Manifestchallenge, Day 3 - Taking over the world, one trip at a timesteemCreated with Sketch.

Like I referred in Day 2, one has to start small to achieve a bigger goal which for me is to travel the world. That's why I'll adventure first in my homeland of Finland before expanding to other countries. And the process has already began as I have hiked in Lapland and in the Koli national park in Eastern Finland with my friends. One time I bicycled about 250 kilometers (155 miles) in 16 hours (I left 4 AM. and was in my destination by 8 PM.) to my friend's summer cottage in Lappeenranta next to the huge Saimaa lake.

It wasn't that I couldn't have gone there with a ride (my friends went by car and I left most of my stuff for them to transport). I just really wanted to do something crazy as I hadn't traveled or done anything remarkable on that summer. And boy, the amount of how much one can experience in 16 hours is quite incredible: hunger, fatigue, satisfaction, perseverance, joy, boredom and believe me; cycling besides an 80-kilometer long road made me feel incredibly bored. Occassionally so bored that I started singing, screaming and growling on the go to keep my mind occupied on something; sounds almost like going insane.


At least there were some bicycling roads besides the 80-kilometer long part of the Road 6 on the way from Kouvola to Lappeenranta; the side of the highway can be a stressful place to bike especially on such an occupied road which was also a targeted by roadworks and the new road created had barely any space besides the highway.


My next adventure?

I've had the thought of going for a full long bike trip (500 kilometers from Kerava where I currently live) to Lieksa, in where I would visit my large quantity of relatives. I anticipate it taking several days, even weeks if I decide to continue to Oulu as I will not cycle with a target time in my mind like I did on the trip to Lappeenranta in which I just biked as fast as I could to make it before the night.

But since I'm performing my civil service the chance to make the trip happen will be after 30th of October in 2018 when my duty is done if everything goes by the plan. During the service I have 18 personal holiday days I can keep when I want (with certain limitations) but I will not be able to use all of them on row during the summer. The only way to make this trip happen already the next summer would be to take "holiday from the service because of personal reasons". But this would mean I'd get no day or food money from those holiday days and my service's end would stretch into the autumn of 2018. Also I'm not sure if attempting to get the "holiday from the service because of personal reasons" will even be successful if I would try that.

We will figure out the period of this trip later in the future but I'll definitely make it someday.


In the meantime I'll visualize myself lying on my hammock in a pine woods taking a well earned rest from a full day of bicycling.

Sort:  

I have had this driving desire to travel across America by bike, then Europe, for several years now. I am not even a big bicyclist so I'm not sure where this is coming from!

But it keeps nagging me...

Travel is by far the best education. When you take the journey please be sure to allot time each day to share your experiences. Not only what you saw and did, but the introspection... I have a feeling there will be many profound realizations on this adventure!

Maybe it's because of the independency and freedom that a bike offers. I will make sure to share my trip when the time comes and learn from it!

Yea... I do kinda need a bit of that ...

;)

Please do!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by celestal from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Those with the wanderlust in their blood are my kindred souls. Therefore, I call upon thee O great @originalworks to grant a bit o' gold upon this post as a small but from the heart offering from one traveling soul to another, to help get that goal a little closer to reality ;)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @celestal to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!!!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Thank you for your passing souls' provided help!

Well deserved :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66437.31
ETH 3491.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69