My first pixel art - Kryptocek’s Shield item for IFC (free to use)

in #makesteemitgreat-again6 years ago (edited)

This post was definitely a long time in the making, but it all started when I read about @wanaf's post on the cryptoart that he made using a software called MagicVoxel (which you can download here: https://ephtracy.github.io/)

The software looks like this once you manage to install it and run it on your computer:

I don't know about you but I was pretty overwhelmed by it all, not only because I am not that great on the computer, but I am not even what you can consider to be an artist (despite being a UX designer by profession).

But I had been wanting to create something for the @ifc ever since I saw the nice leaderboard posts by @charisma777 and thought that it was missing something, and since I was never going to be able to draw anything like @yeszuzia I figured that pixel art was my best chance.

Then I came across @fabiyamada's posts and asked her about doing some tutorials on MagicVoxel so that I might be able to create something. Luckily she was such a nice person that it took no time for her to whip up something and post it:
https://steemit.com/magicavoxel/@fabiyamada/magicavoxel-tutorial-for-beginners-create-a-cute-kittycorn

After taking a look at her video and understanding the process a little bit better, I decided to have a go at it myself, but obviously starting with something that is more at my level. So I looked up some images of pixel art shield and found this:


https://www.brik.co/blogs/pixel-art/161042631-link-shield-pixel-art

So it seem like if I just followed the outline then I can create something that looks like a shield, but instead of the crest I had to do something that resembled the IFC logo that @bitpizza designed in Round 14:


https://steemit.com/informationfinding/@bitpizza/information-finding-championship-season-1-round-14

So this was me hard at work on MagicVoxel... sorry I didn't capture all the stages of working, but it is a bit like playing with Lego and Microsoft Paint at the same time!

Just to add to the realism of it all, I even added those things that you have on the back of the shields that you can put your arm through to hold it (okay, maybe I am getting a bit addicted to this program)!

So there you have it! My first 'artistic' contribution to the Information Finding Championship, and how I think it can be used:

What do you think? Does anyone else also want to have a go at creating a pixel art for a relic/artifact?

Also just tried to do the elixir bottle:

With all its glorious 3D details:

Please also support the work of other Steemian artists that are making their work available and free to use on Steemit like @commons.art!

Sort:  

That is honestly fantastic man. The potion is great as well! I love how you made it into a little chart table and added it all in there.. seriously looks like it’s from some RPG game.

The program is actually quite fun to use once you get the hang of it... I am still new at it so hopefully @fabiyamada will make more tutorial videos so I can make some more advanced pixel models (since I never got into Minecraft :D).

I have no idea what some of those relics/artifacts are supposed to look like, so hopefully some people might be able to come up with them.

Work in progress here of the Book of Occult:

Dope!!! It's looking good! This is going to make the game feel so much more fun! :) So happy you took it upon yourself to do those. Also just for reference if you make the eye of experience one. I sort of pictured that one would be a medallion or like a necklace with some kind of eye on the end of it. Not like real biological human eye, but like a statue sort of eye, made out of stone or wood or some kind of material like that. Hope that makes sense. I don't feel like I'm doing the greatest job of putting my thoughts into words right now.

A medallion

plus an eye?

Hmm.. That biological eye does look kind of cool afterall! Lol especially with the Satanic looking occult book with the 5 sided star. I just looked on google images and this one looks pretty cool! Could you do one kinda like this? Except on a necklace/medallion.

s-l300.jpg

I think this is what it will look like when pixelated:

And do you think the colours are okay?

Wow.. That's super cool! I feel like the outer white should be something else? But besides that it looks epic!!

I will attempt make the outer colours whatever the colour of the medal/medallion will be, maybe a shiny gold colour, but also if @fabiyamada is interested in having a go at this I would be more than happy for the master to take over :)

This is simply great work by plushzilla.Ifc is a great competition.You have described all the process quite nicely.Thank's to all those people who are behind this competition.

I'll probably need to add more details for it to be a tutorial, but I was too worried about getting something finished so I didn't bother... maybe next time or when I am a lot better with the program :)

Successful post today, good luck @plushzilla (♥)

Definitely will look better on those lists for sure! I am so excited to see these added! Absolutely awesome! Thank you @plushzilla!

Just have to figure out what some of the other things are/look like, but pixel art is a lot of fun! What's best is that you don't need a lot of technical skills, just imagination and creativity (which we encourage at IFC) :D

Thank you for the awesome artwork! Looking forward to adding these on the upcoming lists!

ey! That elixir wasnt' there when I saw the post before... was it?? hahaha both designs are really cool!

I get too lazy to write new posts, so I just update the old ones :D

Still finding it hard to master some of the more advanced features of the program, so that elixir bottle was literally carved out block/pixel by pixel :p

AWESOME!!!! I love your creativity and the icons you created are really good! :D If we can get one of those for each artifact it would be pretty rad! And I dunno if I should try to make one or not, but it is kind of tempting! Looks like a fun program. Either way, excellent work! I really like what you did and I'd like to implement them and eventually have images for all of the relics/artifacts. Super cool job!!

I don't know if we can get @fabiyamada to join the IFC, but I bet she would have lots of great ideas as well :)

I think if you like lego and MS Paint then MagicVoxel is a pretty fun program :) Plus you can check out her tutorials if you would also like to have a go yourself:
https://steemit.com/magicavoxel/@fabiyamada/magicavoxel-tutorial-for-beginners-create-a-cute-kittycorn

That would be cool! :D And.. Thanks! Maybe I will. I'm trying to use computer less, but it looks like fun. So we shall see!

Explain me in discord please

The Information Finding Championship is a contest that was started by @apolymask. You can read about the rules here: https://steemit.com/contest/@apolymask/the-information-finding-championship-rules-revised-and-further-simplified

And we have a Discord group here: https://discord.gg/bKVnKQF

But you can basically think of it as a game that we all contribute the rules and ideas to, and we try to reward people for doing things that create value to the Steemit community. It welcomes people with all different talents and skills, like the current round is asking people to write poetry:
https://steemit.com/contest/@apolymask/information-finding-championship-season-1-round-21

If you are interested in finding out more please join the Discord group and @charisma777 and others like me will be happy to help you :)

Dude, really awesome for ur first time using the software. There are tutorials on youtube you can view too that will help on your magicavoxel journey. Keep it up and have fun!

I think at the moment I am really just combining existing ideas and mostly 'copying' rather than creating... but that probably has nothing to do with my skills with the software but my creativity/imagination. It is very interesting to think in pixels, and also in 3d when working with pixels because it is the ultimate in abstract/minimalism! Looking forward to more exciting creations from all the great cryptoartists here on Steemit ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44