Mom's Cousin Lenna: Nappy little tart - Day 606: 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: nap

in #marchmadness5 years ago

Mom's cousin Lenna stood out in a crowd

in her younger days, Lenna "the little tart," the sassy one, the Sweet and Sour, with snips and snails and puppy dog tails. "Nappy" was another word for it. DeLorean didn't understand that one until she took up sewing in Home Ec class and, due to a lack of spatial orientation skills, had ruined a velvet dress. She got better at un-sewing than she ever did at sewing. DeLorean did salvage the dress, after ripping it apart and sewing in a newly cut piece with the nap running the right way. She sewed a doll dress out of the ruined piece, not that her mom ever let her hear the end of it, at five dollars a yard for that Christmas-green velvet.



source


Nap refers to fabric with a vertical “pile” or any texture that is raised from the fabric surface--velvet, corduroy, faux fur. When you brush the nap in one direction, it will take on a certain sheen. Brush it in the opposite direction, and the sheen will go darker or lighter. This matters if you sew. Laying out a pattern on yards of fabric, you must be sure the nap runs the same way on all parts of the finished garment, or the flipped piece will stand out like the drunken aunt dancing at your wedding.

"You're a nappy one," Mom used to tell her. Well, she stopped sticking out like a sore thumb after pledging her troth to Dwayne.

Troth.

Once upon a time, that nappy little tart DeLorean pledged her troth to that misogynist troll Dwayne.

Troth rhymed with "both," but those pledges of fidelity, loyalty, and respect were all one-sided. The same damn fate had fallen on Lenna and Mom and DeLorean: to be yoked with selfish SOBs.

Now DeLorean faced another nappy little asshat known as Rory. Lenna's youngest.

"You greeted me with a gun," she said. "You wanna call that none of my business, I might call the sheriff."

Rory snorted. "Yeah, that's what Shirley did after I avenged Houdini's tragic demise."

DeLorean marveled once again at the way he'd segue from Lenna's blue-collar dialect to a more erudite kind of urban reject.

"After she set her pit bull on Houdini for the crime of peeing on those Dodge Ram tires," he said, "I watched for a night that truck was in the parking lot at Hardee's. I had a spray of stink juice, the contents of which I will never reveal.,though I wll say this: nothing sticks like egg yolk to a car, and nothing stinks like rotten egg."

DeLorean couldn't help but smile.

"Trouble is, Hardee's had surveillance cameras. It was Dick and Shirley what got me in that Anger Management facility. That which you all refer to as a nut house."

Oh dear. He'd heard. DeLorean had to think fast and hard as to whether or not she had carelessly used the word nut house in proximity with the name Rory, and if any bystanders might be so thoughtless as to go telling him she said that.

She really hated that about drama queens and gossips. If you're someone's friend, you don't go repeating negative shit other people say about you just to sound like you're some kind of ally or confidante. She had zero female friends, in part because she hated gossip.

"Rory. I would have done a lot worse than spray a bottle of stink over Shirley's tires, given what she did to Houdini. I did not come here to judge you or cause you any kind of trouble. I just wanted to visit my mom's cousin, now that Mom is dead. But you won't even tell me where she is. The cemetery, maybe? I never found her in the obits, but it costs money to list those in the newspaper, so, ok."

Rory stood there with his own little mutt as his side, pretty much eye level with DeLorean, and she tried not to remember calling him a little pipsqueak, among other things, back in the day.

"Mom was broken in spirit after what Shirley done," he said, lapsing back into Lenna-speak. "She quit eating three days out of every week, lost a shit load of weight, and wandered into the desert to pray, like John the Baptist, minus the horse-hair shirt. Dad was gone, so she took back her Catholic faith like Linus and his security blanket, if you remember your Charlie Brown."

DeLorean nodded. Who didn't remember Linus and his blanket?

"Once I got out of the program," he made air quotes with his fingers, "I moved back here to keep Maw from martyring herself. She took up yoga, but she didn't give up the starvation diet, which turned out to be some 72-hour fasting fad that's all the rage now. Said to ward off cancer and cure diabetes and then some."

Rory's blue gaze seemed to shift down to DeLorean's stout torso, and that one glance felt like velvet must feel when someone rubs it against the nap.

Fasting. Prayer. Yoga. Goat yoga, no less.

source

> The goats add a level of fun and amusement

that other animals can't match, not even the cats of You-Tubes, Rory had told her when she caught him striking those impossible poses on the top of a rock. She had driven him to "counting to ten," and longer, which was a step above what Dwayne said she drove him to, he with the verbal sticks and stones and more recently, the smashed GPS and the bruises that got Sandy the nosy nurse all over her case. Now it was that Rory. That skinny little bearded zealot with his weird dog, and his yoga goats wandering in the sand around them, bleating and doing their darnedest to get her to crack a smile. That Rory, standing there, daring to give her some sort of accusing look. She might just as well get back into that burgundy spray-painted minivan and drive back to Dwayne.

But first, she had to see Lenna.

Or no. First, she had to bust out laughing at those goats.

Day 606: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: nap

Sort:  

I'm enjoying this series immensely and hoping the HIPPO can find even a small place in it somewhere.......
It’s the Wednesday prompt delivery team here with the wild word for today:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-606-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-hippo

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you!!
I love hippos - and rhinos. So would Lenna. :)

Fabulous! I love the bit about the goat yoga, of course, but the line about Rory's glance feeling like velvet being rubbed the wrong way was inspired. Very apt description!

You've inspired me. :)
Thank you so much for reading and commenting!

🏆 Hi @carolkean! You have received 0.05 SBD and 0.05 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @wandrnrose7 @redheadpei
Subscribe and increase the reward for @carolkean :) | For investors.

You have me intrigued as to where Lenna is. She may still be out in the desert eating locusts, 😊
Great descriptions “She quit eating three days out of every week, lost a shit load of weight, and wandered into the desert to pray, like John the Baptist, minus the horse-hair shirt..”

Haha, Love the goat yoga photo!

That was for you and @goat-girlz but also because it's so popular these days, I could find goat yoga in my own neck o' the woods if I wanted to try it. :)

@goat-girlz could start a class as her goats are friendly.

They are very friendly, but much too big to be jumping on people! I could start a goat sumo wrestling class, though.

Posted using Partiko Android

They must use miniature goats for the yoga. Sumo goat wrestling would be something to see. 😂 Most of those wrestlers wear what looks like a giant diaper.

I would pay good money to see a goat in one of those diapers! They do use miniature goats for yoga. They stay small enough not to break your back.

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL!!! You two are priceless!!! In addition to Friday Favorites, I'll have to create a weekly Favorites for "Best dialogue in the comment box" of a freewrite!!

I've been reeeeally holding out on where Lenna is! She took Marlin the mummy with her, and now I have an incentive to write-write-write to the part where DeLorean finds Lenna. Thanks so much for your kind words!

First of all...favourite words (I spelled in the way of Great Brittain cause I like how it looks on my screen).

Houdini----love the name/word jusy slips off the tongue so easily

stink juice---hard not to giggle when reading

"drunken aunt dancing at your wedding"----that conjurs up some memories

segue----great word

Ah, you're SUCH a great reader!!!
So attentive and appreciative. What have I done to deserve this?
#gottaloveTed!

Your choice of words is intriguing. I enjoy finding little Easter egg treasures of words that I dont often see.

Which word choice - segue? Now that big cities rent out "segway" scooters, people will never remember how to spell segue.

Good heavens you can order one now at WalMart!
*This is nothing but a scooter!! A motorized scooter!

We have Segways in this part if the country and I am familiar with these.

Segue:

a movement without interruption from one piece of music, part of a story, subject, or situation to another:
He stumbled over words and made awkward segues.
Chapter 9 provides a nice segue into Chapter 10.

I am familiar with what a segue is. That is why I said "I like your use of it"

Of course you know what it means - my apologies for making it look otherwise! - I had to look it up myself to make sure it meant movement outside the original music terminology. I risk looking santimonious, preachy, condescending, and annoying when I do this, but my obsession for dictionaries and encyclopedias just obliterates any common sense... when you called attention to the word, I got to thinking maybe I was using it incorrectly. The way I had just confused personification and anthropomorphism.
Pleading for mercy and knowing full well I wouldn't have to waste words pleading if I just said things right the first time

I kust took another look myself and learned it came about in the music sense in 1748. If I am correct it wasnt used as a literal transitioning sense until 1958. I read that on the computer so you know it must be true. Lol

LOL!
Lord Google would never mislead us.

My mom said "you sure are nappy"

She said it so loudly that i woke up from my nap. Lol

A punster is amongst us!
Watch out, next thing ya know, a poet will be lurking!!!

"She really hated that about drama queens and gossips. If you're someone's friend, you don't go repeating negative shit other people say about you just to sound like you're some kind of ally or confidante. She had zero female friends, in part because she hated gossip"

Is this about me? I dont have a Steemit account but I lurk around here on and take screen shots of other peoples work. If this is about me spreading gossip I ginna call the pol-leece and tell em bout you. Dis has t be impersonalization, or dephamations of me charator or sumppin.

Aha! I knew it was you!! I suspected it all along!!!!

impersonalization - omg, that is rich!!!

Mondegreens ought to be on more IQ tests. :)

"Just between you and I...."

(or, 'He gave Ted and I hell for joking around)
now that is one that should be on IQ tests. I swear 99% would flunk it. Along with lay vs lie.
And I know, I know, my dad always said "book smarts don't mean sick 'em," and "Your report card doesn't impress me. Now the day you get me an Alan wrench when I ask for one. That would impress me." OH NO in my head, I heard it as "Alan" wrench, but it's ALLEN wrench. Not quite so heinous as a mondegreen, but still. Still!!! No wonder Dad called me an idiot! I deserved it!!
(I'm trusting you to remember that we have already established a precedent of kidding each other.) :)

Oh....I remember. Lol

Uh.....i hope you are kidding. I was trying to be funny and use bad grammar like the stalkers on the movies do.

Bwa ha ha ha
OF COURSE I was kidding and using substandard English myself - I just mentioned "between you and I" because it's so ubiquitous and it grates on my ears, but everyone says it that way now. Popular songs perpetuate it. the Doors had an excuse - "for you and I" rhymed with stars fall from the sky.

Bwa ha ha ha

So, need a co-author, right? As much as I need one for plotting pacing, right? Heh heh heh
--"Dang! He's not taking the bait!" said the lurker. 'Now we can't sue them for slander. Or is it libel. Slander? Libel? What's the difference?"

"Libel is a written or published defamatory statement, while slander is defamation that is spoken by the defendant,"

came the voice of the journalism minor with the degree in English teaching who has "nothing better to do" than hang out at Steemit or pull weeds, according to the lurker's "mutual friend." Bwa ha ha

I totally cannot believe anyone at Steemit has time

to set up notifications of carolkean's comments and time to read the things and screen-shot them to some woman in the Midwest who isn't on Steemit herself. Seriously? How many sitcoms this could inspire? (The truth is too weird to be passed off as fiction.)

Sounds like an army of people each with their own special part in the surveillance. This one takes the screen shot, now this one folds it, this one puts it in the envelope oh thete is another to lick the stamp

I was away at a movie. Just got back home.

Ted. You know I expect you to check your cell phone during a movie to make sure you have not missed the latest, greatest words of carolkean.
Believe it or not, I said something like this once to a guy who apologized for not replying sooner to a mundane email of mine - and he was traumatized, thinking I *meant it when I chastised him for not tending immediately to my every word. I even use emojis, to no avail. My own mother and sisters cannot tell when I'm kidding. I should take up slapstick and leave irony or dry "humor" to those who are better at employing it. That said... my kids used to be creeped out whenever they caught sight of a certain person with binoculars watching them on the trampoline or doing whatever in our own yard. We have a security camera now, but who wants to slog through hours of footage to see who cut down the tree in our yard on the Fourth of July and so on and so forth. (It was a common green ash. Now, the rare butternut tree I planted years ago- that would have hurt!)

Congratulations @carolkean! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5250 replies. Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

This sounds like me and that is why I hate sewing. LOL!

She got better at un-sewing than she ever did at sewing.

Yeah, that's more than a little autobiographical. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45