go back. You can't go forward (although you have to) but you can't live in the present either.

Thank you for opening a little of your heart to me. I really understand. Also about the white rhino. It is such a tragedy that the few are losing this battle to save these majestic creatures. Thank you for the share

Thank you so much for that @buckaroo! I'm sorry that you understand, but selfishly, it's nice for me to be understood :)

My school helped fund the conservancy where a new baby white rhino was born :)

Such a beautiful love story, told from the perspective of the lover and the loved. How fitting that a man so full of passion about his job that he moved to his next station in life while he is at his peak, for someone like that cannot live on without his mission.

I am so happy that you were able to share your life with someone so passionate and caring.

This story will sit with me for a long time and may God Bless you. Thank you for such a wonderful write.

Upped and Steemed

Succinctly summed up Denise! All things considered it is true and I've never actually looked at it that way: a man cannot live without his mission.... thank you for that

The bittersweet parts are what make you unique, who you are. It is a beautiful story that should be shared and stored here on the blockchain for future generations of your family. I understand what it is like to lose a life partner, soulmate, to a horrible disease. My husband passed three years ago. The tears lessen and the memories become sweet and savoury.

Oh @cecicastor! As I wrote to @lynncoyle1 my heart aches for you. It is a horrific journey to take. I am so sorry that it has been a valley you have had to pass. The tears do lessen and the memories strengthen. And I have found that eventually it becomes a blessing - for others. One of my closest friends lost her husband three years ago and I was privileged to be able to walk part of this dark valley with her. May you always be comforted by the Almighty One Who numbers our tears and gives joy for ashes

It is an awful journey that changes who you are forever. It does become a blessing for others. You become a stronger person. You learn to pick up the pieces and carry on because others depend on you.

Absolutely. You can never be who you were before.

I'm reading you and @buckaroo's thread here with saddened interest. Thank you both for your candidness.

My heart bleeds for you and your husband. I know how difficult it is to see a loved one slowly slip from you. It takes time. We did a lot of grieving together which helped but you still feel like you are hit in the face with a ton of bricks. There is no easy way to go through this.

It takes a lot of time. Sometimes I'm grateful for it, other times for both of us, it seems like torture. Then there's the times when I can feel resentful to him, the universe, but the guilt that follows is as tortuous. You're right about this though,

There is no easy way to go through this.

and no right way either.

No, it is just something we have to go through...

@lynncoyle1 I absolutely agree with what @cecicastor says. It is simply something you go through. Don't be surprised or alarmed about you different feelings. It is part of the process. We were never created for this terrible suffering and loss. Our body, mind, spirit cope (or don't) in any way possible. Breath. Walk the road that you still have together. I often wondered if preparing together is better or sudden loss. I don't think there is an answer. Just know you ARE NOT ALONE!

Pricasso's heart melts for you, so sorry for your loss my lady, I truly am. This was such a heartfelt sad yet uplifting read, thank you.

Be Blessed
Yours Always
Pricasso

Such a compassionate comment, thank you @pricasso

que bella historia, muy romántica

very touching post. it reminds us to live fully while we're here <3

Absolutely! Thanks for your support @mountainjewel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57