Entry To MakeMeSmile Contest by @elizacheng - Singapore Bak Kut Teh!

in #makemesmile6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, @elizacheng has a weekly contest called Make Me Smile and you can find the original post here, to know the rules and so on.

I was in Singapore the previous week and I visited one of the branches of Old Street Bak Kut Teh at Nex Serangoon. It was crowded so we had to queue for a bit.

20180303_202409.jpg

Their yu char kueh! Crispy and nice when dipped in the soup, or in the black sauce with garlic. Good yu char kueh makes the bak kut teh experience much greater!

20180303_203005.jpg

Kang kung with sambal.

20180303_202957.jpg

The pork! Very tender and the soup is so good :O

The peppery taste was the bomb. Not over / under seasoned. Just nice.

20180303_202953.jpg

This is the dry version. The sauce tasted like the San Pei style and it was thick.

20180303_202447.jpg

Their tau fu fah. I didn't try it myself but apparently it was pretty good.

~ Food makes everyone smile!


This is my entry to the MakeMeSmile contest hosted by @elizacheng.


If you haven't heard, I've stopped doing the compilations for daily food photography. You can find the post here: https://steemit.com/dailyfoodphotography/@howtostartablog/end-of-daily-food-photography-march-13-results


I appreciate all upvotes, resteems and follows.

follow_howtostartablog.gif


Support the OCD initiative!


  1. How to start a blog and make money blogging
  2. 30 Top Altcoins With High Potential In 2018
  3. 51 freelance websites to find online jobs
  4. Making money with affiliate marketing
  5. 17 work-from-home jobs with no experience required
  6. Make money selling photos to these sites
  7. Beginner's guide to understanding how Amazon Associates work
  8. 20 Legitimate ways to make money online
  9. 5 Upcoming ICOs In 2018
  10. 100 Ways To Make Money Online

  1. Gifts For Men
  2. Gifts For Women
  3. Birthday Gifts
  4. Weird Gifts
  5. My New Website!

You can get them here (referral links):

Coinbase

Localbitcoins

Sort:  

The food made my mouth watered, sir. Thanks for posting sir. Followed @elizacheng to take part in the contest.

"The Food made my mouth watered" - Me too ... lolx

The yu char kueh looks awesomely yummilicious!!! Food really make people SMILE! Thank you!!! tip!
And here's the latest MakeMeSmile Week 4. Every Saturday there will be a new announcement post for the week... :D

oo thanks for the tip :O

Okay posted there alrdy.. ya the yu char kueh is how yu char kuehs should have been in every shop..

My girls love yu char kueh... their bah kut teh session must have yu char kueh... without yu char kueh to them the bah kut teh is not complete...

I seldom eat bak kut teh, but when I do, there must be yu char kueh! I guess your girls think the same way..

The food in the first picture, we call it "you tiao", which usually appears in the breakfast. It is quite tasty and sometimes we eat it with "shao bing".

Yea it's you tiao (different dialect) haha

The dishes does indeed looks pretty delicious ;)

Looks very inviting, especially the dried bak kut teh and the taufu fa!!! I usually enjoy dried bak kut teh more than the soupy one. But can't dip you char kueh if it is dry so have to still have the soupy one too. Haha. Any difference ah, Sg bak kut teh and ours? Wait, that means you have two rounds of it last weekend and then in sg? Wow, syiok!

Haha i like to dip in black sauce. Oily so doesn't feel too dry. But yeah, normally will eat with the soupy one.

I think i prefer the one in SG..

I also have this Bak Kut teh last week!

Glad that you like the food in Singapore. Nice to see posting of local delicacy, they all look delicious, especially the fried you char kueh. Your post makes me hungry

A lot of good food, just expensive if convert from RM..

The bak kut tehs I had were extremely dark in colour, like a chef pouring much dark soy sauce into it. Perhaps a variant?

Yeah if i eat in my hometown, it's black instead of clear soup. Different style..

So healthy and beautiful food. ... I like it . I appreciate your post . Thank you for sharing . Best of luck dear .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89