Logo concepts for the classical music Discord group

in #makesteemitgreat-again7 years ago (edited)

@bengy is one of the most active members of Steemit that I have met in terms of the numbers of Discord groups that we are both involved in.

I have been the beneficiary of many of his interesting and kind gestures on Steemit... there's his Steam Key giveaway (which I have won twice previously): https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/steam-key-giveaway-saint-s-row-iv

He has an interesting idioms challenge which is also helping him with learning Dutch (which I have collected some SBDs from before): https://steemit.com/contest/@bengy/idioms-game-with-sbd-prizes-number-5

And his classical music curation which I have not participated in mainly due to my lack of a decent musical knowledge/education: https://steemit.com/classical-music/@bengy/classical-music-curation-number-5-with-a-1-sbd-prize-quiz

He is also an active participate in the Information Finding Championship and I really like the enthusiasm and energy he brings to everything that he does on Steemit. Did I mention that he used to be a scientist (like me) as well? Lucky that @steemstem is on a break at the moment otherwise I am sure he'll find time for that as well.

So when @bengy put out a call for some logo designs for the 'Dischord' group that he has been running with @tin-tin, I jumped at the opportunity to give him something to work with despite my obvious lack of design talent :p

Concept 1

I usually associate classical music with something that is simple and elegant (the pieces I can play anyway), so I started with a simple combination of musical symbols for 'C' and 'M' using the staff as the background. But it did look a bit bland and nothing related to Steem so I moved onto the next design

Concept 2

I couldn't really think of how to incorporate the steemit symbol with a music symbol, and the closest I can think of is the demisemiquavers. But it still looked a little bit too boring somehow.

Concept 3

I combined the elements from the first two concepts and come up with this third one, using the staff to form the outline and main part of the background, then modifying the Steemit symbol to form the musical notes. I had a bit of trouble trying to match the colours of the colours but will fix this up a bit later.

So which concept do you think is the one that I should work on further? How do you think the logo can be improved? Or there any other ideas that I should explore?

Sort:  

Hi @eastmael, thought I'd try to create another logo since the one I did for blockchainbi :D Thanks for dropping by and giving your feedback!

Just wondering if you saw @fabiyamada's recent post and was interested in doing some analysis along the lines of how much the different steemit apps collect from the user's payout compared to how popular or how frequently people were using it:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@fabiyamada/is-it-posting-free-analyzing-the-steem-platforms

Yes, I like how the last 2 link in the Steemit logo as well!

By the way, if you are interested in Classical music. We have a small but growing community of classical musicians and music lovers at the tag #classical-music and the discord channel https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt.

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

Thanks for whipping those up! Do you want to throw a classical-music tag in there so our community can check it out?

Thanks, I forgot about that completely :D Actually, I just wanted to get some early ideas up so I can see how to refine the concepts (and to see what people think about it). I started with one concept for blockchainbit but kept iterating until I covered a few different angles. Do you also want the tag as part of the logo? Or maybe the musicapoetic account name?

I will switch to this account. Definitely not the musicapoetica name. That is an orchestra, seperate from the community!

They look good, I like the second and third ones. Maybe I will wait until the others come online.

They are 'concepts' so nothing set in stone and rather just to get people thinking about the different directions that can be used to come up with a logo. I generally take into consideration that it needs to be clear when it is small so that it is distinguishable say on a mobile phone or on Discord. I will try some text using the classical-radio text as well later on.

The text would probably be classical-music. Classical-radio is a support account and not the main one for the tag.

I opened a channel on discord so others can also chat there, but I will try to get them here so you get some reward for your work!

Oh, that is not necessary because if I was a serious designer then I would be posting it on utopian.io like the other serious designer :D

I am just playing around with ideas in the hope that something better might inspire someone to produce a better design :p I feel like it is the least I can do after all the great things you have done for the community so far. Who knows,there are a few designers that might be keen to submit an entry on utopian.io (maybe @orcheva or @podanrj?).

Great work friend! I liked the concepts 2 and 3

Thanks for the kind comments. I feel like I need to spice up concept 1 a little bit more, but I guess there is a different rationale behind each concept, and that I should try to play with some ideas and variations based on your comments and suggestions :)

Whats a great notice! I will be attentive

Hi! I really liked the third logo, I'm glad that Bengy used it for the classical-radio account (^∀^)

Nobody seems to like the first concept (except for me :D), but I am going to keep playing around with the ideas until someone likes it... ヽ(´Д`;)ノ

Your first concept looks pretty cool, it's just that concept three looks a lot more catchy...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50