High On Dispensaries #3 - My Shopping Spree

in #marijuana7 years ago (edited)

spreethumb

Sometimes I just have to drop some bills.

What can I say? It's a cash-only business, after all. It happens about once a month, at roughly the exact same time that I get paid. You understand.

moneyhand

Welcome to High On Dispensaries #3!

This is a series I'm creating to share tips and tricks about buying, consuming and understanding cannabis products from a dispensary. So far, responses have been great! Thank you all so much for your support. I'll keep it up if you will.


In the dispensary where I work, I am actually one of the best customers. I believe in the products that we sell and I am 100% behind the industry as a whole. Once I made the switch from shady dealings I never looked back.😎

THC

Anyway, all I intend to do with this post is describe yesterday's little shopping spree to you.

I figured that most of you are pretty unfamiliar with the specific cannabis products available. More importantly, I figured you're all wondering how much everything costs. I'll tell you what I paid!
shoppingcart

Here we go.

First, I picked up an IndigoPro catridge for my wife. This cute little purple guy is amazing.
indigopen

  • Active THC - 80%
  • Terpene-Infused Flavors
  • Organic Cultivation

They use a state-of-the-art carbon dioxide extraction, which is the preferred method for vaping. Those .5 gram cartridges are sold for $45 in our store. The battery that vapes them costs $30, but we already have a couple. This is all-around the best vape company in Colorado.

My wife @carrieallen will be doing a review of the IndigoPro soon. Give her a follow if you're interested.
monkeythumb

Next, I knew I needed some sugar wax.

Sometimes we like to put it on top of bowls we smoke, and sometimes we dab it. All the wax we sell in our shop is $26 for one gram. It's a good deal, and we have a lot of choices. This time I went with Sour Diesel, a sativa-dominant wax from a company called Yeti Farms.
yetiwax

The next thing I reached for on my shopping spree was a caviar joint.

Allow me to explain cannabis caviar.

They take some great top-shelf quality bud, then they use science to force high-grade hash oil through the bud, soaking it to its core. But they don't stop there. Then they go ahead and cover the bud with keif. Keif, for those of you who are unfamiliar, is basically trichomes that have fallen off the buds. It's a fine golden powder, extremely high in THC.

doofus

So that's caviar. It's hands-down my favorite product in the industry.

And because I like it so much, we sort of specialize in caviar in my shop. The joint that I picked up yesterday was a 1.25 gram roll from a company called XG Platinum (The best in CO caviar IMHO). It's a pure indica that tests at 44% THC. The strain is Ghost Dream x San Fernando Valley Kush. That one joint set me back $25.
caviarjoint

Worth it.

I definitely needed some bud to go with all my concentrates.

So i picked up an eighth (3.5g) of one of our choice specials, Black Ice. That's another $28. Nothing fancy to see here, so no pic. 🤓


The last thing I wanted was to try a new edible. We had gotten some lovely little gummy candies from a new brand called TasteBudz that I really wanted to try. So I did! I grabbed a ten-pack of watermelon flavored indica gummies. This one was $20. Having tried them out last night, I must say I'm a fan. They're delicious!
meloncandies

There was one more thing I couldn't pass up on my shopping spree,

and that was bud samples. I grabbed .5 gram bags of Red-Headed Stranger, White Widow and Krome's the White. The best perk of my job is that I always have access to $3 one-half gram samples of any bud on our shelf. This is great, because it allows me to keep trying everything we sell, so I can give the best advice to customers. I also get 20% off of normal purchases for my employee discount. So although it may seem like I spent a fortune on my shopping spree, my grand total was...

monies

One Hundred Twenty-Four Dollars!



I hope this gave you an idea of what the shopping experience is like from the perspective of a seasoned dispensary shopper (and manager). I notice in my work that a lot of people don't end up buying as much as they wanted to because of nervousness, jitters or whatever. Don't be nervous. Take your time and take advantage.

meerkat

Thanks for reading about my shopping spree!

Follow me for upcoming issues of High On Dispensaries.

Apparently I have a lot of information to share with you. And with your continued support, maybe I can go on larger sprees. 😁

Here's a link to my first issue, basically an introduction.

And here's my second, about dabbing.

Special thanks to my lovely wife, @carrieallen for helping me with formatting.

All images are mine or free from pixabay.com
This one's me.

meagain

Hope you all have a great day!

Now let's all go upvote some extraordinary content!

Sort:  

Thanks for the very entertaining post, I'll definitely give you a follow! I got my medical card about a year ago and really enjoy my dispensary shopping trips. Coincidentally they always occur within about a day after payday for me too haha. I love seeking out first time patient deals as the prices in Los Angeles are still pretty steep overall especially for flower.

Thanks! Followed you back. Welcome!
You got a good screen name. In a year, people are gonna be like "how did that guy get that screen name?"

Do you happen to have Netflix? If so, have you watched any of Disjointed? It's a sitcom about the medical biz in California. I actually posted a review of it a few days ago. I was just wondering how accurate it is.

For example, is smoking and vaping actually allowed inside your medical dispensaries?

I was completely shocked that beerme was available as a screen name. I'm a huge craft beer fan myself, and you have some really great breweries in Colorado that I'm dying to visit!

I literally just watched the first episode of disjointed a couple nights ago but I'll check out your review before I comment further about it.

I have only found 2 dispensaries so far that allow smoking or vaping inside. Both have separate rooms for this and one dispensary also has a great private outdoor patio to enjoy as well.

That looks like some good stuff! If you are in WAwa state, we should all work together to undo the damage done by the asshats in the legislature who made it impossible to use Crypto in the dispensaries here. The argument is "But terrorists." Well...terrorists use cash...and banks...and cars... and everything else government twats use, too... hell, terrorists and criminals have used governments to advance their agendas, so we might as well ban them first and foremost.

Dude. I read about this the other day. Isn't it ALL crypto in the state of Washington will not be legal to use/withdraw/have/etc? We are still cash only in Colorado at the dispensaries. After reading what I did about Washington I'd say a mass exodus is in order. A lot of crazy folk on that side of the continent. 😉

P.S. This is Carrie, Chris's wife (from this post). He just didn't know anything about this.😎

Oh good gods, yeah, there ARE a LOT of crazy folk here. I don't know what their plans are, but I know currently Crpyto is considered property in WA, but you aren't required to report it. The IRS however, wants to know because they consider it a commodity (I believe) and they want their cut from the taxable gains and losses.

Lol, we just moved OUT of the Rocky Mountains... no way I'm going back anytime soon.

I saw the stuff re: the IRS, too. It will be hard for them at first. Same as if I was holding actual gold I mined....cause, how would they know?

Someone should stay and fight the good fight there. I put you officially, unofficially in charge.

I'll stay here were there is more wildlife than humans.😯 I'd prefer a big stinky yak to some of the folks on your side most any day. 🤣

Good luck out there.

Lol, I haven't seen any yaks out this way...but deer push through our yard all the time and I'd seen a squirrel just a bit ago. I have always heard you can only make change in your circle of infliuence, so I am trying to infiltrate the bigotted "anti-bigots" (who ironically don't understand their own bigotry...hipsters tsk tsk tsk) to try and infuse the realm with some sanity and rationality.

I will most likely fail, because I sit right between Seattle AND Portland....shudders But I can never give up, and I must never rest. For Idiots abound!

Also, it puts us out of the Yellowstone Blast Zone, we just have to worry about ash and volcanic fallout.

Bwhahahaah! Well, the yaks are brought in. They like the altitude and cold, dry weather. Very similar to Tibet.

It's true about making a change.

I had a rough last couple of years here with these crazy folks. It's like their brains went full libtard and fell out. I started to hide and then fill my head with ideas about what they were thinking/doing... No doubt horrible things. 😉

I'm just now coming out of my cave. I completely left social media (which I LOVED), but am inching back in.... in better company.

I wish I could talk to them, but it's hard when they yell, "Nazi!" whilst wearing pussy hats....

Essentially, I live in a mini Portland .... shudders, except it doesn't rain much here. 😜

You give me hope... in humanity and myself. If you can do it- so can I. 😍

Thanks. It's tough, for sure, dealing with the "anti" bigots but it's like Robert Anton Wilson used to say, "Stupidity MUST serve a purpose, and that purpose is to impel intelligence to ever greater heights." It just sucks that the Stupid is getting thick enough to stir.

I have real problem with like... REAL Liberals who are at least self aware and don't oppose things just because their team collectively agreed it's bad. Same with the other side. It's so hard being a Centrist somedays. You can be a Nazi-Snowflake in less than 60 minutes. Lol.

sleep gary from rick and morty was amazing!
"Maybe we'll see chewbaca, yeah i'd like that"

that show is super awesome. Does anyone know if there are more episodes to season 3 available? I''ve been living under a rock since April.

Thanks, @sleepygary! There's a lot that cannabis and cryptocurrency have in common - They both have a lot of struggle in their future, for example.

I wonder which altcoin is going to be the one for the US weed industry. I don't have any money in any of them, but there's so many going for the title.

As far as terrorists, the more of them who get their hands on pot, the better ;)

That is too true about the terrorists. Get them access to Pot and Psilocybin. Maybe some Ayahuasca.

I am starting to come to the belief that ANYONE who wants to enter public office should be required to take a psychedelic trip. It wouldn't be forced on anyone; If you want the job, you take the medicine. If you don't want the meds, don't even run for office. and one brownie every week at least.

I am curious which coin is going to be the winner, too, and funny enough, I don't have any money in them. I did find a potcoin faucet, though so I was going to drip that until I had 1 full coin and then... I don't know. have 1 potcoin, I guess. Lol.

🤖💬 This post has been Blessed with a 91.50 % upvote from @cannabiscurator 💚🤖💛 Plugged in by @carrieallen I can Help You Pay It Forward and Steem your fellow 🎁💁Steemian back. Simply Transfer 0.042 to @cannabiscurator and the 420 Steemit Post ⛓Link you want 🔼 Upvoted in the Memo.

More details @ https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@cannabiscurator/let-s-grow-the-cannabis-community-together

Steemian Stoner Squad 🙏Please Upvote This Comment To Help Me Grow our Cannabis community on Steemit. Your support helps increase the 💪value of my 🔼contributions.

small_man.png

Peace in Blunts Fam 🔥💨

Thank you, @cannabiscurator ! Upvoting to help our community grow!

Upvoted and Resteemed by our Cannabis Curation Team, the transientflowers cannabis curation project!

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Helping to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!


Last Update: Cannabis Curation Project - Team UP

Upvoted and Resteemed by our Cannabis Curation Team, the transientflowers cannabis curation project!

Do you want more rewards on original cannabis content?

Helping to build a strong cannabis community on Steemit!


Last Update: Cannabis Curation Project - Team UP

GREAT post bro! REALy steemit vibe off this! its a perfect steemit post! dontw orry if it doesnt make a lot KEEP posting em like this and ll try to get some people top upvote this i LOVE this man KEEP posting! KEEP POSTINGF tho i want u to make monety with these type sof posyts! postlike this and u will hace an audience soon!

i am glad i could curate and get it over $3 with my 40 cent full power 100% upvote! i think @tytran would like top curate this too! some whales in other nations without legal cannabis may not be able to asspociate themselves with cannabis yert but the cannabis community on steemit is massive u will make a LOT look for attention from @rawpride they might wanna curate this! and the other people on #cannabis and @tylersr may enjoy curating this! i know a lot of people in #cannabis wil wanna curate this! find curators bro!

Thanks a lot, @ackza! I'm not worried. I'm a believer.

I came into Steemit in the best possible way, I think. I started with crypto about nine months ago, discovering STEEM very early. I started off as a small-time investor before I even had tried the platform.

Now that we got a new computer, my wife @carrieallen and me have been able to start creating content. I could not be more excited. I'm just gonna keep making as much valuable content as I can and investing as much money as I can. We're both very grateful that we've already seen results thanks to supportive Steemit user like you.

Cheers! Really appreciate the kind words.

Do you happen to have any specific advice about how to find more curators?

@carrieallen and I have been promoting our posts as much as we can in comments, communities, etc. but I'm not sure how best to reach specific people. Should I just comment on their posts? Thanks

Great post! Medical passed here last November. We will supposedly see product around the end of the year or the first few months of 2018. I've already applied and have been approved for my card, so now I'm just waiting until the dispensary in my town opens. I've been in a few in CO during a visit there, but they were all recreational. I'm curious to see the difference, as I've never been in a medical dispensary.

Followed. I've been writing some articles about the progress of MMJ here in Arkansas. Feel free to have a look. I'm looking forward to more High on Dispensaries!

Wow! A few years ago I never would've guessed Arkansas would be allowing medical. A lot of progress is being made. It'll be so great for you when you're able to go shop in a hometown dispensary.

I've actually never shopped in a medical dispensary either. Product has always been easily available around these parts, and only certain doctors can issue a med recommendation.

There are a couple of main differences here between recreational and medical. One is that you can get way stronger edibles in a medical shop. The other is that prices are better for medical patients. The two are kept pretty separate in CO. Fortunately, in the rec shops we can sell up to an ounce per person per day, or the equivalent in concentrates. For most users, there's no need for medical here.

Thanks for your feedback. I'll be following you for updates on the MMJ situation in Arkansas.

Congratulations @chrisroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yeah! Bring on those badges!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43