Sketch Challenge: What makes me thankful? WARMTH.

@artwatch posted a challenge for artists on Steemit to sketch what they are thankful for, and after this past week, the answer to me was super-clear.

WARMTH. And everything that is associated with it.

As you may have seen in an earlier post, our pump shut down for more than a week because of the bitter cold. This winter is a little nuts in our neck of the woods! But even though the freezing temperatures have cut short our outdoor building projects and given us a little more off-grid practice than we were anticipating, there has been a wild loveliness to coming in from breaking ice in the animals' buckets and standing by the woodstove, feeling warmth rush back into frozen fingers and toes.

Warmth in our home means a lot to me in the winter. I do a lot of cooking atop our woodstove, and every time a piece of wood goes into that stove, I think of my husband, chopping that wood into useable pieces, his hard work turning into comfort for his family. I think of the decades that went into growing that tree in the first place, and how amazing it is that all that energy it drew from the sun is now keeping my home warm. I think of how not-understandeable fire is, and how indescribable the Creator is who came up with it in the first place. I think of the food that is simmering in the pot, and how in a few hours, the people I love most are going to draw around the table and be fed. I think of the water (something I am INCREDIBLY thankful for, after not having active access to it for a while!) boiling in the teakettle, soon to become tea that my husband, son and I will chat over.

It makes me grateful for these cold days--in contrast to the crazy activity of growing and building that happens in the summer on our homestead, winter is a time to draw close, realize that the dark is coming early, and just keep everyone warm and fed until spring finally is back.

IMG_5542.JPG
Woodstove! What a champ.

IMG_5543.JPG

IMG_5549.JPG
Gotta have the cozy blanket, too.


Thanks, @artwatch, for a chance to mull over such blessings! Do any of you all have a woodstove? Isn't it the best thing ever? Let me know in the comments below!

footer michelle.png

Sort:  

i love your sketch... but i love cold and winter more

Thanks for your comment! As for me, I'm ready for spring!

:)

I love your sketch and your sentiments about winter.

Thanks so much for your comment. I used to just hate winter, but I am learning to be so grateful for the quiet joys that blow in with the snow. :)

This is truly fantastic work!

The graphite really adds a softness that goes well with the warm and toasty feeling in your composition. I do not have a wood stove currently. However, we did have one when I was a growing up. I remember pouring liquids on its surface to see what would happen...Anyway, thanks for sharing your gratitude. Stay warm!

Haha, I still do that, and I'm an adult.

Thank you so much. I really enjoyed getting to reflect on thankful things, and I'm so touched you chose my entry!

Here is wishing you a warm evening in. Cheers.

Beautiful sketch. It's such a simple thing, but I can almost feel the heat coming off the the steam from the mug and the bright light of the fire. And I'm always glad to see "proof of work" photos beside artwork so I know it isn't plagiarized.

If you're up for another contest, I just started a new Surreal Art Contest with 20 SBD in prizes. I would love it if you would consider drawing something to contribute for a chance to win :)

Thank you so much for such a kind, thoughtful comment! And I agree--stolen art really gets me irritated. I didn't understand why I saw so many people making "proof" photos in their blog when I first joined Steemit, but I now think it adds such an interesting peek-behind-the-curtain to people's creative endeavors.

And I'll check that contest out! Thanks so much for the recommendation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66937.30
ETH 3518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20