End Of Daily Food Photography / March 13 Results

in #dailyfoodphotography7 years ago (edited)

Hi guys, I'm stopping the contest for daily food photography from now on, so there won't be any more compilation posts after this.


I started this initiative 5 months ago and you can find the original post here. If you read it, you'll notice that the whole purpose was to create a new tag and not a contest. I wanted it to be something common like the colorchallenge, where you can post at anytime if you hardly have time each day or if you're experiencing writer's block.

I decided to give about 1 Steem in total a day just to incentivize people to use the tag. It became more successful than I anticipated with quite a lot of entries a day and I was only able to increase the prizes due to @sndbox's help. I guess the increase in prizes also increased the participating. I have to thank everyone for supporting via upvotes, via participation and even via promotion in online / offline ways the past few months. You can continue using the tag of course since that was the whole purpose of it.

The reason I'm stopping this is not because I don't have financial support, but because it has become more of a chore. It was really fun when I started but doing it repeatedly for the past few months made it tiresome.

I'm really humbled by the support given by everyone in using the tag and some even participate daily! I guess many people would have heard of the tag by now and I consider it a bigger success than anticipated.


Surprised to see 578 posts in 7 days. Thanks to @superoo7 for the bot. May not be a profitable tag i know..

I wonder how many posts have been made with dailyfoodphotography from the start. Hopefully someone is able to query the stats for me.

This doesn't mean there won't be anymore contests from me. I'm thinking of doing random contests that may or may not have anything to do with food. Anything that makes Steemit interesting again.


Here are the winners and consolation winners.

Winners

  1. Sashimi platter by @mrpointp

  2. Sushi by @vikisecrets. I guess it's Japanese night?

  3. Huge burger by @mercy11

Consolation

  1. Brownie by @aljunecastro

  2. Big plate of oysters by @michelleluilui

  3. Dumplings made of glutinous rice by @mrspointm

  4. Sweet potatoes with mozzarella by @missdeli

  5. Chocolate parisian macarons by @thekitchenfairy

  6. Lebanese food by @hanen

  7. Braised pork, tofu, shuitake and rice by @itchyfeetdonica

  8. Beehoon by @bluesapphire06

  9. Jack Daniel's ribs by @epicdominic

  10. Chocolate souffle by @notimetospace

  11. Strawberry milkshake smoothie by @proudbisdak

  12. Fried rice and chicken karaage by @oscargabat


Thanks for participating!

Big thanks to @pinstory for allowing me to use the cute image for so many compilation posts!

I haven't seen her on the platform in months..


I appreciate all upvotes, resteems and follows.

follow_howtostartablog.gif


Support the OCD initiative!


Sort:  

You have done a great job in creating awareness and i am one that look forward to submitting daily and look forward to your results as i get to see all the wonderful and attempting food.
Thanks for all the hard work and appreciate your time and efforts. I will be looking forward to support any other contest in the future. All the best.
@jackpot

Thanks for the support all this while!

I'm so sorry you are stopping the contest, Alvin, but I cannot imagine the amount of work you have put into it and I am very grateful for your efforts.

I am one of the people you helped - I was trying to stay on track with posting last fall and decided to enter contests so I would always have a reason to do it and a time frame. I was guilty of doing things "tomorrow" and sometimes tomorrow never comes for my posts. Food is something I have many photos for so this was ideal. I know when you cut off was for sure!

I will most definitely keep using this tag, with many thanks to you. Best of luck for the future with your steemit activities and I will surely check. I always love you posts on other topics when I see them.

Your comment about @pinstory makes me sad. I wish we had better retention of such talented people like her and that is my daily hope and prayer - for more minnows to succeed.

Thanks for the lengthy comment @fitinfun! And for your support from the beginning of this contest.

I will most definitely keep using this tag

That's the whole reason this was started, to promote a new tag. :) I still recall you saying it's a competition if there are prizes! hahaha

Thanks for your continued support in using the tag. :P

Yes - I have focus! I'm sure you will miss seeing my dill roots and greens!

Will still use the tag :) definitely a fun thing to be in and you did create a popular tag!

there goes my opportunity for first place lol.
maybe you could do a #weeklyfoodphotography

Thank you for the effort for the last 5 months and you definitely successful making the tag from nothing to something huge today in Steemit! Look forward to your new idea to make Steemit fun!

Haha Steemit is fun when you're just posting for fun without any commitments XD

Thanks for organizing and putting so much time and effort in there for so long!

Terimakasih for choosing mine on this final round

It's been awesome and if you don't mind I'd like to continue using the tag as am lousy thinking awesome tags for my blogs most of the time 😂

Thanks, the whole purpose is for the tag to continue to be used by Steemians. Appreciate your support :)

you are great! i will still continue to use the tag.

Thanks for the continuous support :)

Thanks for starting this tag. I know it's hard to keep going, thanks for your effort <3

Haha will think of other stuff to do

GG. Ppl will kill me.

Cheh.. you start one la..

I can't, Need someone as reputable as you. If I start sure got flag one hehe.

Who will flag teamaustralia and teammalaysia's OG?

Waaaahhh!! I will definitely miss this contest. 😭😭 Thank you @howtostartablog for everything! You helped me grow from 25 to 56. My posts are mostly about #dailyfoodphotography, and all my rewards from you is in my Steem Power. Hehe. Thank you so much. I am grateful beyond words! 😭☺️

Haha i'm sure it wasn't the main reason why you grew to 56 rep.. Nice to see you powering up the Steem :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51