You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mom's Cousin Lenna: Nappy little tart - Day 606: 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: nap

in #marchmadness5 years ago

"She really hated that about drama queens and gossips. If you're someone's friend, you don't go repeating negative shit other people say about you just to sound like you're some kind of ally or confidante. She had zero female friends, in part because she hated gossip"

Is this about me? I dont have a Steemit account but I lurk around here on and take screen shots of other peoples work. If this is about me spreading gossip I ginna call the pol-leece and tell em bout you. Dis has t be impersonalization, or dephamations of me charator or sumppin.

Sort:  

Aha! I knew it was you!! I suspected it all along!!!!

impersonalization - omg, that is rich!!!

Mondegreens ought to be on more IQ tests. :)

"Just between you and I...."

(or, 'He gave Ted and I hell for joking around)
now that is one that should be on IQ tests. I swear 99% would flunk it. Along with lay vs lie.
And I know, I know, my dad always said "book smarts don't mean sick 'em," and "Your report card doesn't impress me. Now the day you get me an Alan wrench when I ask for one. That would impress me." OH NO in my head, I heard it as "Alan" wrench, but it's ALLEN wrench. Not quite so heinous as a mondegreen, but still. Still!!! No wonder Dad called me an idiot! I deserved it!!
(I'm trusting you to remember that we have already established a precedent of kidding each other.) :)

Oh....I remember. Lol

Uh.....i hope you are kidding. I was trying to be funny and use bad grammar like the stalkers on the movies do.

Bwa ha ha ha
OF COURSE I was kidding and using substandard English myself - I just mentioned "between you and I" because it's so ubiquitous and it grates on my ears, but everyone says it that way now. Popular songs perpetuate it. the Doors had an excuse - "for you and I" rhymed with stars fall from the sky.

Bwa ha ha ha

So, need a co-author, right? As much as I need one for plotting pacing, right? Heh heh heh
--"Dang! He's not taking the bait!" said the lurker. 'Now we can't sue them for slander. Or is it libel. Slander? Libel? What's the difference?"

"Libel is a written or published defamatory statement, while slander is defamation that is spoken by the defendant,"

came the voice of the journalism minor with the degree in English teaching who has "nothing better to do" than hang out at Steemit or pull weeds, according to the lurker's "mutual friend." Bwa ha ha

I totally cannot believe anyone at Steemit has time

to set up notifications of carolkean's comments and time to read the things and screen-shot them to some woman in the Midwest who isn't on Steemit herself. Seriously? How many sitcoms this could inspire? (The truth is too weird to be passed off as fiction.)

Sounds like an army of people each with their own special part in the surveillance. This one takes the screen shot, now this one folds it, this one puts it in the envelope oh thete is another to lick the stamp

I was away at a movie. Just got back home.

Ted. You know I expect you to check your cell phone during a movie to make sure you have not missed the latest, greatest words of carolkean.
Believe it or not, I said something like this once to a guy who apologized for not replying sooner to a mundane email of mine - and he was traumatized, thinking I *meant it when I chastised him for not tending immediately to my every word. I even use emojis, to no avail. My own mother and sisters cannot tell when I'm kidding. I should take up slapstick and leave irony or dry "humor" to those who are better at employing it. That said... my kids used to be creeped out whenever they caught sight of a certain person with binoculars watching them on the trampoline or doing whatever in our own yard. We have a security camera now, but who wants to slog through hours of footage to see who cut down the tree in our yard on the Fourth of July and so on and so forth. (It was a common green ash. Now, the rare butternut tree I planted years ago- that would have hurt!)

From humor to binoculars sounds like....how did they say it in 1958....oh yeah...it sounds like a segue.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45