Steam key Giveaway (Saint's Row IV)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

header (3).jpg
Source

This next game is a bit of an acquired taste, Saint's Row IV. It wasn't really my taste in games, but everyone has different preferences!

Probably the easiest way to think of this game is that it like the hyper manic cousin of Grand Theft Auto. It is completely over the top bonkers! If you have ever thought of yourself as completely pimped out gang boss turned President of the USA running around having stuff with a giant dildo, then maybe this is the game for you.

Suffice to say that people either love this game and it's humour, or they don't. I didn't. But many people do.

So the usual rules, please upvote and comment. Have a chat about anything, I will award the key based on the interaction at my discretion. Resteem if you want, it's not mandatory but it helps me.

COMPETITION RULES RECAP

  1. Prize is a Steam key via Humble Bundle gift link.
  2. Entry is by upvote and comment (resteem is not necessary, but highly appreciated!)
  3. Winner is at my discretion {at post payout), generally the one that I think will like it best, and that has had the most pleasant and engaging interaction.

Meanwhile there is still time left on my previous giveaway for Pillars of Eternity

header (2).jpg
Source

U5dsUfcvauXNAP4kT4SzwKQs8yV8c6Y_1680x8400.png

Please let any classical musicians or classical music lovers that you know to subscribe to @classical-music, and to start using the #classical-music hashtag, so we can try and grow our community! Join us at our Dischord: https://discord.gg/ppVmmgt

DQmXDFhqQrKJrKavGxmhTuLaF2iR3JkZKJzPPj4vFK6Pkvu_1680x8400.png

Referral links
Mene, Investment jewellery.
Humble Bundle Monthly, PC games package every month!
Coinbase, the biggest fiat on and off ramp.
Binance, the biggest crypto exchange.
Mannabase, Universal income in the blockchain

Horizontal Rulers by cryptosharon
Team Australia footer by bearone

Sort:  

Hail to the chief baby!

I freaking love these games. I still want the full sized Penetrator they made when this first came out. Hang that thing above my bed, scare the hell out of anyone that dares enter my room.

Have you played through the series?

Sigh! I guess someone has to like them! I tried the first one, but the port to PC was buggy as all hell. I tried the third one, but I just don't find the humour funny.

I've never played them on pc, or had the opportunity to play the first. Played through the rest of the games (besides Gat outta Hell) on a friend's Play Station a couple years ago around when 4 first came out, never finished this one though.

I find the humor hilarious at times, enjoyably cringy at others, and enjoy the stories, freedom, and play type of the games as a whole.

Yeah, in general I like the idea of open world games. But in practice, they either seem dead or somehow bland. Or there are weird walls that are not in keeping with the open idea. I have yet to come across something really satisfying. Witcher was probably the best so far.

Have you played the Fallout series? I've played 3, NV, and some of 4. My favorite open world game series period. They truly feel open to me. Large and appropriately barren without seeming empty. 3 did have some noticeable walls in some areas though. They did they to cover them up, with rubble or whatever, but you have to admit your in-game self just isn't a climber sometimes.

Yes, I played all the Fallout series from the very beginning (the isometric ones). They do the open world really well! The only thing is that I love the beginning of the game, but then you just start to get way too OP! I didn't finish 4, I do need to revisit it. I found the settlement bit too annoying, but I hear there is a mod that automates that part.

Skyrim was also an example of a great open world game. In currently playing it on Switch. It's completely bonkers that you have such an open world game on a handheld console. My only gripe, is that I am terrible without my mouse and kb.

Witcher is the best though, you have to check that out if you haven't already.

I love the settlement part, granted I haven't been able to get far in 4, only playing it on a friends console, but as for the OP part, I do tend to agree, but luckily you can change the difficulty mid game.

I have thoroughly enjoyed Skyrim, a wonderful example of a open world game. Nothing like being able to go into orbit via the giant's space program.

I've only ever seen Witcher, never experienced it myself, but one of my best friends has told me I need to play them, over and again.

Yes, Witcher you are never OP. It stays challenging all the way.

The settlement part I found annoying. If I wanted to do that, I would play some Skylines. That would be much more satisfying!

I thought GTA was already quite over the top so it would be interesting to see what exactly you mean by 'hyper maniac cousin'. I haven't played through the GTA series but at some point you get a bit exhausted once the novelty of the game wears out. Probably a good game to play if you are having a bad day at work :D

Well, compared to Saints Row, GTA is basically average person simulator.

It is the perfect game to play when you need terrible humor and unbridled violence.

I take it that Postal and Manhunt are the epitome of terrible humour and unbridled violence though? I can't imagine any games topping those two...

I haven't played either, but I've seen Postal two. Different types of terrible humor I'd say. Saints Row is still a game, where Postal two comes off more as a psychopath simulator.

Apparently people also have come up with strange games on GTA like how far they can hit someone with a car at full speed. I suppose compared to targeting vulnerable children on mobile apps to get them to spend money recklessly at least the makers of Postal and Manhunt are not really hiding anything...

Apparently people also have come up with strange games on GTA like how far they can hit someone with a car at full speed.

I'm pretty sure thats an actual minigame in at least one of the Saint's Row games.

And yeah, violent games are better than games manipulating people into essential gambling addictions.

GTA is pretty poe faced serious. This is completely tongue in cheek. I really should get back and try to finish a GTA IV. I lost interest, again because somehow the promise of the open world was a bit hollow.

This game is extremely ridiculous but that's what I like about it as its so casual. I liked saints row 3 a lot, not this one as much as it felt like a cheap copy tbh. (I already own it so don't enter me)

Did you play 1, 2, or Gat outta Hell?

Haven't played the first 2. Gat outta hell was quite fun though, again the same map pretty much but I liked what they did with it.

I haven't had the chance, but I do love Gat, particularly his introduction in 2 where he is in court smarting off to the judge.

Yes, this seems like more of the same, but volume up to 11...

Another great giveaway!

I've played Saints Row 3, Saints Row 4 and Saints Row Gat out of Hell. All 3 amazing games! I still didn't play the second because of the lack of time xD

But there is a great game, and has a great story! Compared to GTA series, I still prefer this one!

Cheers

@t-miles

Like I said to @erebus, each to their own. I'm afraid I didn't take too this game. I didn't like the humour and I found just like GTA that is promise of open world wasn't what I expected.

For open world games, I much prefer Witcher or elder scrolls or fallout style worlds.

I can agree with you with that. I love Elder Scrolls. And I want to try Fallout 4 too! Maybe in a near future!

@t-miles

I've been playing Skyrim on the Nintendo Switch. It's pretty cool to have a huge open world on a hand held. But I'm terrible with a controller, I really miss my mouse and kb.

I think I will drive back into fallout 4 now that I see there is a way of automating the settlement building. I wasn't fond of that and it really put me off.

Really? And how it is? How different is the game from the Playstation or even the PC?
I know a guy who bought Skyrim VR and he said to me that it was amazing! An ultimate experience. I'm curious to test one day xD

Wow Skyrim VR would be crazy!

On Switch you have a bit of an issue with the smaller screen (if you aren't docked). And no modding either, which sucks. Also the screen doesn't get really bright enough in the dark dungeons and there is no gamma correction. But I'm a PC snob through and through...

But those are okay trade offs to be able to play it anywhere and on the go!

Yes the Switch can become a great console. It's still a child. And of course, Skyrim is better on PC, we know that eheh I'm looking foward do buy a Nintendo Switch when they released the new pokemon game. I'm addicted since I was a child. But I was disappointed with the last game, so lets see what they will bring to us.

Now I'm playing Dragon Age 2 and moving to Inquisition next. :D

Funny, I just gave in and installed Origin. Just started Inquisition! It's good, but it's a bit early to tell if I like it or not. I only played the original dragon age.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34